We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and Professional dive crew” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterhorse Charters

Waterhorse Charters
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun and Professional dive crew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

What a great way to spend the holiday weekend! 80 degree surface temps, 69 degree water temp. Visability approx 50 ft. The Coronado islands is a beautiful dive site. Lots of playful sea lion pups come in the water to play. Adult sea lions flying past you like torpedos. definetely the best dive trip in the San Diego area.
As for the dive crew (Anita and Ryan) their service and knowledge is second to none. The boat is very large and comfortable, even with a full boat. I've been on the Humbolt with Waterhorse Charters many times and have never been disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank greg11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    8
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An excellent dive boat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

This past Saturday and Sunday (March 10-11), I took two 2-tank dive trips on Waterhorse Charter's boat Humboldt. I was part of a PADI Wreck Diving class. On Saturday we visited the Canadian destroyer Yukon and the Ruby E, and on Sunday we dove the Yukon both dives.

Waterhorse's check-in is pretty easy and efficient. They have nitrox (around 31-32%) for a fee, and they supply the analyzer. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There are carts for lugging gear down to the boat (my bag's on wheels so I opted to lug my own). Briefings on the boat are informative and good. The crew is helpful and attentive; they do a careful head count and you must sign a manifest. They'll help you find a dive buddy if you don't have one. They have hard weights on board, so you don't need to bring your own (I like my soft weights, so I bring them along.)

Waterhorse has converted to steel tanks for their regular air. They'll remind you that you need less weight while diving with these.

The Humboldt provides hot and cold drinks, hot soup, rolls, fruit, cookies and a nice big salad. (I'm pretty sure the soup is canned, but it sure tastes like Grandma's best after a cold, deep dive!) Food is included in the dive boat fee. There is a warm shower in the aft section, and the forward section, where the food is located, is enclosed - important especially on our often-chilly San Diego winter days. (When the water's 50F and the air's 60F, you may not want to stand out in the breeze between dives.) The head is well lighted, clean and has a grab bar for those nice big rollers that always seem to rock the boat when one's in the loo!

If you're diving in San Diego and you want to visit Wreck Alley or the kelp beds off Point Loma, Waterhorse Charters is well worth booking. You'll have a pleasant day with friendly folks, no matter what the dive conditions.

Note: DON'T park directly in front of Waterhorse under the big eucalyptus tree. If you look up, you'll see a heron rookery. The babies in the several nests produce a lot of "whitewash" - your car will be splattered when you return. Instead, park across the street in the diagonal spaces, then enjoy watching the herons!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SanDiegoLovesSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great crew,great boat,great diving!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Me and a friend chose Waterhorse Charters for our Dive Tour to the Los Coronados Islands. Very friendly and professional, they have a great custom made dive boat. We had an amazing time and I would love to join them again for some local SD diving!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank IvaGancheva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A perfect dive adventure with the Seals & Sea Lions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

The boat is beautiful and fast, which in our opinion is a wonderful quality for a dive boat. We sped quickly to the Coronado's. while the crew was helpful with anything us or our fellow divers required. Captain Greg was nice when I was interested in what landmark was what, or how some piece of equipment worked. We got to see the Mexican Navy which was interesting but gave us no issues. Apparently if you don't get on land or fish there is now paper work required. We had three wonderful dives, all with many things to see but the Seals and the Sea Lions being the center of our attention. The only thing we found lacking was food. Coffee, tea, water & Punch. Two soups & chips for lunch that were great. Salad and Chips for later. We have just been offered much more on dive boats but this was only our second dive in San Diego. Want to see more we shot some video: http://www.youtube.com/user/neilltevans?feature=mhee#p/a/u/0/tIFjJ3GkXQY
Please note we left our red filer at home and parts of this video are a little bleached out but it sure gives you a good idea of what you are going to get.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank jenandneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterhorse Charters also viewed

 

Been to Waterhorse Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing