We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun casual place”

Brazen BBQ Smokehouse & Bar
Ranked #880 of 4,799 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fun casual place”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I liked the chili and had 2 types of BBQ -- st louis ribs and brisket -- both very good. Service was quick and efficient. One can sit outside and listen to the live music from the neighboring restaurant. Good beer list.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank neur14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    25
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kids may not like it.”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

After spending a full day at the zoo, and checking into a nearby hotel late in the evening, the person at the desk recommended this restaurant.

It was late in the evening and close to the hotel making it convenient. It was a bit on the expensive side and I don't think the quality of the food was on par with the cost. Our kids didn't enjoy their meals.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OutTouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great food lovely bbq flavour”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Service was fantastic we shared the bbq combo 3 meats plus 3 sides excellent value at 25 dollar's. Free parking is also provided

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DiningExperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Barbeque around”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We always go to Brazen for the barbeque. The sauces are wonderful, and we just can't help eating the brisket. A straight-forward good experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank old-guy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best BBQ in San Diego!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I compete in KCBS BBQ competitions throughout California. Brazen BBQ has won many awards at these competitions and they have carried their award winning BBQ into a great restaurant. Best BBQ you will find in SD with great atmosphere!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TimZins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brazen BBQ Smokehouse & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Brazen BBQ Smokehouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing