We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Awethume”
Review of Regal Beagle

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Regal Beagle
Ranked #1,988 of 4,753 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, American
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
295 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Super Awethume”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I went recently for trivia night and it was very good. The lady who chooses the questions does a really fantastic at quizzing on a variety of good topics. If you're looking for a good trivia night, you could a looooooooooot worse. You must go. They seem to specialize in craft beer and..............sausages. Amazing. There are tater tots too, which is always a good thing. The craft beer selection is pretty good. It's in a pretty quiet neighborhood too, which is a plus. It's pretty easy to get to as well. I'll definitely be back when I'm in San Diego next.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptainAwethume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If I lived in San Diego, I'd be a regular.”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Went here today, after a long hard day at work. It's small and friendly, and I didn't feel odd being a woman on her own.

I had the Moroccan lamb sausage which was really good. The beer selection is great. Being from out- of- town, I wasn't familiar with any of them, but ordered the Maximus IPA. It was awesome. I would have loved to sample more of the beers, but was driving.

Basically, go here for the beer, but the sausage is excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellecreekdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent tap list; friendly bartenders”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is one of the best neighborhood bars you'll find in San Diego - and we have some great ones here. I'm local and frequent the Regal Beagle 2-4 times per month. They have 24 beers on tap which are constantly rotating, so you never know what beer you might find. IPA, Double IPA, Porter, Stout, Belgian, and even a fizzy yellow beer every now and then. The sausages are also made locally (not onsite though) and are very good. However, the Beagle Burger is definitely my favorite on the menu - a hand packed burger with an elongated shape to fit into a sausage bun - it has plenty of seasoning and topped with cheese, lettuce and sauce. Try substituting tater tots or sweet potato fries (small up charge) for the house-made potato chips.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DougBot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beer & sausages: what more do you need?”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Have been here a few times when the non-meater in me gets the hankering for meat. And beer. And tots.
And that's pretty much the Regal Beagle: a great wall of craft beers, a whole slew of sausages to choose from with tasty toppings (grilled onions and peppers and the like) and mustards to throw on, and of course, the tater tots.
I'd eat here more often if my cholesterol could handle it and it wasn't so far from me... which makes it all the more delightful when I finally do go in. Parking is slim at times and might mean a walk, but oh well.
The only thing might be to have printed beer lists so making choices is easier, but the bar help always is happy to give tasters and suggestions.
Love me some RB.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KayClifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“diversity of craft beers and unique sausages”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Huge choice of craft beers. Delicious locally-made sausages served like a bratwurst on a bun in a basket are their specialty. A few vegetarian options. Food was prepared in a timely manner. Bartender was very efficient and pleasant. Nice crowd. Small place. Not too noisy. Three small screens showing sports quietly. Very reasonably priced. Good choice for dinner before National Comedy Theatre Improv - just a short block away.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireW009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Regal Beagle also viewed

 

Been to Regal Beagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing