We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee shop, great people (and local dogs) - Lion Coffee”
Review of Lani Coffee

Lani Coffee
Ranked #489 of 4,770 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Hawaiian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: At LANI Coffee, we offer 8 different coffees daily, plus breakfast and lunch foods. We are known for the best Acai Bowls in San Diego--Try one! Mahalo!
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great coffee shop, great people (and local dogs) - Lion Coffee”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I really enjoy a good cup of coffee at a non-chain shop when we're traveling and at home, too. We stumble on Lion Coffee purely by chance. Our first after in San Diego was spent meandering around looking planning our next couple of days and for a good place to grab a bite and a good cup of joe the next morning. We walked past Lion Coffee and decided we'd head back there the next morning. Very glad we did! We ordered a couple of vanilla lattes, some of the baked goods, and a pitaya bowl (look it up - awesome if you can get it locally). What a treat! We enjoyed every bite and sip. While there (went another morning too) we quickly realized this was a local hangout for people as well as their four legged canine friends. Everybody was having a good time while enjoying some good food and drink. On our second visit we realized they had 100% Kona coffee and purchased some for consumption when we got home. It doesn't disappoint! It was every bit as good of the Kona we had in Hawaii. Be sure to check out this local coffee shop next time you're in San Diego. I know I will.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeffRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    15
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Stop by for a nice breakfast with some great Kona coffee”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Gaslamp District is full of places to eat breakfast but it's also a bit crowded and expensive. Stroll a couple of more blocks to Lion Coffee and you will find a great, little spot to have a healthy breakfast with several different choices of Kona coffee. Located across the street from Ralph's, Lion is staffed with friendly folks and offers a quiet place to eat. We had an Acai bowl and waffles and enjoyed both. Think of it more as a neighborhood coffee shop where the locals hang out. It's worth the short walk to get there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gone2TheBeachPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larry w, Owner at Lani Coffee, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Mahalo!
Glad you came by
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A piece of Hawaii”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

So happy to pass by and find this place in San Diego. Love their coffee and had an Acai bowl one morning. So yummy and filling, craving one again, but no Lion coffee near me:(

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Merrigypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larry w, Owner at Lani Coffee, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Mahalo for the great Review!
Larry and his da kine baristas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“great place!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

they have hawaiian pineapple tea which i love! went for breakfast yesterday and had the breakfast burrito and ham sandwich, both amazing and good prices!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mishymuffincakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larry w, Owner at Lani Coffee, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Mahalo for the great review!
Larry and his da kine baristas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Coffee, Great Music, Lovely Coffeeshop”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

LION Coffee is a great place to sit down, enjoy a coffee, and get some work done. The people working there are really friendly, it's clean, there are plenty of tables/chairs, and they play the best music! Listening to reggae while sipping on my toasted coconut latte made me feel like I was *almost* in the Caribbean. or Hawaii, since they serve Kona coffee. The location is perfect to sit and people watch too.

I only tried the coffee but most of the people I saw today ordered food so it must be pretty good. I'll have to try a waffle or a wrap next time!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larry w, Owner at Lani Coffee, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Mahalo for your great review!
Larry and his da kine baristas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lani Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Lani Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing