We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Not the Best, Just a lot of Hype"”
Review of Tiolis Crazee Burger - CLOSED

Tiolis Crazee Burger
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
San Diego, California
1 review
“"Not the Best, Just a lot of Hype"”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We went to this place hoping that it would be spectacular based on the reviews and the TV show. We were dissapointed though. My wife ordered a portabello mushroom burger (which was not one of the burgers only available upon availability) and they were out! This was at 11:30AM. She ended up getting the Chicken sandwich which ended up being dry. I got the Wild Boar burger. It was not bad since it was the only resonably priced burger. Tasted good, but the bun was too soggy.
Service was not the best, staff was not very helpful and they were kind of rude. I could expect this if they were busy, but there were only 5 people in the entire restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    33
    9
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santee, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Uncommonly good!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

North Park is becoming a foodie Mecca, and right in the heart of North Park is Crazee Burger. Tired of a plain old burger? How about Antelope? Kangaroo? Wild Boar? That and more are at Crazee Burger. I've had the wild boar twice now and each is exquisitely prepared with a ground pork patty, tomato, lettuce, poached pear, mushrooms, smoked bacon slice, sweet whipped cream and a dollop of a salty, tangy plum preserve. This is uncommon burger heaven. The ground beef burgers are equally innovative and tasty. The french fries -- both potato and sweet potato -- are crispy on the outside, wonderfully soft on the inside and a delight to the eyes and taste buds. Add to this sensory overload a very respectable micro-brew collection and there is simply no other place to go for lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sflambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nicely priced burger”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were looking for some non- Mexican food one day and found a lunch special at Crazee burger. Good burger options and choices! Quick service. Sit outside won their terrace.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank altagrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lots of great choices and very tasty”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I went with my in-laws, 3 kids and husband. We all ordered a hamburger we liked and 2 orders of their "fringes", then shared all around. The venison burger was hands down our favorite, don't let the poached pear and whipped cream throw you. We also tried the Antelope, the Dansk (blue cheese), the Texas (for the kids), and the Kangaroo. The kangaroo was pretty awful, very tough meat. We are looking forward to going back to try the Ostrich. Their crazee fries were phenominal and the atmosphere was nice and relaxed and not a crazy bar atmosphere that we expected. Parking is a bit tricky, but most places are in North Park. Price wise, if you stuck to a traditional beef burger it was no more than Carls Jr, but the exotic meats were pretty pricey. If you shared an exotic burger, crazee fry, and 2 drinks; you could definitely feed 2 people for under $25.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kaiyasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
184 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Perfect place to bring people who want a unique burger experience. They did well in their paring of flavors with the burgers. Between the two of us we had a kangaroo burger and the wild boar. Mine was delicious, especially given that kangaroo is a pretty lean meat. The wild boar looked amazing and apparently tasted as good as it looked, although I didn't try any. We also had an order of the sweet potato fries which were also tasty. The prices were totally reasonable and there was enough seating at the time we went. I suppose during the weekend it could get quite crowded. Overall a great place for a fun dinner out!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alimariew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiolis Crazee Burger also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing