We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great tour company”

San Diego Whale Watch
Mentor Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great tour company”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We went out yesterday on the afternoon cruise. The boat was full but did not feel crowded at all. Melissa, the naturalist was great as was Capt Rick and the crew. All were professional but also made sure we had a good trip. We saw 7 grey whales but no dolphins. Because there were no dolphins, we got 50% off our next trip and the coupon never expires.
We were in town for a conference and had to take taxis back and forth--Mike in the office helped us get a cab really quickly on our return,
Safe, clean, and well done--highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank drizzly7609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    93
    25
    4
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Saw 5 whales!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a great three hour tour on a chilly January day. Lots of playful dolphins alongside the boat, a few seals just after we left the launch. During the entire cruise a marine expert educated passengers on the migration of whales, and their mysterious, instinctive behavior. Everyone oohed and aahd when the the gray whales breached and waved their flukes in the air. The boat kept a respectful distance from the whales, so as not to disrupt their migration south. We were told that the whales were indeed aware of our presence in the water. These beautiful creatures are huge and crusty, but endearing. I didn't see anyone vomit, though a few passengers looked queasy .Crew was awesome. Bring a jacket.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Quewhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
283 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“guaranteed good time”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

What a great experience going out on the privateer was. We saw 9 gray whales and lots of dolphins. The crew as spectacular, even though more than half the travellers were vomiting!! The nature expert was educational and informative. The best three hours of our trip. Plus hey gave us a discount coupon to use in he future.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank eddie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Saw loads, was told even more.”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

So we saw a lot of grey Whales and few dolphins. The cruise out was really nice and we were told about everything in the area, all in all an enjoyable experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“see the whales”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

we went on a 3 hour tour out to sea.we did see more than dozen whales and some dolphins too.spokes person told us all about the whales and marie life.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Diego Whale Watch also viewed

 

Been to San Diego Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing