We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is in the middle of crack town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North
Ranked #194 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Solana Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is in the middle of crack town”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

If you like to be harassed, this is your place. I came home at 1:30 and they told me I wasn't staying there and to leave. After several minutes of pleading with the guy to let me in the security door, san diego's worst(cops) showed up. They then proceeded to threaten to arrest me if I didn't leave. So, I left, and I ended up staying on the streets of san diego until about 4:30 in the morning. When I came back the security door was open(thank God), so I went up to my room and grabbed my stuff and went to the airport. When I called the hotel's GM, and hotels.com, they told me it never happened. Basically, they were trying to steal my stuff. Stay here if you feel like being robbed. Never use hotels.com as they will only have the hotel's back. Disgusting!

Room Tip: There are none
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    81
    62
    33
    35
See reviews for
31
89
49
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Walking distance to great attractions, neighborhoods and downtown. Clean room and friendly staff.

Room Tip: top floor. no view but plenty of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alejandro a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2012

The room was pretty small but it was a great price and everything in there looked nice and had wifi a flat screen tv. Down town is like 15mins away walking distance or you can take a taxi n you'll get there in like 5 mins. since the airport is near by you do hear the airplanes fly by but nothing major. The parking sucks because you have to park on the street and its free till 6pm in sections that have a meter.overall it was a great place for the price i would definitely go again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merino L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This was perfect for me - good location a few blocks from the trolley, downtown/Gaslamp district and also Balboa Park. Room was clean with all mod cons and the man at reception was very kind and helpful. Only negative was that the room was a bit on the small side - but overall, very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woofter186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

The staff here are not very friendly and helpful. (some are more then others). Location is not the best a bit to far from the downtown/gaslamp area. Walkable but far and streets are pretty dark. Taxi rides can be expensive to and from. Rooms are very clean but very small. And weekends people from other rooms have party's and go out etc and it is very noisy had I to ring down stairs to ask them to tell others to be quite however they already knew this and neighbors were still very loud!! Breakfast was very ordinarily not much choice we didn't eat there once didn't look very clean. Overall I think there are better hotels closer to downtown/gaslamp area for around the same price and probably with better service!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lusana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stayed here over Veteran's Day weekend for a relaxing weekend with the hubby. The entire staff here was excellent, the place was spotless and everybody greeted you will a smile. The problem was the guests. Being that this building seems to have been a former apartment building the walls are thin. Had someone two doors down wake us up late in the night when he decided to be extremely loud. Thankfully there was a tough marine manning the desk and kept these folks in line but unfortunately, once you walk my husband up it is nearly impossible for him to go back to sleep and made for a cranky touring buddy. Our last night there we had a couple going into a full fledged argument that woke us up. Screams and insults were hurled, furniture was thrown, doors were slammed and of course I made a call to the front desk. Took about another 30 minutes for them to calm down. Husband and I could not go back to sleep. Give it another 30 minutes and the couple of course "made up" if you know what I mean. I did not get to sleep at all all three nights here.

They need to do a a better job of soundproofing the walls and also have better blinds to block out the sun. I have no other qualms than this.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariasolis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2011

very friendly staffs especially Bobby who helped and guided us in the best way . I find the stay at this hotel comfortable with warm environment , thank the frontdesk guy, Bobby , and hope to find similar greeting in other hotels.(Mohamad)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohamad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
#205 of 279 in San Diego
208 reviews
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#170 of 279 in San Diego
491 reviews
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#71 of 279 in San Diego
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North

Property: Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North
Address: 1840 4th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-2609 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn - San Diego Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North is located within walking distance to San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. The San Diego Convention Center and San Diego Airport is located 1.5 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing