We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 4th of July EVER!!!”
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ranked #146 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Rancho Penasquitos
1 review
“Best 4th of July EVER!!!”
Reviewed August 28, 2008

What a day, what a night. We went on the 4th of July to enjoy the beach and the fireworks. The hotel is feet from the beach and was great. Our room was right near the ocean side and we could have watched the fireworks from our front door. But we went to the beach instead.

Outside our door was a quiet courtyard to relax and enjoy our morning coffee. The room was sharp and clean and the staff was ready to help with any request.

Nearby shopping with local artists was a blast and there are great bars and resturants in all directions!!

We will be back many times. This place is the bomb!!!

Bob

  • Liked — Clean and well appointed
  • Disliked — Everything was great - no complaints
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobglaser2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    227
    89
    54
    44
See reviews for
144
336
56
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

This is a great hotel where I spent 4 nights and where you can have rooms with views on Ocean Beach. Everyone is friendly and you can borrow boards at the front desk, who was very helpful. There is a small patio where tou can have lunch or breakfast, that is really nice. Just outside the patio you get in front of the beach, the location is great! Moreover, the hotel provides a free wifi internet access that works perfectly.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gg309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2008

This is our second time staying at the OB Hotel. We knew what we were in for from our past experience and from reading some of the recent reviews of the hotel. The hotel is not the Ritz, but is is definitely worth the $$ because of its location and its easy in/out parking. We did upgrade to an ocean view room, which I would recommend since the people watching from the balcony is very entertaining. The room is small, but the sheets were clean, and it smelled fine probably because of the cross ventilation with the balcony. The bathroom was OK. The room had A/C and a fridge and microwave (we brought our own coffee maker). It was a bit noisy at night and the carpet was dirty, but that didn't bother us. It is a fun getaway place for partying and hanging on the beach. We plan on returning.

  • Liked — location, free parking
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mshndv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Horrible! We ended up here because everything else in San Diego was booked for Comic-Con.

When we arrived at the front desk the girl couldn't find our reservation. She told us there was nothing on file and all of her rooms were fully booked. When I handed her my confirmation receipt from Travelocity she proudly announced (after much squinting and at the computer screen) that we were in the system after all.

When we got up to our room on the second floor I seriously contemplated sleeping in the car. The carpet was old, stained and scary. The room smelled like a combination of mildew and urine. (The smell hits you as soon as you open the door)

The sheets were clean but the comforter was stained and disgusting. The furniture was filthy and the bathroom was small and cramped. (This coming from someone who lives in the city. I'm used to small bathrooms) The shower was crumbling and smelly. I suggest wearing your flip-flops at all times.

Bottom line: Free parking and great location next to the beach. Perfect for a group of young people looking to party. I would not recommend this place to anyone looking for clean quiet accommodation

  • Liked — Good location
  • Disliked — Room quality and cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AdvisorMember12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

Better be if you're planning a stay at the OB Hotel...

From the noise levels to the musty bathroom, this place brings back fond memories of college. To be fair, though, one has to anticipate that certain type of energy from this place, located steps from the shore in the heart of San Diego's surfer-dude village.

My boyfriend and I checked in on a Friday in July, not expecting the Ritz based on reputation, but hopeful that the very-friendly, helpful staff was a positive indicator that the facility might just surprise us in a fun, carefree San Diego kind of way.

Nope.

We arrived at our third-floor room and our jaws hit the floor when the stink hit our nostrils: eau de must, mold and cigarettes (in a non-smoking room). The bathroom was a stall-sized cell containing a stand-up shower (wear your flip-flops), toilet, sink (upon which one could rest their chin while enjoying a session, if one felt so inclined), as well as the most sinister-looking dust bunny ever seen peering down from the ventilation fan (see photo, though it does not do justice). The carpet was scary (wear your flip-flops). The a/c was portable, and though we could technically see the ocean from our awkward screen-free window, we could also see the back of a crummy condo, ample bird pollution, broken furniture, and two thankfully retired commodes (see photo, this one does do justice).

The real fun started at 3am when the frat boys arrived to their room next door, though it could have just as easily been our room, since the walls are simply a formality possibly formed by wall paper over, evidently, nothing. "Who's up for beer pong?!" Not us. Though we were up. For the next six hours. Until we checked out after deciding that our fun, carefree, blissful vacation would be better spent in a hotel with not as much “cool,” a little more quiet, and a lot less chance of catching staph.

Bottom line, since you were likely wondering when I'd finally get to it: Great staff. Cute courtyard. Fantastic location. Hooray for free parking. Not for those who enjoy basking in the peaceful company of their special someone. Perfect for that 36-hour bender or those who like knowing exactly what their neighbors are smoking.

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach, staff, parking
  • Disliked — Noise, lack of cleanliness, lack of amenities, smell
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCollectedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2008

Our room was on the first floor just as you exit to the beach. We had a dog with us so I believe we had to have a first floor room. The room itself was not horrible, sheets were clean, semi clean floor , but it is sandy everywhere, it was not updated at all. The bathroom however had a big hole in the wall and kind of gross. We left the window open and that helped. It really needed some work. The area I thought was colorful. Everyone we met was nice and the resturants were good. We were very happy to see how pet friendly the hotel and entire area was. They had an off leash dog beach down the street (5min drive) and the beach across from the hotel allowed leashed dogs at posted times of the day. There are all kinds of people around and all ages, I felt pretty safe at the hotel and outside. People hung out and played music on the street. The one thing I really did not like though was that the doors on the back of the hotel are supposed to lock when you go out and they need to be replaced because they do not lock unless you slam them. Meaning anyone can just walk in. We really liked San Diego and Ob is a fun place.

  • Liked — Pet friendliness, location was nice, driving distance to downtown and old town
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capoxoxxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2008

I go down to Ocean Beach two times a year at least and always stay at the Ocean Beach Hotel. First off the hotel is in the perfect location, directly across the street from the beach. Also it is pet friendly because of Dog Beach which is also very close. Most if not all of the rooms on the south and west side of the hotel at least have a view of the beach if not a balcony complete with chairs and a table. The only drawback to the hotel that i could see is that the rooms are fairly small (they cant hold much more than three people comfortably). Other than that some people may or may not like the fact that there are quite a few bars up the street but i personally think its funny to watch people acting crazy from a third floor balcony. One last benefit of the OB Hotel is that along with all the bars there are a few very good restaurants just up the street and a few around the corner.

  • Liked — Close to the beach, pet freindly, great food nearby.
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RAlexH79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#174 of 278 in San Diego
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#148 of 278 in San Diego
367 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Property: Ocean Beach Hotel
Address: 5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107-3091
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach San Diego
Hotel Ocean Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing