We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$283
$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
$217
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveler rating
339
232
97
61
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
232
97
61
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsob hoteldog beachnewport avewithin walking distancerooms are smallfarmers marketthird floorrestaurants and barsocean frontdirectly across the streetgreat roomthe san diego areala jollasurfersbumspetsmicrowave
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 773 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We went to the OB Hotel for our 38th anniversary. We live in South San Diego County and we felt like we were in another country. We loved the room. We were in the King Suite room 201. We enjoyed the view tremendously and the staff was great. We plan on going there to the same room every year for our anniversary from now on.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second and third floor, especially room 201 and or 301 are top notch for views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy and Micha... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review! It is so fantastic to hear that you will make us your hotel for such a special occasion as an anniversary every year! We greatly look forward to seeing you and providing the same top-notch customer service. Great room tip with the 301 and 201 - our King Suites - they have stunning views from the French doors that face the ocean and the balconies. Next time you are here, please let the front desk know that you are a repeat guest and that it's your anniversary. Thanks again for the review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My hubby and I had our honeymoon at OB Hotel and it exceeded our expectations! It was absolutely beautiful and well kept. Our room was very clean and was cleaned daily (with as much sand as we tracked in it was necessary!) It really is right on the beach :)
OB is a great area to stay in with tons of eating and shopping just out the front door. On Wednesdays there is a great farmers market/ street fair- I wouldn't miss it!
We stayed during the week (in June) and there was no noise.
I would highly recommend staying here to anyone who is visiting the San Diego area.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 23Danielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are thrilled to have been your choice for your beachfront honeymoon! Yes, being right on the beach means sand is inevitable and our maid service is really amazing at making sure the sand stays on the beach and not in the rooms. Thank you for acknowledging their hard work.

Ocean Beach is proud to boast one of the best farmers market in all of San Diego with tons of fantastic local, organic foods. So glad that you were able to enjoy the famers market while you were in town, as well as, all of the shops and stores that surround the OB Hotel.

We can't wait to see you again - thank you again for the awesome review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

And we were in King Suite 201 (301 would be the same, only one floor up). But with the view and sound of the waves and the OB Pier, also came some street noises. We got used to it after one night. NOT FANCY BY ANY MEANS. We had a balcony out one direction and French doors that open up to the view and sounds out a slightly different direction. We sat and just watched the always entertaining, ever changing view and people. We will ALWAYS stay here when visiting San Diego. Front desk very helpful, gave great restaurant recommendations (South Beach Bar and Grill for lunch/dinner and The Old Townhouse for breakfast). Always walk a few blocks away from Newport Avenue to see more of OB.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tafromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you so much for the review and we are very excited that you will be a return guest at the OB Hotel when you are back in San Diego! The King Suites are an excellent choice with the full view of the ocean - no better way to fall asleep than to the sound of the crashing waves. I'm also happy to hear you were able to experience some of the incredible restaurants in OB.

Indeed, the price we pay for being in the heart of downtown OB is the noise from Newport. But as you stated, that's the price for having so many great restaurants and shops within walking distance. For a quieter stay next time, may I suggest the Private King Suite which is on the more tucked away side of the hotel away from Newport but still has the French doors that face the ocean (no balcony though) or the Ocean View Condo Suite with 2 Queen Beds - this room I think you will find is FANCY with a full remodeled kitchen, bathroom, and luxurious 250 square foot deck that overlooks the ocean.

Whichever room you choose, we will be so excited to see you again - thank you and have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

The OB Hotel has really been cleaned up! Growing up in SD, I knew it's reputation, but we took a chance anyway. I was super impressed by how clean and upgraded it was. The staff was nice and helpful. The room was small, but very clean and comfortable. Almost every room has an ocean view. Well done OB Hotel, we will stay with you again!

2  Thank Gordonfast24
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Gordonfast24 - it means a ton to us to be recommended by the local community. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review! As a San Diegan, you have seen the changes that we make every year to become the best oceanfront hotel in San Diego. Thank you for "taking a chance" on us and I'm very happy to hear we exceeded expectations. We greatly look forward to seeing you again and please refer family and friends to stay with us if you don't have room for them. Thanks again and have an awesome day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is in a fun location-- lots to see within walking distance and right across the street from the beach. BE WARNED though-- the room photos on the hotel's website are deceptive... our room was dirty and run-down (mold in bathroom, beat up furniture missing parts, old/dirty bed linens, etc). If properly renovated and cared for this hotel could be a gem... it's too bad that's not the case.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cyberjmep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Ouch! Well, I'm glad you liked the location and thank you for the review - we take all feedback extremely seriously and I sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If there is anything wrong with a room, please let our front desk staff know so that we can remedy the problem - we may have been able to give you an upgrade while we researched any problems with the room and fixed them.

The issues that you listed are absolutely unacceptable and are not things that are tolerated at our hotel. I will bring them to the attention of our entire staff and to our service vendors. I'm curious if you called the front desk to notify them of the situations so that we could inspect the problem. We monitor our rooms on a daily basis, receive top marks in cleanliness which is the #1 priority of any nice hotel, employ a fantastic maintenance team, and work with one of the top linen vendors in San Diego with a maid/management staff that closely monitors any issues. If we are notified of furniture not working properly, we either fix it immediately or replace it if we can't. As a small family owned and operated business, we go to great lengths to make this a gem and are very sorry you did not get that impression.

I hope that you will give us another chance, and if you do, any one of our front desk staff will be able to give you a tour of several room types so that you can not only enjoy the beach but enjoy your room as well. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews