We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel and not in a good area”
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ranked #145 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old hotel and not in a good area”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We would not recommend this hotel at all. We did not feel comfortable or safe in this area. There seemed to be a homeless shelter at a church just down the street. The area was really run down and we did not feel safe walking around in the evening at the beach or in the stores/restaurant areas. There was also liquor store close-by and there were questionable stores selling "herbs" and pipes. The hotel room we had was not updated. The bathroom was very small and not clean. The shower tile had mold and there was absolutely no place to put your toiletries. Also, the shower head only allowed mist spray. The room was very musty. The room only had blinds and the bed was right next to them and the courtyard. The courtyard area was not secured, so anyone off the street could walk around by your room and in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jules V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback - we greatly value any feedback and do our absolute best to use the reviews to improve the hotel. I'm so sorry you did not enjoy your stay and that you were not able to find anything positive to review. Ocean Beach is actually considered one of the safest beach towns in Southern California. OB does have a bit of a bohemian vibe and maybe some of the unorthodox stores around town can be "questionable" to some. I apologize you did not feel comfortable. There is a wonderful family aspect to OB and I encourage you to ask any family walking down the street and I’m sure they will tell you this neighborhood is not only safe but very family friendly.

I'm disappointed that you did not enjoy the room. I urge you to notify our front desk of any issues and we will do our absolute best to remedy the problem immediately so that you can go on to enjoy your vacation. We might have been able to move you to one of our newly renovated rooms with brand new bathrooms and more storage. We are constantly updating the rooms and working very hard right now to put in brand new tiled bathrooms with more storage. We are close to completing them in all the rooms.

Additionally, we are hoping to add blackout, sound-deadening curtains to the rooms in addition to the blinds. The courtyard is only accessible through our lobby or through oceanfront doors that are secured by a card-key door - anyone without a guest key is not able to access the courtyard. Please let our front desk know if any doors are not closing properly.

Thank you for your review. We will focus attention on the specific items you mention and hopefully you will consider giving us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    227
    89
    54
    44
See reviews for
144
336
56
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The rooms are clean and updated, great customer service. Right next to the ocean and every type of food you can think of! Lots of things to entertain you! It is perfect for couples or if you want to get away with your kids. We park and don't move our car for days there. Everything you need is within walking distance.

Room Tip: The ones with a balcony have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for the fantastic review! I'm so happy you mentioned the great restaurants in town. We have over 40 restaurants within 3 square blocks of the hotel and Ocean Beach is really making a name for itself as one of the best places in Southern California for great food! Whether it's a world famous burger, a local favorite for grilled Mahi fish tacos or the best brussel sprouts west of the 5 - OB has it and it's within walking distance of the hotel.

It makes us so happy to hear you were able to park the car and leave it there while you walked around with the family and enjoyed all that Ocean Beach has to offer! Thanks again for your wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is right in front of the beach with a beautiful court yard. I would love to host a party there! It's great for the value and perfect for a beach weekend getaway. I got my friends a room there too as a gift and they loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaMarie619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! The title of your review is perfect - that really sums it up - we love being a quaint beach hotel with awesome location/views! I'm glad you were able to experience the beauty of Ocean Beach and enjoy our newly remodeled courtyard.

I have some great news - you CAN host a party in the courtyard and we would love to be your venue! Check out our events and weddings page on our website for what's included, pricing, and availability.

Thanks again for the review and thanks for telling your friends about us. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our first trip to Ocean Beach and we will be back!! We were visiting my son and it is a really convenient place to stay.The view was stunning. We had a balcony with sea view.Bed was comfortable and everywhere was clean.Looking at other hotels in the area this was the best in our opinion.We felt we knew the view as we had seen it from the hotel's webcam several times.It wasin the flight path and the first 2 mornings this woke us at about 06.30 but after that we completely forgot about it and it was no problem and we slept through.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your first stay in Ocean Beach - we hope to see you often! I'm happy to hear your son is a fellow OBecian and he was probably able to show you the many fantastic restaurants and attractions in Ocean Beach.

That's really neat that the view was already familiar because of the webcam. That's a pretty cool feature of our website for people to check the waves, view the sunset, or see what the weather is like from anywhere in the world.

There's good and bad to having the airport in the middle of downtown San Diego. On one hand, it's easy to get to the airport within 10 minutes from OB. Makes traveling easy. On the other, there's a major portion of San Diego in the flight path. I'm happy to hear it didn't bother you too much.

Thanks again for your wonderful review and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft worth tx
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

theocean beach hotel in san diego is a dekightful experience. while I am used o staying in multi room high rise hotels, this small hotel was a wonderful change of pace. located at the end of the ocean beach main street this hotel is directly across the street from the pacific ocean. built in the 1960's and remolded twice this family owned hotel features a courtyard in the middoe of the hoteo with stone and grss. the three 10 ft goass archways fronting the beach allows you a direct view of the ocean while siping your morning. my room was on the ground floor so i could oen my door directly onto the courtyard.....getting a cup of morning coffee i could wak to the beach past walls covered with beautiful beauganvills of pinkand purple....cross the stree sit at a chair height wall and watch the surfers in the pacific ocean.....a warm and cheerfuo staff made my stay extremely restful....next door to the hotel is a restaurant challed Shades which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner...
the service are huge andvery very good. i can hardoy wait for my next trip to this great city to again stay at this wonderrrrful hotel

dan bazar
ft worth tx

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for such a great review!! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed all that Ocean Beach and the Ocean Beach Hotel have to offer. We take pride in the fact that we are not a big high rise hotel where the guest experience gets lost in the shuffle. Rather we are a small boutique hotel, family owned and operated, that takes each and every guest experience very seriously - we want you to have the perfect vacation!

We just finished our latest renovation of the courtyard and are thrilled with the reactions we are getting. The flagstone and rustic fountain give a tranquil feel while you can still see the ocean through the arched windows. I'm happy to hear you were able to enjoy the courtyard with your morning coffee or tea.

And yes, Shades is an amazing restaurant! Ocean Beach knows food and Shades is a perfect example. There are nearly 40 restaurants within a 5 block radius of the OB Hotel.

Thank you again for the wonderful review and we can't wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at the Ocean Beach Hotel over Thanksgiving weekend, and I loved it. It was right across from the Pacific Ocean, and one could hear the ocean waves and the ocean breeze right from the hotel room. The room was cleaned really well every day, and fresh towels were always given every day. Location was perfect. Next to the Pier, and beside the Pacific Ocean. Could not ask for anything better.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with the window view of the ocean. Very calming. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuslanKazaev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the ocean sounds and breezes. There's nothing quite like falling asleep to the rhythmic sounds of the ocean waves! Thank you for mentioning that we do have pet-friendly rooms available - we love our four legged guests as well. With Dog Beach right down the street (a beach where dogs can run leash free and have some fun) it's a perfect spot to vacation with or without the pup.

Thanks again for the wonderful review and we greatly look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

First of all Luis at the front desk was awesome... very accommodating, polite and generous. i needed to leave a night early and he handled the transaction without question.

The room was a king bed ocean front that smelled awful and was very small. however, the two french doors opening to the ocean (except the one that hit the bed b/c of space limitations) was a lovely experience. The marijuana drifting in through the doors was not a lovely experience.

The direct ocean facing rooms look out onto the grassy area, the boardwalk, the pier and the beach. The grassy area is a hangout for all people from homeless to suits... its a great people watching area.. I don't know that I'd let teenagers out at night though b/c of the plethora of drugs traded quite openly directly in front of the hotel.

There are several rooms on either side of the hotel that have balconies over looking one side of the ocean (and the very busy OB Pier parking lot/or the street on the other side)....

I checked out early b/c of the bed that killed my neck (most people would be comfortable I think b/c it's memory foam) smell inside and out, and the all night noise (even in the winter on a Tuesday night) and went to another hotel that was 1/2 the price on dog beach. I did however, go back to Shades (my favorite restaurant in OB b/c it's on the water) which is right next to the OB Hotel... in front of the room I had stayed in were several Hari Krishna's chanting and singing and much smoking of the weed... Evidently the Farmers Market which is held right next to the Hotel on Newport each Wednesday night brings all sorts of musical folk.

If you love the ocean and the other stuff doesn't bother you it's an ok place to stay... just be informed :)

Happy Travels!

Room Tip: For one or two people the king oceanfront is great though very small and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkbarry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review - feedback is always valuable to us. We will strive to make your next stay with us a much better experience if you give us another chance. Luis is indeed awesome! He has been with the OB Hotel for 27 years and continues to provide exceptional customer service. Thank you for recognizing him in your review!

A great view is not enough for us. We strive to give a top-notch vacation experience and I apologize that you did not receive that. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the people watching and the ocean view from your room through the french doors. We installed those doors a few years ago on the suites so that guests could enjoy a panoramic view of the ocean and feel the ocean breeze.

Yes, some of the rooms are small - the building was built more than 40 years ago and many of the beach buildings from this time were built the same way. We are currently conducting renovations to use the space we have to expand the rooms and create more space. If there is anything wrong with a particular room, I encourage you to let our front desk know so we can let you see other rooms that are available and might suit you better.

A drawback from being right on the main street in Ocean Beach is the noise. It's the trade-off for being able to walk to all of the shops and the restaurants within one block. OB is a very safe town - if you see anything wrong even if it is outside the hotel grounds, please notify our front desk and we will handle it appropriately. There is a wonderful family aspect to OB and I encourage you to ask any family walking down the street and I’m sure they will tell you this neighborhood is not only safe but very family friendly.

I hope you will give us another chance. Thank you again for the review and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#176 of 278 in San Diego
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#148 of 278 in San Diego
367 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Property: Ocean Beach Hotel
Address: 5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107-3091
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach San Diego
Hotel Ocean Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing