We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Birthday well Spent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ranked #144 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Glendale, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“A Birthday well Spent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great location at the end of the stand. I had a large balcony that overlooked the Ocean. Loved the sunset from that balcony with the American and California flags waving in the wind and the Ocean Beach pier in the back ground. The street gets very busy as it is the main street to get to the beach. I also has a lot of bars, places to eat and cute shops.
The room was a little dated and could use a little freshening up but I was not in the room the whole time so it really did not bother me. I enjoyed being able to walk down the stairs and through a security door (needed a room key to return through it) and walk across the street onto the sand of the beach. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyEagle78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous review and Happy Birthday! It means a lot to us that you would spend this special occasion at the OB Hotel. Sunsets are the best in Ocean Beach and I'm so glad you were able to enjoy them from your balcony room! We love the fact that many times guests are able to park the car for free in our lot and walk everywhere to enjoy the many shops in OB and go right out to the beach through our courtyard doors.

I appreciate your feedback on the rooms - we have finished the renovation of the courtyard and we are now working hard on any rooms that need freshening up. We will keep pushing so every room is in top-notch shape.

We look forward to seeing you again soon next time you are in Ocean Beach! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    224
    87
    53
    44
See reviews for
142
330
56
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Here's the thing: although the location is terrific, at the end of the day what one is looking for is the comforts of home. For the price, we were expecting something more than one step down from Motel 6. If things such as a comfortable bed, light-blocking curtains, decent lighting, a place to put anything in the bathroom and plug in a hairdryer, a bedside clock were added, as well as attention to details such as broken blinds and non-functioning tv were addressed then we would consider coming back. If view and location are the only thing important to you then this fits the bill, otherwise, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaemery2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay – there is no excuse for broken blinds or a room missing a bedside clock (all of our rooms have bedside clocks – so I will re-check the rooms personally). To be honest, I’m surprised to hear about the bed being uncomfortable – since we have installed memory foam toppers and new plush mattresses we receive a ton of compliments about the beds. I urge you to let the front desk know of problems like this so they can try to find a solution such as another room or maybe taking off the topper for that particular bed. I will post your review for our maintenance staff to see as well so we can remedy the issues.

We are a small family owned and operated hotel and are constantly trying to improve the property. Yes, the bathrooms are small because we are a beach building that was built more than 40 years ago – unfortunately, that’s the bathroom size they chose. We are currently in the process of renovating every bathroom in the hotel to include more shelving and electrical outlets. Over the next year or so we are also hoping to install sound-deadening, blackout curtains in all of the rooms.

While continuing to upgrade the property we have also been able to keep rates manageable for hard-working folks by reinvesting all profits into the renovations. We also offer a low-price guarantee to ensure that our guests get the best value possible.

We hope that you will give us another chance and visit us again. I assure you that we will continue to improve the property and to work on the specific items you reviewed about to the best of our capabilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Location is everything. Five minute walk to the dog beach,you can park and walk everywhere. The rooms are very clean,very nice and helpful staff.You walk out and the beach is right there.On Wednesday they have a really great Farmers market just down the street . The beach is clean and it is fun to watch the surfers.

Room Tip: If you have a dog get a fenced patio room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so much, Nancy, for your review! That means a great deal to us and we will strive to continue to give all our guests top-notch customer service.

I'm glad you enjoyed the free parking for guests and were able to enjoy the fantastic Farmer's Market up the street. You are right - one of the neat things about Ocean Beach is that everything you need for a great vacation is within walking distance!

We hope you will choose us again for your next visit to San Diego and thank you for taking the time to write a review! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Ocean Beach is a cool San Diego community unspoiled by gentrification (so far), and the neighborhood is full of friendly people, good food, funky shops, cafes with great coffee, and of course the Ocean Beach Hotel at the end of the main drag, right on the beach. The hotel is very clean and the desk staff make you feel like you're coming home. We later met the owner Rich, who has been here over 30 years, and he takes your complete satisfaction personally. Although it's not the Hilton, it has far more personality than those sterile corporate chains. The soundproofing between units could use some improvement (we had some loud-talking Chinese neighbors the first night), and we snuck out and unscrewed the light bulb on the courtyard walkway right outside our window blinds since my wife is a pretty light-sensitive sleeper, but otherwise we had no complaints. To those reviewers who complain about "colourful characters" in the neighborhood, Ocean Beach is not your country club, some people are younger, more artsy or have less money than you may like them to be, but why not live and let live, they're really not out to get you! This is a very safe neighborhood from what we could see. Stayed here three nights and would definitely come back to the OB Hotel any time!

Room Tip: If you're particularly sensitive to hearing people in the courtyard or out on the streets you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shilo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review! People often call Ocean Beach the last remaining "true" beach town - something that we take a great deal of pride in being called. The bohemian, artsy culture is something that makes this town special. I'm happy to hear you appreciate what makes Ocean Beach unique and were able to enjoy the many local shops and fantastic restaurants/coffee shops within walking distance. As we say in OB, "no bad days!"

We absolutely consider your satisfaction our top priority and will continue to strive to provide top-notch service. I also want to mention that we are focusing on trying to install sound-deadening, blackout curtains in each of the rooms within the next year. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I live in OB and always recommend this hotel when friends and family want to come visit.
Nice, clean and right on the beach! Friendly staff is always a plus, and they have some of the friendliest.
I will continue to recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBH0TEL, Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent review! It means a great deal to us to be recommended by the local community and we take a lot of pride in that. We indeed strive to be the Friendliest of the Friendly and will continue to make sure our guests receive the best in customer service. Thank you again for being an OBecian that sends your friends and family our way. We look forward to seeing you and them in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aztec, New Mexico, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We came out for my 50th birthday, Christmas, and New Years. The staff at the hotel were phenomenal in filling any requests we had. The hotel coffee was suprisingly good and all the close by ammenities allowed us to take in meals, football games, and drinks without ever having to get in the car. The courtyard was the perfect place to hang out and read a book while doing laundry in their washer and dryer. Even when it was windy, I could sit outside and be comfortable yet still have a view. The only "issue" was that when anyone stayed in the room directly above us, it sounded like they were playing basketball--I think because the floors are all tile or laminate. I actually like the laminate flooring--it works when you have a dog--the smell of "wet dog" does not linger like in carpeting. We stayed for 12 nights and would have stayed longer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were considering a week long stay in San Diego, but we're hesitant to do it because we were traveling with our dog and this was part of a three week trip rot CA.
After seeing the website and reviews we decided to test their "price guarantee". I am pleased to say they do stand by their word of matching rates of comparable hotels. Because of this we were able to stay at the hotel for 8 nights.
I was concerned about noise levels and brought ear plugs to use, but we did not need them, the set up for the room with two double beds is great and there is a half wall that separates the room with beds at opposing walls.
Our son slept on the bed closest to the patio and street,we slept on the bed closest to the courtyard. We truly enjoyed our stay at this property.
The patio is nice for a pet, and the views of the pier and ocean are great even on ground floor level.
At check in we asked if the street noise was bad, could we switch rooms, they said absolutely!
We had a couple of issues with the sink leaking and the toilet not flushing well, but again they offered to gives us a different room, we did not want to move all of our stuff, so they just gave us the key to the room next door until the maintenance person was able to remedy the situation.
Location can not be beat. the dog breach is a short walk down the beach/street.
The had a fridge and a microwave so we were able to bring leftovers and eat them on evenings we did not feel like eating out.
The proximity to the main street at ocean beach was great and it was centrally located to a lot of tourist attractions.
We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If not traveling with pets ask for a third floor room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaFeYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#171 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#132 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#125 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#98 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Property: Ocean Beach Hotel
Address: 5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107-3091
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach San Diego
Hotel Ocean Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing