We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As close to the beach as you can be without sleeping in sand” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ranked #144 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“As close to the beach as you can be without sleeping in sand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

great little place in the heart of Ocean Beach - stayed in their condo next door - 2 beds, full kitchen and dining room, private balcony overlooking the beach and 1 block to eat at Hoodad's - it's amazing. Walked thru the main hotel - people were all nice, everything was clean but didn't see a room - so I can't speak to that.

Staff was nice, coffee in the lobby bright and early then headed to the beach to watch the sun come up and the surfers - amazing !

Location, Location, Location

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachyNKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    224
    86
    53
    44
See reviews for
141
329
55
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed here for a recent business trip in San Diego. Great location in the heart of OB and steps to the beach. Close to numerous restaurants and shops. Staff was friendly, and the room was recently renovated and nice, with a refrigerator and microwave. The view from my window was awesome, and a great place to experience the unique OB vibe.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I stay here anytime we can get away. this is truly our home away from home. The hotel is always clean, the staff is super, and very accomadating.. Location is perfect for dining, walking on the beach, hiking the cliffs, or just a walk on the pier to view all the sea life.Once we get there we park and never drive for evertything you need is within walking distance. If there be sure to check out south beach bar and grill, the fish tacos are the BOMB!!!! The atmosphere is so chill, friendly people that are just hard to find anymore. As for me and mine we will return again and again as long as we are able.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tularosa, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have been staying here at least twice a year for five years. The owners recently completed a makeover on the patio and exterior of the building. Most of the bathrooms have been remodeled. More is to come! The view is awesome and the access to the beach, shops, restaurants, and the doggie beach are within steps.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have stayed here twice now and we will come back again & again. You cannot beat the location- steps from the beach and close to restaurants and shops. The rooms are not overly plush however they are clean with a refridgerator which is helpful. We travelled with our boys & the two queen beds in the room gave us plenty of room to make it our flop house for our stay. Get a room with an ocean view so you can sit on the deck and watch the world go by. The courtyard is a lovely place to eat your breakfast or rinse the sand off your feet in the outdoor shower. If you are in to the OB vibe this place is the best spot to make your casa for your visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I have stayed at the Ocean Beach Hotel a few times. I will agree with LOCATION! The property is right out of Melrose Place."BEAUTIFUL" Everytime I have stayed the staff is awesome. The night I stayed I wanted coffee no the beach. I brought my own coffee but my room did not have a pot. The night girl went out of her way and brewed my coffee. OLD FASHION PERSONAL SERVICE! Hard to find any more. Your money is worth the stay.

Room Tip: Ocean veiw rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We used to live in Ocean Beach and still have lots of friends there so we like to visit. Although we have friends that invite us to stay with them we prefer sometimes just to stay at a hotel. The OB Hotel has been recently renovated and looks really good now. It's the only hotel in the center of OB so once you park at the hotel everything is convenient and within walking distance. The beds are very comfortable and the hotel is nice and clean. Reception area is small but welcoming. Hotel personnel is great.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are fun. They are on the second and third floors. Overlooking the main avenue an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#171 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#130 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#123 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#102 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Property: Ocean Beach Hotel
Address: 5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107-3091
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach San Diego
Hotel Ocean Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing