We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They went out of there way to make our stay great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ranked #142 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Duarte, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They went out of there way to make our stay great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel. This time we had a ocean view room and had aproblem
with the plumbing. We called the desk and they had some one up to check it out very quick.
They could not fix the problem and moved us to a beter room. We were very happy with
the service and staff. We will be coming back and telling all our friends that this is the only
place to stay. Again many thanks to all. BW

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    214
    85
    52
    43
See reviews for
136
319
52
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This place is wonderful. Got a ocean view
Room with balcony. Could see and hear the waves as they crashed to shore. Loved the pier view! Farmers market every Wednesday was great. Lots todo within walking distance. Will stay again
CJ

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waterbuggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm desert
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The friendly, and helpful staff here makes you feel like you never left home. With the 30 second walk down to the beach and awesome surrounding night life, it makes for a great romantic get away. Can't wait to stay here again!

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for the beach view, your special lady will love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dylan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel desk clerks were very nice. Let us check in an hour before we were subpost to. Parking is great and seems very save. Had alot of great mexican food places next door. Me and my husband plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: ask not to stay in rooms that are in the corner or facing steet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Palms, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Location is the name of the game where this hotel is concerned, for it is close to awesome eateries, pubs, fine dining and of course, the ocean. Free morning coffee, free internet, and free parking add to the draw of this charming hotel. Some of the rooms are a little pricey, especially during summer season, and we have stayed in the rooms with french doors that open to the incredible view of the ocean. But we found that the ocean view with one queen suits our needs just fine, and it's about half the price of the king suites. We don't really stay in the room a lot, but it is nice to sit out on the balcony at night with our coffee or nightcaps and listen to the waves pounding the shore. What awesome background music to fall alseep to! We are planning our fouth visit soon and can't wait to see the friendly staff again. We know we can count on finding a clean, comfortable room in which to rest our heads at the end of the day.

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean and well supplied with linens and toiletries. Best views are from the king s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Centro, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed there back in June, the front desk staff was so very helpful. There are so many different restaurants and pubs in the area! They knew exactly where to guide us after telling them what we were looking for. You are right in front of the beach and pier! Couldn't ask for a better location. parking is easy and accessable. We had so much fun, we stayed an extra day. It's hard to leave when you are treated so nice, hard to find the nowadays! Go there, you won;t be disappointed!

Room Tip: Advise the reservationist of your preference. They are so very accomadating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakenlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was our 3rd time staying here and we can’t wait to go back!

Awesome location, beautiful views, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a little on the small side, but very clean and you have every amenity.

My husband and I are already planning our next little getaway there! Definitely recommend it!!

Thanks, OB Hotel!!!!!!

Room Tip: Full ocean view rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#112 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#154 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#31 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surfer Beach Hotel
#102 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,815 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#14 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Property: Ocean Beach Hotel
Address: 5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107-3091
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in San Diego
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach San Diego
Hotel Ocean Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing