We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice local hotel beach hangout”
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ranked #143 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice local hotel beach hangout”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel desk clerks were very nice. Let us check in an hour before we were subpost to. Parking is great and seems very save. Had alot of great mexican food places next door. Me and my husband plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: ask not to stay in rooms that are in the corner or facing steet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    227
    88
    54
    44
See reviews for
144
335
56
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Palms, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Location is the name of the game where this hotel is concerned, for it is close to awesome eateries, pubs, fine dining and of course, the ocean. Free morning coffee, free internet, and free parking add to the draw of this charming hotel. Some of the rooms are a little pricey, especially during summer season, and we have stayed in the rooms with french doors that open to the incredible view of the ocean. But we found that the ocean view with one queen suits our needs just fine, and it's about half the price of the king suites. We don't really stay in the room a lot, but it is nice to sit out on the balcony at night with our coffee or nightcaps and listen to the waves pounding the shore. What awesome background music to fall alseep to! We are planning our fouth visit soon and can't wait to see the friendly staff again. We know we can count on finding a clean, comfortable room in which to rest our heads at the end of the day.

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean and well supplied with linens and toiletries. Best views are from the king s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Centro, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed there back in June, the front desk staff was so very helpful. There are so many different restaurants and pubs in the area! They knew exactly where to guide us after telling them what we were looking for. You are right in front of the beach and pier! Couldn't ask for a better location. parking is easy and accessable. We had so much fun, we stayed an extra day. It's hard to leave when you are treated so nice, hard to find the nowadays! Go there, you won;t be disappointed!

Room Tip: Advise the reservationist of your preference. They are so very accomadating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakenlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was our 3rd time staying here and we can’t wait to go back!

Awesome location, beautiful views, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a little on the small side, but very clean and you have every amenity.

My husband and I are already planning our next little getaway there! Definitely recommend it!!

Thanks, OB Hotel!!!!!!

Room Tip: Full ocean view rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We arrived on a Friday Night and there were several drunk college age students milling around. It didn't seem safe and both my son and I did not have a good night's sleep. The desk clerk didn't seem quite right either. Moved to another hotel the next day. The location is very pretty which is the only good thing I have to say but the area is very shady at night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I had made reservations for a room here to try it out...what a great idea. When my husband and I arrived we went to the front desk to check in. Upon giving my room #, the man at the front desk and Brad Dickson told us that they were working on several things in the hotel, and they did not want to disturb us early morning would we like an upgrade. Of course we said yes, and what an upgrade it was. The room is called the Upstairs Condo and it was lovely. The room was special with all of the extras (coffee pot, unlimited coffee, fridge/freezer, dishwasher,2 great beds-Queens).Also the breathtaking deck-all we did was sit and watch the ocean. Everyone was so nice, There was a farmers market on Wed evening, and picking up fresh veg and treats was wonderful. Brad you did us good, we will be back for our next anniversary, and probably before (my daughter wants to come). This is my destination now, Thanks

Room Tip: There are no elevators, just stairs, so if you have a problem, book 1st or 2nd floors only
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lllarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Again, TripAdvisor was spot on. This Hotel got good ratings/reviews so we thought we'd take a chance at it. We drove in without reservation but was able to secure a room. Little did we know that the October Fest was right across the street. Noisy but FUN! The front desk staff was attentive. Our room was dated and small. At first we were taken back how old the microwave/refrig/bathroom fixtures and over all appearance the the hotel. But let's be honest, this place is old and has history. The room was clean and we got great room service.We could see the ocean from our window. Million buck view. Easy walk to the pier,to the sand and resturants. We met the owner and he explained to us how he can to be with the Hotel and their long range plans. They are doing it right. We loved sitting in the courtyard area and people watching. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandg76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#172 of 279 in San Diego
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#147 of 279 in San Diego
361 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#27 of 279 in San Diego
1,033 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Property: Ocean Beach Hotel
Address: 5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107-3091
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach San Diego
Hotel Ocean Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing