We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad”
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ranked #148 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bad”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We arrived on a Friday Night and there were several drunk college age students milling around. It didn't seem safe and both my son and I did not have a good night's sleep. The desk clerk didn't seem quite right either. Moved to another hotel the next day. The location is very pretty which is the only good thing I have to say but the area is very shady at night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    225
    88
    54
    44
See reviews for
143
333
56
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I had made reservations for a room here to try it out...what a great idea. When my husband and I arrived we went to the front desk to check in. Upon giving my room #, the man at the front desk and Brad Dickson told us that they were working on several things in the hotel, and they did not want to disturb us early morning would we like an upgrade. Of course we said yes, and what an upgrade it was. The room is called the Upstairs Condo and it was lovely. The room was special with all of the extras (coffee pot, unlimited coffee, fridge/freezer, dishwasher,2 great beds-Queens).Also the breathtaking deck-all we did was sit and watch the ocean. Everyone was so nice, There was a farmers market on Wed evening, and picking up fresh veg and treats was wonderful. Brad you did us good, we will be back for our next anniversary, and probably before (my daughter wants to come). This is my destination now, Thanks

Room Tip: There are no elevators, just stairs, so if you have a problem, book 1st or 2nd floors only
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lllarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Again, TripAdvisor was spot on. This Hotel got good ratings/reviews so we thought we'd take a chance at it. We drove in without reservation but was able to secure a room. Little did we know that the October Fest was right across the street. Noisy but FUN! The front desk staff was attentive. Our room was dated and small. At first we were taken back how old the microwave/refrig/bathroom fixtures and over all appearance the the hotel. But let's be honest, this place is old and has history. The room was clean and we got great room service.We could see the ocean from our window. Million buck view. Easy walk to the pier,to the sand and resturants. We met the owner and he explained to us how he can to be with the Hotel and their long range plans. They are doing it right. We loved sitting in the courtyard area and people watching. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandg76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Palms, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our room had french doors that we felt safe leaving open all night so we could listen to the roar of the ocean. The view is breathtaking and the smell of the salt air refreshes the soul. Parking is free, as is coffee in the morning. Don't expect a five star experience at this hotel as it maintains its own unique charm that is in keeping with the simplicity of the city itself. Ocean Beach is an ecclectic little town with lots of activities, and musicians sit on the wall by the ocean practicing their craft. Surfers delight in the waves and joggers leave their footprints in the sand as they greet the morning. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to excellent restaurants, shopping, and pubs with outdoor seating for the smoking folks. The hotel's courtyard is a nice place to sip a coffee or a wine and view the ocean through the surrounding glass. The pet friendly hotel allows our fur kids to stay on the first floor when they travel with us, and guests are pretty good about cleaning up after their pets. While there are three floors, there is no elevator, so if you need accommodations be sure to reserve a first floor room. The staff is friendly and most helpful. We could view the pier from our balcony and could not resist walking its length and having breakfast at the little cafe that sits high abve the water smack in the middle of the pier. The view of the hotel from the pier is striking as well. Night life in the city draws a lot of the college crowd and my companion and I, in our late sixties, enjoyed listening to their giggles and laughter as they crowded the streets outside the hotel after a night of partying. As they drove away their laughter gave way to the sounds of the ocean and we drifted into a peaceful sleep in this charming little place called the Ocean Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: Reserve a first floor room if you need accommodations (no elevators) or are traveling with a pet. Fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here and were very satisfied. It was a great location. It is right across from the beach and everything you needed was in walking distance. You dont even need a car. They have a great place to sit outside in the evening. We enjoyed ourself and we will be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a great room on the third floor with ocean view, but there was some remodeling -- which wouldn't have been a problem for most people in the middle of the day, but we had a toddler with us and she needed an 11 am nap. They moved us to a suite. It was awesome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdadvisorSd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Ocean Beach Hotel is a wonderful San Diego hotel right on the beach. From the rooms with balconies looking out at the ocean & pier to the rooms opening out onto a beautiful courtyard, you can't go wrong. Free parking and delicious restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachgirl332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#176 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#146 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#129 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#104 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Property: Ocean Beach Hotel
Address: 5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107-3091
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach San Diego
Hotel Ocean Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing