We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So nice of them!”
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ranked #149 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a great room on the third floor with ocean view, but there was some remodeling -- which wouldn't have been a problem for most people in the middle of the day, but we had a toddler with us and she needed an 11 am nap. They moved us to a suite. It was awesome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdadvisorSd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 750 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

Ocean Beach Hotel is a wonderful San Diego hotel right on the beach. From the rooms with balconies looking out at the ocean & pier to the rooms opening out onto a beautiful courtyard, you can't go wrong. Free parking and delicious restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachgirl332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Some of the reviews seem to suggest this is a nice hotel. If you're a twenty something and your aim is to visit noisy bars, have a lot of drinks with locals and don't really mind what type of room you end up in because it's all going on your parents credit card, then it probably is.

If however you are expecting a clean room, good, honest service, and a nice location that reflects the price, you will be disappointed.

Upon arrival, an hour after check in, check in went well, but alarm bells started ringing when we arrived at the room itself to find it still being cleaned. Not a good start, and an indication of the standard of service offered by this hotel. When we did get into our room, I honestly wondered what the room had been cleaned with, due to the unpleasant smell. Along with this, the bed covers were dusty and unclean, with several spots of what seemed to be cigarette ash.

Things didn't improve in the shower, which was complete with cracked tiles, mould in the grout and again a general dirtiness throughout the bathroom suite. On their website, the same shower is shown for each room, along with other duplicated images for different rooms, but this is not what our room looked anything like, so beware.

The room itself, apart from smelling unpleasant, was very small with dated decor and fittings, including drawers with missing handles and a door frame that made you think twice about the security of your belongings.

The partial ocean view was indeed just that, viewed by leaning out of the window and craning your neck. The view consisted of a concrete pier, reminiscent of 70's Eastern Bloc architecture, a busy main road, and a beach (reached by crossing said road). The important thing to remember here is that this is in California, and there are several hundred miles of far nicer beach to chose from, so do not be fooled by the artistic license in the website photography.

If that doesn't take your fancy, there is always the view of the courtyard, complete with flaking paint, crumbling concrete, locals from the beach using the shower, crazy paving just like your grandparents old house, and in our case other bemused residents wondering what they've just spent their money on.

We contacted reception to say that we were not happy with the room and would take it at a price that reflected the standard of the room, but only because Comic Con was taking place and all other hotels were booked. The receptionist said that she would contact the manager and let us discuss the matter with him, and that we should wait for him to phone us in our room.
She also commented that the price reflected the location. If your after a good location, drive up the coast to San Simeon and check into the Best Western. That's a location, and for only $15 - $20 dollars more...

After an hour had passed without any phone call from the manager, so we decided to ask for our refund and leave. Tellingly, when we went to the reception to do so, another resident was doing the exact same. Oddly they were being told that they would need to wait to see if their room was still clean for other guest, even though they hadn't actually used the room.

Fortunately we managed to speed things up for ourselves, but only by making it very clear to the other guest who were checking in why we were leaving.

There are two telling things about this hotel. Firstly, at the time we were staying it offered a twenty dollar discount for people to place positive reviews placed on Trip Advisor, even though Trip Advisor states reviewers should "have not been offered any incentive or payment originating from the establishment to write this review." Beware of hotels that feel a need to entice people into contradicting Trip Advisors own terms and conditions. The reviews on Google are far more representative of our experience.

Secondly, our money was not refunded when we were told it was. It took a phone call from back home and the leverage that we would refer them onto our credit card company to get the money back, so make sure your booking is done through a credit card too.

To sum up, this is an overpriced hotel that is far from boutique image that it uses to portray itself. If the cost of a room was dropped by $50+, then it would be acceptable, but for what you do pay you will be disappointed. I would not normally post such a negative review, but our experience was of a truly dreadful hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tunefultiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel and it was a perfect beach front location. The rooms were quaint but comfortable. Between the beach being across the street and the bars close by it was a great beach weekend. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: OB Hotel offers pet friendly.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John201314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Great view from our balcony, across the street from the beach and pier, several coffee shops, delicious eaterys (breakfast, lunch and dinner), vintage shops and lots of music. We enjoyed walking everywhere and especially watching our four-legged friends at the dog beach.
Our room was very comfortable and clean, AC worked great and the staff was sooo friendly too.
We would love to vacation with the family next time. Thanks for the memories!!

Room Tip: Ask for top floor with ocean & pier view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovescali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

This was a great place to stay. It was,right on the,ocean and there is a,dog park near by. There are plenty of shops and restUrants and everything is in walking distance. The courtyard of the hotel is beautiful. It also has an ice machine and a washer and a dryer. The rooms are small , but cozy. It wasa perfect place for my fiance and I. Surfing lessons and khayacking , and beautiful walks down the pier. We loved it !!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penacakez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at the OB Hotel for two nights in October and loved it! The room was clean, the air conditioner worked great, the bed was a little soft, but good, and the bathroom was small, but functional. The staff was helpful and friendly too! We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#178 of 278 in San Diego
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#28 of 278 in San Diego
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Address: 5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107-3091
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $154 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach San Diego
Hotel Ocean Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing