We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, Friendly Service, Amazing Location, and a Perfect Ocean View!”
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ranked #159 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed May 3, 2012

If you are looking for a nice little romantic getaway, this is your place. Not only did I get a AAA discount, but I got a nice quaint little room right on the beach for around $130 on a Saturday night! I live in Huntington Beach so it takes a lot for me to be impressed with a location, but if you are going to San Diego, this is the place! I know I will be coming back and am already planning on going back for my gf's Bday this summer.

Tons of bars and restaurants within a block, a great view of the beach and pier, free parking, a nice little courtyard to have a drink and watch the sunset. I was very happy with Ocean Beach Hotel. Walk across the street to lay out on the beach, or walk a few blocks to Pizza Port (the best pizza Ive had in Cali). This place is really your best bang for it's buck! The only "complaint" I have which is an overstatement, is that I looked into extending my stay another day by staying Sunday night, but the price was the exact same as Saturday night. I guess thats just the rate for a beachfront hotel.

Stay here for a romantic weekend or to meet up and party with friends. Even a mini mart with a ton of craft beers right down the street, so you can even enjoy some local SD brews while watching the sunset at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are a little more expensive, but we were pleased with our courtyard room and check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 755 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012

Great location for this hotel we had a great view of the ocean from our window. The staff was very nice. We planned on staying just one night, but we had such a good time we decided that next morning to stay another night. There where many different bars and reaturants nearby which where just as delightful as the hotel. We will definetly be back as well as telling our friends and family about this spot.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jjbone8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

We just loved our stay at the hotel, the staff was great and the rooms memorable. I would reccomend this as a great getaway destination.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimcleaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Ocean Beach Hotel is truly in the thick of it if you're hanging out in Ocean Beach. There are a variety of rooms to choose from. I tend to travel with my dog when I get away for pleasure and Ocean Beach Hotel has plenty of pet friendly rooms. Unfortunately, the nicer rooms with the ocean view are NOT pet friendly, but hey, you are staying at an ocean-front property so it's not that big of a deal. The rooms are pretty basic so again, if you're looking for a "lap-of-luxury" hotel, you might want to stay at a Four Seasons. The hotel is situated at the end of Newport Ave which is pretty much the main drag. Plenty of food and bars are walking distance from the hotel. If you're interested in Dog Beach, it's just a few blocks away. The staff are super friendly, helpful and make your stay very comfortable. The only reason I don't give this hotel an "excellent" rating is because the surroundings are very noisy. I love laying in bed with the patio door open, listening to the sound of the ocean but you really won't get that til about 3am after the bars have closed and the noisy bar-going people are passed out in bed (or on the beach). That is the price you pay for being in the heart of the ocean-beach action. Aside from that, this place is truly a gem and I can't wait to come back for another weekend away.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a pet, choose the patio rooms. You'll be able to see the ocean fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We live in San Diego, but every once in awhile we like to vacation at the OB Hotel as its right on the beach and is a great deal. We also like to be able to walk to nearby restaurants and shops. There is a long pier nearby where you go for a late night stroll. Ocean Beach is a hidden gem, most of our San Diego friends don't know about it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We love going to the ocean and being able to take our 2 dogs, Ocean Beach Hotel is allways our hotel of choice when we go to SanDiego, it is allways clean has a very pretty court yard and you are just across the street from the beach. we will definately return when ever possible.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

upon arrival, the hotel looks like any other. Until you step into the ourtyard and it opens up to a beautiful oceanfront view. What a great hidden find! Will be returning!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aclos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#173 of 279 in San Diego
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#147 of 279 in San Diego
379 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#25 of 279 in San Diego
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Address: 5080 Newport Ave, San Diego, CA 92107-3091
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in San Diego
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $141 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach San Diego
Hotel Ocean Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing