We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel, but not really a motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 San Diego Downtown
Ranked #207 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed at this hotel/motel for 1 night. I booked it as I thought that it would be a proper motel, as I have never stayed in one. It turned out to be a plain and simple budget hotel. Saying that it was clean, but very basic.
My partner described the lobby, corridors and room itself as clinical and hospital like. It was ok for one night, but would probably choose something a bit more elegant and inviting for a longer stay.
The location is ok, although there are quite a few homeless people in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brightrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 373 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2010

I have to say reading these reviews of the hotel some are misrepresented.

The location is just outside the tourist area of Gas Lamp Quarter, one of the most famous places in San Diego. So without breaking the bank this is an ideal location, and only 5-6 blocks away. 10 blocks to Petco Park for the ball fans.

The rooms were small, updated and a modern twist, no more then 2 people per room, its a funcitional room, nothing special, note they do not supply shampoo or anything.

Parking is tight, but with two lots there is always a space available, i drove around during my stay and never missed a spot. The area is on the outside of a tourist zone, and like more american cities that have hot spots the outsides are sometimes not as nice, during the day there was nothing wrong, and i did walk at night, but you have to have common sense and keep your witts and you'll be fine.

The hotel staff was great, Kurt the manager was good on his promise of a quite, clean room, if you have any problems talk to him. He's more then generous.

All in all its well worth the price, as you are walking distance from anything, food, night life, warf, battleships.

Warning: There is limited to zero internet ( that you have to purchase for 2.99 for 24hrs) unless your room has the router.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aplaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in August, managed to find hotel very easily from the airport, its right off the I-5 so easy enough to find. Parking was fairly simple, they have 2 car parks, one that is behind the hotel and one on the side. Side car park was a bit smaller and sometimes difficult to park in but back car park was fine and easy to use as well.
Check in went smoothly, Abby was extremely helpful throughout our entire stay, providing us with a map, idea of where to go and eat and also a cooler box which we returned after our stay.
Room was fine, very comfortable, maid service every day, only complaints are sometimes floors weren't always clean and even though we found wifi to only be $2.99 per day, we had problems with connectivity as the signal was quite weak!
Overall, its in a really good location and its 15 mins walk to Gaslamp district, we had a car for the trip so found it a great location for our price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samikwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Very clean and comfortable room. I stayed one night and enjoyed it very much after a day at Sea World. The flooring and bathroom were brand new. The bed was comfortable. The TV reception great. The noise level fine (Tuesday night). The service was good and I was given directions to local restaurants where I wanted to eat by the staff. My only complaint was that the room seemed a bit small to me which would not make a place I would want to room for a whole week.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsollars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

This was my first experience w/ Motel 6, and it was a pleasant one. The rooms were very clean, simply and modern. Reminded me of futuristic rooms from a movie or something. No bells and whistles in room, but blow dryers, irons and extra amenities were available upon request. Staff members were nice and helpful. Gaslamp and the cruise harbors were walking distance (about 15 mins), but we were running a little late (our own faults), so we took a cab instead. Outside the hotel was quiet. Keys/cards are required to enter through back parking lot, so there was some sense of safety there. I'd def. stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancyang03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

I have stayed at this location previously. You can't beat the location for the price you pay. It has undergone a remodel in the past year, and it's great. The only negative I would have to comment on is the parking, but it's downtown San Diego, so it's to be expected. If you want an area with better parking or bigger rooms for the same price, stay in a more generic area like Hotel Circle. I took my 11 year old daughter, and the single room was big enough for us. She loved the experience we had from walking around in the gaslamp district.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boho3172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Very cool interior, clean, safe inside but I didnt like all the drugaddicts/beggars/bums living on a parkinglot just outside the hotel. They didnt do me anything, but they made me feel unsafe and I didnt go home by myself at night. The location is very close (6min walk) to Broadway and a maybe 12 min to Gaslamp. Not a lot of good eatingplaces or any shops just outside the hotel, so be prepared to have to walk to Broadway to eat your breakfast. My room were really cool with Scandinavian/IKEA style, a fairly large flatscreen tv and a very clean and inviting feeling. My room didnt face the street, so it was very quiet. But overall- a very good place to stay in San Diego.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hdoggydogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel in Little Italy
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#176 of 286 in San Diego
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego Downtown

Address: 1546 2nd Ave, I-5/San Diego Freeway at 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-3006
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $64 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Motel Six San Diego
San Diego Motel 6
San Diego Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing