We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far From Perfect, But I Keep Coming Back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
E-Z 8 Motel Old Town
Ranked #239 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed December 3, 2006

OK, bad stuff out of the way first: the clientele is pretty sketchy--many of the guests appear to have left by 3AM or so, except for the long term construction workers who basically live here. The immediate neighborhood, even some of the staff are a bit intimidating if you're faint of heart. If you're espeically sensitive to noise, think twice. It's under a freeway. Literally under a freeway. With the doors and windows closed, I've never heard a sound, nor has my girlfriend who occasionally joins me here.

Now, the good stuff: Oh my lord, is it cheap. And guess what--once you lock the door and close the curtains, the rooms are as nice or nicer than anywhere else in town up to twice the price. It really is an $80 room for around $35. Most rooms have been remodeled (try the north building upstairs) and are in great shape. The beds are comfy, and on a 1-10 cleanliness scale, they're an 8. The location is very central--walk easily to the trolley or Old Town, not quite as easily to Target / grocery stores, etc. I am in SD for business 2 weeks out of every month, and never rent a car.

I'd highly recommend the hotel for anyone who isn't afraid the dark, doesn't leave expensive things in their car, and likes a heck of a bargain.

Stayed: October 2006
6  Thank Barflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 121 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
28
Reviewed June 6, 2006

I had actually made reservations at another Hotel, but had problems there. This hotel was the only one with rooms available. At first I wasn't too excited, but my stay ended up being very good. The sheets seemed very clean, Towels and pillow cases also very clean. I will be back to this Hotel on my next trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2006

We stayed there Fri Apr 7,2006.I was so pleased ,very clean,the grout in bath immaculate,smelled nice.Very clean and white linens and towels, towels are small tho.no dust anywhere. Beds are firm,which I like.Pillows too,I usually bring my own down pillow. I have payed far more for less.I did ask for ground floor,but none available.At our age no fun going up stairs with bags.Close to trolley station and old town.I will be back.

6  Thank BETTINA34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
453
Reviewed December 30, 2005

I was staying in San Diego since I was having bridges done in Tijuana (since the cost where I'm from ranges between $1500-3000 and it was only $720 there) and I figured I would have money for a nice trip with the money I saved. I stayed at 3 locations, the other two were the Marriott Residence Inn, Downtown and the Carrillo Motor Lodge, which I have written about also. The first motel I stayed at was the EZ8. This motel is part of a west coast based chain of cheap motels. (They have upgraded motels called Premier Inns, again probably lower in price than other motels in their class.) Because it is a chain the quality of the other motels is probably consistent vs. independent individually owned ones, i.e. the motels owned by Patels. They have a website where you can book online (the site is managed by a travel agency travelhero which also has a toll free number you can book through, but despite what EZ8 website says it is cheaper to book directly since they can give you the discounts), although some of the individual hotels have a toll free number this one did not. The rate I paid with AARP discount was $45 (all prices I quote in my review are without taxes) cheaper than getting a private room at the youth hostels in that area!

This is located near Old Town in what looks like an industrial area so although you could walk 10 minutes to the trolley, I wouldn't feel safe doing it at night. They do have a security guard on duty at night here and a swimming pool. The rooms have mini-refrigerators and although they have no microwaves, in the vending room which has washer/dryers, video game and food vending machines they do have a microwave oven there. They serve complimentary coffee in the small lobby in the morning. There is no toiletries, just the soap, no hair dryer either. The place is cheap because of the location (it is near the train, airport, trolley so you can hear the noises), and it is reflected in that the room although clean with no stained furniture, had what looked like rust stains in the corner of the bathtub and what looked like a curling iron burn mark on the counter next to the sink.

They do not have free local phone calls, but a local phone call is only 25 cents, no matter the length. However, beware if you call and no one answers on the other end, the computer charges the call. Just by coincidence, the manager, a very affable type (important as you will see from my review of the Cabrillo), Joe Cappozzouli was on duty (I wasn't happy, but probably would've paid for those calls) and he graciously took them off the charges. (The desk clerk, Rita, was pissed about this and I could see the manager trying to mollify her!) I did not stay a second night because the mattress was too hard for me (I am used to sleeping on a thin mattress on a sofa bed so perhaps it wouldn't be too hard for others,) and because of my mothers' snoring combined with the outside noises, I needed two rooms. Knowing this is a budget motel with the attendant limitations it is good value for the money and for that reason, I give it an above average rating.

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josef K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016
Thank MartinRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank Habsi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge
0.4 mi away
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#95 of 278 in San Diego
782 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#234 of 278 in San Diego
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
California Suites Hotel
California Suites Hotel
#233 of 278 in San Diego
313 reviews
14.4 mi away
Motel 6 San Diego - Southbay
Motel 6 San Diego - Southbay
#206 of 278 in San Diego
162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to E-Z 8 Motel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E-Z 8 Motel Old Town

Address: 4747 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-2749
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $54 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — E-Z 8 Motel Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your E-Z 8 Motel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
e-z 8 Motel Old Town Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing