We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal, close to Mission Bay and Old Town!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
E-Z 8 Motel Old Town
Ranked #239 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
taoal
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good deal, close to Mission Bay and Old Town!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We have stayed with the nice people at the EZ 8 for 3 times so far, we brought our Scouts out for a week at Camp Fiesta Island, it's so nice and close to Fiesta Island and with a diner right down the street, walking distance easy, we were fed and ready for a week of camping. We did have an A/C problem, but with a call to the desk, they had people working on fast. They did move us to a new room while they worked on the unit, can't ask for faster help.

Room Tip: Very clean rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    25
    39
    23
    21
See reviews for
25
35
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
massagemaven
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

NO STARS!!THIS SHOULD BE CLOSED DOWN!!!Please RUN! This was a complete farce. This is a very very scary Motel.NOT in OLD TOWn at all. We pulled in to find a frightening, filthy dump under the freeway. The photos on the ez 8 website are a lie. It is not near a trolly.. there is no restauraunt across the street. The room was disgusting and had blankets with cigarette burns all over and thru them..
There are full time tenants living there with animals and sitting all over the place smoking.. The smoke smell is so pungent i couldn't breathe in.. People hanging on the corners soliciting and selling.. We got our bags.. cut our losses and saved our lives and left.. ( oh and my room was 80 bux)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank massagemaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Az
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

You essentially get what you pay for here. Under $40 a night, but a very small room with an older bed plus poor lighting and a TV from 10+ years ago! Some rather seedy quests and I saw the Police in the parking lot 4X in 3 days! Can hear the trains go by ever 3-4 hours. About the only benefit (other than the price) is the conviniece to nearby Old Town plus Perry's Cafe (Breakfast) is only 100 yard walk. I would not suggest for families and I doubt I'd stay here again except for maybe only One night!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveNTempe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, CA
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Yes, it's a basic hotel, and yes, it's cheap with no frills. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms could be a bit cleaner, but hey for $40 it's a great bargain...within walking distance of Old Town, and close to all other San Diego points. That's why we keep coming back (and bringing a bottle of Lysol to give it a quick wipe-down!)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Downfall for me was they allow smoking in the rooms. I used Febreze and candles but it never got the smell out of the room and I stayed for 3 days. No clock radio, no microwave but the mini fridge worked. Another thing is it's RIGHT next to the train tracks so it can be loud. It is walking distance to Old Town so that (in my opinion) was the best thing about this place. You can also catch the trolley to downtown a block away from the motel. Another thing is you have to pay for Wi-Fi or you can use it in the motel lobby for free on their internet kiosk.

Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank GothicTz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Az
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Most of the other reviews have said it all. A room for $40 or less with a small pool and jacuzzi. Convenient location (near Old Town & Trolley station), but near 2 major freeways and a train route! Would recommend for just a place to sleep and save a few bucks. Suggest 2nd floor and in the rear to avoid some of the noise.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveNTempe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

We picked this motel because of the price and location to the trolley station. We knew it was a low budget hotel, but planned to do so much sight seeing that we only needed somewhere to sleep at the end of the day.

The hotel was located under about 4 highways/roads and also bordered the train tracks. I was worried that we wouldn't be able to sleep well, but at night it got much quieter except for our neighbors antics.

Unbeknownst to us our neighbor was a recovering drug addict that stayed up late at night. First night was okay, but second night she got in a fight with her boyfriend over $40 and she called the cops on him. The boyfriend had left by the time to cops arrived, but we got to listen to her tell her life story and embellish her boyfriends misdeeds to cops for about an hour. The next night she spent on her phone yelling at her boyfriend and then of course he finally returned to her place so they could continue to argue the final night we were there. Why didn't we leave, well we only had one day left before returning home.

The second problem was the carpet smelled like wet dog. I bought a bottle of Fabreeze and used about 3/4 of it to fix the problem. Other smaller problems is that the shower wouldn't turn off all the way (but maintence did fix the next day), we only recieved 2 new clean towels each day, there was no alarm clock in the room and the streets around the area were poorly lit.

I just imagined I was visiting another country and it helped me get by. Only stay here if you really need a place. Other than that it is worth it to spend $50 more to stay somewhere a little quieter and safer.

After reading some of the other comments I will be sure to check and make sure that our credit cards are properly charged.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunnyd124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#97 of 278 in San Diego
761 reviews
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#230 of 278 in San Diego
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Western Inn
#134 of 278 in San Diego
337 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Premier Inns Mission Valley
Premier Inns Mission Valley
#222 of 278 in San Diego
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to E-Z 8 Motel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E-Z 8 Motel Old Town

Property: E-Z 8 Motel Old Town
Address: 4747 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-2749
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — E-Z 8 Motel Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your E-Z 8 Motel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
e-z 8 Motel Old Town Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing