We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel to stay at, better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World
Ranked #237 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here in late September and were relieved that the hotel was not like it was portrayed in some reviews. The TV worked fine, the room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. The decore was modern, though not contemporary. The carpet looked clean and the shower was clean. The only thing was the people next door, they hung outside at night and during the day and they looked like prostitutes. Also there were some other sketchy people around, possibly living there. No one bothered us so it was ok. Another issue we had was that the AC was super loud and it sounded like a train coming through when it was on. We were in room 211 I think. They need to work on getting that fixed. Overall, it was a great value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank b l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 196 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

My teen daughter and I came from AZ to attend a concert. A friend from work said that his family always stay at the Heritage Inn because of its price and location. So I booked a Friday and Saturday night stay, THEN I read the recent reviews! I was really concerned about what we were getting ourselves into. It turned out to be okay. The room was clean and looked recently painted. The fridge and TV worked, though they were both small. All the staff I spoke with were friendly. Morning coffee/tea and pastries were satisfactory. I did have to leave a $10 deposit in order to get a hair dryer but got it back with no problem. The location was great, close to the swap meet and our concert venue (SOMA). Total cost for our stay was $153.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimpoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I spent the night of 9/22/12 at this motel. We've stayed here many times but had been put off recently by all the negative reviews. This motel was the only one available for a one night stay at a low senior rate ($72 tax included) so with some trepidation we booked it. We were pleasantly surprised. There were no problems, the room and the bathroom were clean, the bed comfortable, the TV worked and the morning danish rolls and coffee were adequate; what more could you want?

I spoke with Rosa the receptionist on duty telling her about the negative reviews I read. She told me if the customers would bring their complaints to the desk instead of expressing them at or after checkout some solution could have been offered. Rosa has always been very helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank EllenTarzana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in this inn during a busy weekend in San Diego. Upon checking in the rooms smelled like smoke even though it was a non smoking room. The bedding and the beds were old. (sank in the middle) the rooms had a fresh coat of paint. The A/C was old and could not adjust. The hallways look worn and shaggy. We stayed there for a rate of $59. A night, do it was just like staying at a motel 8. At night you can only check in at the walk up window.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yumafastpitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurencebergin, General Manager at Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

We apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. We do plan on upgrades to the hotel in the very near future.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I will begin by saying the room was nothing like the picture or description. The hotel is located among adult entertainment establishments and had people smoking pot in the parking lot asking for our food as we were throwing it away. The "non-smoking" room they gave us reeked of smoke. The shower had hair in it and the room was not clean. The lights in the bathroom flickered throughout the shower that ran hot or cold, but nothing in between. The towels were ripped, dingy and old. There was wi-fi that went out every few minutes. The continental breakfast pastry case had gnats enjoying the pastries before the guests. We did not feel safe in the hotel at all. Although we enjoy Holiday Inn Express, we are not hotel snobs and look for clean and safe (free parking and breakfast are a perk). This hotel was neither clean or felt safe. If there was a way to give a negative 3 rating, I would. This is not a family hotel.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mktiffanyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Being it's a dog friendly hotel is the only reason I stayed. The rooms are old/dirty/dingy & creepy. When I pulled up the cops were there busting a Meth lab in a winnabego in their parking lot. The street along the hotel has winnabego's lined up and down it with people living in there. It's on a dark road that you don't want to walk alone on at night. There were 2 prostitutes down the hall running their business out of the room. Not somewhere I would ever think to stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MissHRSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Where do I begin...Well to start we pulled up to an outdoor window to check in, talking to the lady through a glass window like you were at the bank. We were put in a room that doesn't even need to be remolded more like demolished. The rooms have not been touched for years. The carpet is pulling away from the walls, the chairs and carpet have cigarette burns in them, the rooms (non-smoking) smell of musty mold and cigarettes. The walls have dings and holes all over the place and the refrigerator did not work in the room. When we approached the class window to ask for a new room because our refrigerator wasn't working the room smelled horribly we were given a lot of attitude form the red headed lady working the front desk. She first tired telling us that they didn't have any more rooms and then when asked for a non-smoking room that didn't smell of cigarettes she annoyingly told us "Well it's not our fault that people don't follow the rules." I wasn't expecting much for the price but at least a clean room. It did say dog friendly, which is nice but you have to pay a fee for the dog per night. You are allowed to only let your dog go to the bathroom on their "dog patch" which was supposed to be a grassy area. However as you can imagine we went to the "dog area" which was a little 10x10 diamond shape patch in the back of the parking lot consisting of only dirt. The very few patches of grass around the hotel do not allow dogs. Skip the "pastries" in the morning the taste like the cheap pastries' you would get from a gas station with lots of preservatives in them. The only positive thing about the hotel was by far the location, its located close to mission beach, down town etc. It wasn't more than a 15-20 min drive to every place we went to.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rachael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Point Loma
Ramada Limited San Diego/Near SeaWorld
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#241 of 286 in San Diego
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#97 of 286 in San Diego
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World

Address: 3333 Channel Way, San Diego, CA 92110-5102
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $51 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heritage Inn San Diego Near Sea World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Inn - Sea World San Diego Hotel San Diego
Premier Inn San Diego
Premier Inn Sports Arena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing