We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little joint for modern thai/asian”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of J Wok

J Wok
Ranked #662 of 4,716 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
230 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice little joint for modern thai/asian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Food was really good and service was quick. Had the yellow curry crispy roll and it was giant and had great flavor. Only drawback at all was a kirin ichiban was $10. Might not sound bad to some but when my meal was 10.75, that's pricey for a beer. Go for the food save the beer money for somewhere else a little more forgiving on the pocket strings.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spicoli76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food! I can't say enough about how pleasantly perfect my dining experience was at J wok. Great food and low prices. The spicy garlic noodles were so good. The potstickers were very fresh! If I ever return to San Diego, I will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kbrown522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

The food was amazing. Pad Thai was delish! They don't have a liquor license yet but regardless it is well worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great cheap eats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great ambiance and service and a tasty menu. I got (and loved) the pork sandwich, which was like a banh mi, but without the carrot and cucumber. We'll definitely be going back next time we're in San Diego!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Copyedster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/ Dublin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not as good as lotus thai but cheaper”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Nice wings, poor dumplings. Very average chow mein and an ok red curry.
If you are not picky about your asian food and are not in a hurry then this place is alright. If you are then I'd not bother. I do think San Diego is way behind in most asian cuisine. Gaijin and red pearl are way better. Distinctly average..

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ButteryBiscuitBase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Wok also viewed

 
 

Been to J Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing