We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J Wok

J Wok
Ranked #575 of 4,566 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food! I can't say enough about how pleasantly perfect my dining experience was at J wok. Great food and low prices. The spicy garlic noodles were so good. The potstickers were very fresh! If I ever return to San Diego, I will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kbrown522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

The food was amazing. Pad Thai was delish! They don't have a liquor license yet but regardless it is well worth it.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MelG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great cheap eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great ambiance and service and a tasty menu. I got (and loved) the pork sandwich, which was like a banh mi, but without the carrot and cucumber. We'll definitely be going back next time we're in San Diego!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Copyedster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/ Dublin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not as good as lotus thai but cheaper”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Nice wings, poor dumplings. Very average chow mein and an ok red curry.
If you are not picky about your asian food and are not in a hurry then this place is alright. If you are then I'd not bother. I do think San Diego is way behind in most asian cuisine. Gaijin and red pearl are way better. Distinctly average..

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ButteryBiscuitBase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
362 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Wonderful Asian food in a calm setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This place is in the Gaslamp district, which is full of raucous places, but J Wok is a calm small place that serves really good Asian food at very reasonable prices. Also does take-out.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaTraveler7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Wok also viewed

 

Been to J Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing