We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Fancy but Good Food”

Taste of the Himalayas
Ranked #552 of 4,744 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Antas, Spain
Level Contributor
108 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not Fancy but Good Food”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went with friends who are vegetarians, we are meat eaters, we all had a great meal. My lamb dish was particularily good it was hot as i like it and full of flavour. The Golab Jamin were exceptional in fact the last time i had them as good was in a restaurant in New Delhi, India. The premisies are a bit basic, but the food makes up for that. the staff were very attentive and welcoming. Well worth a visit

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lord B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    38
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Overconfident”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Again this came as a highly recommended restaurant. Our turn came after a wait of 20 minutes. We hurriedly placed order. We were four buy they provided two complimentary dal soup. We in fact also placed order for dal. So, we asked them to change the order and they were not happy. My son found a piece of hair in roti and we brought it to their attention. Neither they apologized nor they were happy changing bread. So, we did not have a pleasant experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Darewalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine in an unlikely location!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner at this little restaurant that sits in an unassuming spot in a strip mall on Midway. Dont let outside apperance color your opinion. The Indiian and Nepalese cuisine was first rate, the service was kind and prices reasonable. We will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank umandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food. Great value for lunch”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Decided to try Taste of Himalayas after seeing good reviews. Glad I did. Lunch combo was great value. I believe I paid $6.95 for soup, 2 side entrees, rice, naan, and mango lassi. I order Tikki and curry chicken. Both were excellent, but at 7 out of 10 on spice the Tikki made me sweat. (I like it spicey) I would go for 5 or 6 on spice next time.

Service was great, food was fresh and overall great meal with my wife. Will go there again when I'm back in San Diego,

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EuroPeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san Diego
Level Contributor
92 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Indian in San Diego!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This tiny little restraunt will blow your mind! This place uses fresh ingredients :) The food is never pre-made, even the chutney and plums sauce (most places have the stuff pre-made and keep refrigerating the sauces, giving you cold sauce) The garlic naan is AMAZING. The lunch is the best deal in town. For $8.99, you get soup, chose two dishes, rice, and naan. Can't beat it! Indian is my favorite cuisine, I would not stray you my friends....try this place!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of the Himalayas also viewed

 

Been to Taste of the Himalayas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing