We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel just north of San Diego.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa
Ranked #196 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice hotel just north of San Diego.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Nice Holiday Inn Express located just north of San Diego (about 10 mins to hotel circle in SD). Rooms were clean and spacious. Comfortable queen beds. TV was a bit older and small (but they do offer multiple HBO channels). Breakfast was good. Coffee, milk, yogurt, cinnamon rolls, eggs, egg omelets, bacon, sausage, biscuits & gravy, cereal, muffins, bagels, pancakes, toast, fruit are just some of the items that were available during our stay. There were also LOTS of other eating places within a short drive. Denny’s, Island Burger, Applebee’s, On The Border, IHOP, In-N-Out, Arby’s, Jack In The Box and many other food places were all nearby. Grocery & drug stores were also close and convenient. Harrah’s Resort and Casino was also only a scenic 35 minute drive away. I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wildkat520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    32
    12
    8
    10
See reviews for
17
15
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My wife and I recently went to a wedding and was told to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Mira Mesa. We got there and was greeted by the FD who was very courteous and friendly. Our room was very nice in accomodations,roomy and clean. They served a full breakfast of either pancakes,scrambled eggs,sausage,coffees,juice,danish etc, which was more than we expected. We thought we would have a continental breakfast.We only stayed two days but had we known would have stayed longer. Very good place to start your vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newjerseyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Arrived late at night for a one-night stay and the gentleman at the FD was very helpful and friendly. 2-queen room was very clean and comfortable. Nicely appointed with microwave, fridge, coffee maker. Bathroom was bigger than most (a plus in my book). Didn't check out the continental breakfast or other amenities but everything looked great. Big thumbs up! Only negative: If you'll have time on your hands to do a lot of TV watching, know that the channel selections are limited.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed here two nights on business, great rooms, clean, spacious and well maintained. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sully94534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I love to stay at this hotel.. everything is clean.
The lady in charge of the buffet is so nice and kind, and she is always taking care of the food and cleanness. A delicious buffet !!!...

The receptionists are very friendly, very helpful and with a beautiful smile.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mabbiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

This is a basic travelers hotel. Clean, comfortable-- felt safe. What made the trip memorable was the excellent desk help in the evenings with assistance for directions, shortcuts, best places to hang out, etc. I hope the management appreciates just how excellent their staff is.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jax848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Arrived about noon for my stay. I was allowed early check-in. The free continental breakfast was very good. There was always free coffee in the lobby. Located right off the freeway. Lots of stores nearby. It was confusing to find the gym (it was located at the hotel next door). I was not allowed to get my priority points (for Holiday Inn) because I booked with priceline.com (which I never heard of before). Parking was free and plentiful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcmonogram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Miramar
Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn I-15 Miramar
#176 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa
Address: 9888 Mira Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92131-1025 (Formerly Mira Mesa Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego is ideally located off the 15 freeway in Mira Mesa. The Hotel is centrally located to Miramar, Scripps Ranch, Sorrento Mesa and Poway business parks including Miramar Air Station. There are a variety of restaurants and several shopping centers withing walking distance from the Hotel. We are minutes away from San Diego's best attractions; Sea World, The San Diego Zoo, Mission Beach, Pacific Beach, La Jolla, The Wild Animal Park, Legoland, Balboa Park, Oldtown, Downtown San Diego, the Harbor and Coronado, The Ice Arena, Qualcomm Stadium, and all of the local casinos. All rooms equipped with microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, and rates include deluxe continental breakfast. We can accommodate a variety of events in our spacious conference center. Discounted rates available for groups and corporate guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
Holiday Inn Mira Mesa
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing