We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 days: better day by day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld
Ranked #133 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“5 days: better day by day”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Nice clean place to stay! Ask for room with best internet, if that'd be important to you, as I heard some rooms have a better signal than others. It was a little challenge to get the bath water flowing: faucet had been replaced & had to get it just right to have water flow. But we got it going fine, and though I had arrived with a horrendous cold, when I departed, my cold was mostly history! Great place, with good value in this fairly pricey market. And don't forget to bring your pet! Oh -- if you're sensitive to saltless folks, look elsewhere: there are some flamboyant sorts who staff the front office at times.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 508pyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We're glad to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you even recovered from your cold by the time you left! We appreciate your taking the time to share with everyone your experience. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    101
    83
    34
    21
See reviews for
136
92
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

It's a dog friendly place, and they don't charge you for your pet. I didn't travel with any pets, but still to a pet owner, you can't help but love these things.

Rooms were very new, and the sheets , bath towels and floor were all clear and in good condition. Asothers said, the rooms are small, but I stay in a city where rooms are small generally so that didn't bother me. The rooms have basically everything I need, ironing board, coffee maker, tv, free wifi, fridge, etc. The walls are thin, so you will hear tv and sounds coming from yr neighbouring room. I like the staff, they were friendly and always proactively ready to print driving instructions. It's really good value I think, about USD 60 per night with complimentary breakfast and parking.

The area within walking distance is mostly car dealerships, so don't stay here if you are not driving. If you drive, then the beach is less than 10 minutes away, and you can get to the airport and downtown in half hour or so. Feels generally like a safe area even if quiet.

San Diego is a pretty place, great for family vacations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmRightHereNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback. We consider pets as family, so as long they behave, we will never charge a fee or deposit for bringing them along. We hope you come and see us soon...everyone is welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in March and loved it. The rooms are small but the cleanliness & staff made it better. The rooms were renovated and everything looks very nice. The front desk staff was great with directions. Vanessa always had something new to sugest for us to try. Whenever we needed directions they were very helpful. It's a great placeto stay and the price is unbeatable I will be back to the Red Roof Inn next time I'm in San Diego !!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgurl143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for mentioning the extra special service that Vanessa was able to provide during your stay. With so many things to do in San Diego, it's not easy to cover all the driving directions but we strive to do our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Good; They have really cleaned this place up. It's now smoke free.
The Bad; Customer Focus. The desk rep at my initial arrival was polite, but not very accomadating. I got there about 11am and was told availability wasn't till 3pm (the latest time for room prep) and had to find something to do for the next 4 hours, only to get a room that was clearly not occupied the prior night that could have been made available early.
When questioning the practice I was offered a stream of excuses that included everything except what it would have taken to meet an early arrival's needs.
My Recomendation; When faced with an early arrival, focus on getting them a room as soon as possible rather than waiting till all the rest of the rooms are ready.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventimiglia, Italy
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Spent two nights here with my family in August 2011.
Positive quality/price rate. Hotels tend to be very very expensive in San Diego so this was a good solution.
The negative aspect was the noise at night. There were people talking in front of our room in the middle of the night. We complained with the management and they were very kind in apologising.
At first we didn't know there was a breakfast room but on the second morning we discovered.
We were able to use a free computer in the lobby.
As a whole, not bad.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Pros:
Recently remodeled interior
Cheap rates
Free breakfast (cereal, bagels, pastries)

Cons:
Parking could be a problem - can park on the street, read the signs
Towels were DIRTY!
Ashtray trashcan thing right outside our unit. Smokers congregated in front of #324.
Very thin walls
You hear a lot of sirens - must have a fire station nearby? Maybe?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charcharLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This Red Roof Inn, very recently renovated, was a million cuts above others we've stayed in. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, the bathroom clean and well-stocked, and they accepted our small dogs with no charge. The location is awesome, the staff bright and cheery and eager to please - and the nightly rate is the lowest we've found in the area! HOORAY....high praise!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peteychico22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
I really appreciate your valuable input regarding your recent stay with us, and I will gladly share this review with our hotel team members. Please come back and visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Best Western Mission Bay
#109 of 279 in San Diego
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#91 of 279 in San Diego
745 reviews
Pacific Beach
Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#31 of 279 in San Diego
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld

Property: Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld
Address: 4545 Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-4920 (Formerly Red Roof Inn - Pacific Beach, San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of San Diego, Red Roof Inn Pacific Beach/Seaworld Area is within walking distance to beautiful Mission Bay Park & Golf Course-the largest manmade aquatic park in the world. Pacific Beach Pier & Boardwalk is only 2.5 miles away, and we're within 10 minutes to some of San Diego's most popular attractions, including SeaWorld, the world famous San Diego Zoo, Mission Beach, Valley view Casino Center, Old Town San Diego, Fashion Valley Mall, and University of San Diego. Within 15-20 minutes of Red Roof San Diego, you'll find La Jolla Cove, Qualcomm Stadium, Balboa Park, Harbor Cruises with whale watching, Mission Basilica San Diego de Alcala, USS Midway Museum, the GasLamp Quarter, Petco Park, University Town Centre Mall, Mission Valley Mall, Seaport Village, Horton Plaza, the University of California San Diego, the California Western Center of Law, and San Diego State University. We are also near several military bases and also within walking distance of locallly famous restaurants like Inn N Out Burger, Sushi Ota and Rubio's Original Fish Tacos. With our easy freeway access to so many of San Diego's fun destinations, it's easy to see why we're the ideal choice for your stay! Our comfortable rooms offer individual heat/cool AC units, high speed wireless internet, in-room coffee makers, flat screen cable TV's, microwaves, mini-fridge's, alarm clocks, iron & ironing boards and hairdryers. Our hotel has a business center with free lobby PC access & printer, a guest laundry facility, and offers a deluxe continental breakfast each morning featuring made-to-order Belgian Waffles. Free on site Parking is limited, but always free. We also have a dry cleaning facility and a 24 hour 7-11 convenience store right next door, as well as snack centers and ice/vending machines onsite. Our friendly bi-lingual staff (English and Spanish) will be happy to assist you with tours and attraction information, and we also have discount tickets available for SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo. One well behaved family pet per room is welcome. Sorry, this location does not offer cribs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelPower, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Pacific Beach, San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Mission Bay Seaworld

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing