We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld
Ranked #132 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Northern California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I booked a room here mainly because of the location and that the rooms were recently renovated and did not have carpeting. The rooms did not have a bad odor like a lot of motel rooms.

However, even though there was an elevator, it was not working while I was there, so I had to haul my suitcase up the stairs to the second floor. Since my room was in the rear of the motel, it was fairly quiet at night. It was a very small room, and was difficult to move around in. Since I was alone, that was less of a problem. If I had had someone else with me, it would have been very cramped. The bathroom was very large, however, and had a tub.

The bed was too soft for me. The towels in the room had stains on them and there was only one washcloth that was stained and partly shredded, so I asked for additional towels and washcloths, which seemed cleaner. the maid I spoke with was very helpful.

The wireless internet never worked for me while I was there. When I complained to the front desk clerk, she just said she would give me the tech support number I would have to call to try to get it to work. Since I did not have time for that, I never got connected.

I did see a couple of bugs in the room while I was there, but nothing major. I went to the breakfast room one morning only, and found the selection very limited, so did not try to eat there again.

The rates were not very low, since it was a holiday weekend. The weekday rate was about half of the Saturday night rate. The location was good for me, but don't think I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the rear for more quiet at night. The rooms with two beds appeared much larger than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LetGo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank for your input. I would like to clarify the internet service issue that you had, since it may help you regardless of which hotel you may stay at in the future. If you are encountering internet access issues on your laptop, typically hotel mgmt will check that it is not a system wide outage and then make sure it is not a localized outage. Once those are eliminated as a possibility, the High Speed Internet company that the hotel is using usually provides individualized support to guest specific problems (it could be your settings etc.) This is why our Guest Service Reps would have referred you then to the support line.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    89
    74
    29
    17
See reviews for
115
74
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My family of three stayed here overnight on our way from SF to SD. All went very well; starting with friendly and efficient check in, lovely modern furnishings in a spotlessly clean room, nice pool (although small). Immediate area a bit boring but very short distance to all amenities Seaworld, Old Town, Pacific Beach, La Jolla etc. If you are looking for a hotel in San Diego, then look no further.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback, and we sincerely hope you visit us again soon in "America's Finest City!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

I picked this hotel mostly because it was pet friendly but the hotel in general was great. The rooms dont have carpet so it didnt have gross smells from other pets. The woman who checked us in also gave us a list of pet friendly parks and dog beaches which was very helpful. The breakfast was standard continental but great for a quick morning bite before going about our day. We had a few minor issues like the lights in our room not working but the front desk lady (red hair) came up within a few minutes and fixed the issue. Parking was tight but it was free and since we didnt brin our own computer we used the one in the lobby. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orejon03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here in July 2012, towels were ripped and had holes, then they started to disappear each night we stayed. Last night we stayed, I had to go to the front desk because we had 0 (zero) towels in the room. Room as not really clean (needed a deep scrubbing). The parking lot was hard to get in and out of, vendor trucks parked in the way making it difficult to leave on any day. The free breakfast was a joke. Not enough room for anyone to sit. I also sent an email to the Company regarding this hotel and they didn't even respond to me. Shows how much they care......

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillC25_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofMgmt, General Manager at Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Upon a review of our records regarding your stay, I can confirm that we had provided towels for you upon your request at the front desk on one night, and that we believed the matter to be settled to your satisfaction when you accepted the discount at the time of checkout that you had requested. We apologize again for any inconvience this may have caused you, and we thank you for staying with us (multiple nights).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed at the Red Roof Inn San Diego. The room was tiny, one chair only. If you used the chair no-one could walk around the bed. Expensive for the size.
The coffee maker still had the used coffee grounds from the last visitor. The sink in our bathroom (unit 303) had a hole rusted completely through large enough to put your fist through ( I have a photo). We could clearly hear our neighbor through the thin walls.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bvdb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Not only easy access off I-5 to beautiful Mission Bay area, but also easy access to room on ground floor for my 91-year-old Mom, with grab bars in bathroom, and elevator to 3rd floor breakfast room. Room was clean and well equipped (microwave, refrig, coffee maker), with (reportedly!) comfortable bed. Front desk staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Good value for facility and location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This was a last minute trip during home repairs and we needed to be gone... We have stayed at RRF Inns before and had a good experience. This happened to be the week with Comic.con so rooms were kind of scarse for Best Western and prices under $150 a night.. The linens were clean and the room did not smell, the shower was great. The cons? We found an open can of 7-Up in our fridge! Only 2 wash cloths for the 3 of us. The first morning we found a double edge razor blade on the floor between the beds. It wasn't there before we went to bed. I can only guess it was on the bed cover and flipped to the floor when we took it off. Otherwise, you get what you pay for, sort of. This room was $125 and not in a pricey area. I did expect a bit more for our money. Got ** from AAA.. So we slept and showered - it worked, just pricey. The map I looked at showed this on a corner of Mission Bay. Not! It was a busy area next to car dealers. Location was OK as it was about 15 minutes from big attraction areas and right off of the I-5 but not noisey...

Room Tip: Check the hotel location carefully..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leona0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
BEST WESTERN Mission Bay
#101 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#131 of 282 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn Hotel
Kings Inn Hotel
#42 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,742 reviews
Point Loma
Ramada Limited San Diego/Near SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld

Property: Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld
Address: 4545 Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Red Roof Inn - Pacific Beach, San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of San Diego, Red Roof Inn Pacific Beach/Seaworld Area is within walking distance to beautiful Mission Bay Park & Golf Course-the largest manmade aquatic park in the world. Pacific Beach Pier & Boardwalk is only 2.5 miles away, and we're within 10 minutes to some of San Diego's most popular attractions, including SeaWorld, the world famous San Diego Zoo, Mission Beach, Valley view Casino Center, Old Town San Diego, Fashion Valley Mall, and University of San Diego. Within 15-20 minutes of Red Roof San Diego, you'll find La Jolla Cove, Qualcomm Stadium, Balboa Park, Harbor Cruises with whale watching, Mission Basilica San Diego de Alcala, USS Midway Museum, the GasLamp Quarter, Petco Park, University Town Centre Mall, Mission Valley Mall, Seaport Village, Horton Plaza, the University of California San Diego, the California Western Center of Law, and San Diego State University. We are also near several military bases and also within walking distance of locallly famous restaurants like Inn N Out Burger, Sushi Ota and Rubio's Original Fish Tacos. With our easy freeway access to so many of San Diego's fun destinations, it's easy to see why we're the ideal choice for your stay! Our comfortable rooms offer individual heat/cool AC units, high speed wireless internet, in-room coffee makers, flat screen cable TV's, microwaves, mini-fridge's, alarm clocks, iron & ironing boards and hairdryers. Our hotel has a business center with free lobby PC access & printer, a guest laundry facility, and offers a deluxe continental breakfast each morning featuring made-to-order Belgian Waffles. Free on site Parking is limited, but always free. We also have a dry cleaning facility and a 24 hour 7-11 convenience store right next door, as well as snack centers and ice/vending machines onsite. Our friendly bi-lingual staff (English and Spanish) will be happy to assist you with tours and attraction information, and we also have discount tickets available for SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo. One well behaved family pet per room is welcome. Sorry, this location does not offer cribs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Pacific Beach, San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Mission Bay Seaworld

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing