We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right next to the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PB Surf Beachside Inn
Ranked #166 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The rooms are clean and modern with HUGE showers. We were surprised at how updated everything was and the size of the TVs were insane! Less then a block from the beach the location was absolutely perfect. There was also a water faucet outside to rinse feet and shoes off to limit the sand you brought back to your room. The only complaint was the breakfast, it starts a little later then stated for one reason or another it really wasn't a big deal but when you have time crunching travelers every minute counts.

Room Tip: Look on Groupon for occasional lower rates.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZskogstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Thank you for your comments. I know, some of the TVs are really large, and I think they come as a surprise to many. We do apologize for the late breakfast start. Because we are closed at night a majority of the time, we depend 100% on the morning person being prompt. I have someone working almost every night now that will enable us to be able to set up everything on time regardless of the morning person's schedule. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
There are newer reviews for PB Surf Beachside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 334 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

There's lots of cool restaurants within walking distance. Also, it's great being so close to the boardwalk. They need to install curtains in the rooms, however, it gets very bright, very early! As others have mentioned, the noise from Mission Blvd might be problematic for some.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank SJRenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

That's the first time I have heard anything negative about the wooden shutters. I'm sure you did, but I wonder if the shutters were closed correctly. They do allow light in the wrong direction, and it's not something obvious. Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights. No complaints. Rooms modern with huge wall mounted TVs. When we needed something, service was prompt & friendly. Only draw backs ... no free internet ... Breakfast is basic pastries & coffee ... and no TV channel listing available.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Raidahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Yes, the rooms are new! And some of them have 50" TVs. But every room has a flat screen TV. I am working on getting free Internet. I'm guessing it should be very soon. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The motel was very clean, appeared newly remodeled. Parking was ok and although it was limited we did manage to find a place. The only downfall is that I am only 5'0 tall and the bed was so high I had to literally "jump" up on it so it was a bit of a hassle, otherwise it was very comfortable and it could use 4 pillows instead of only 3. They advertise breakfast, but it was only stale pastries, lousy coffee and some kind of juice. We didn't have room service, but we requestd clean towels and coffee. Got clean towels but he didn't have coffee ;(.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPaynePerez49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

The beds are fairly high. After our renovation, we noticed that the new bed frames we had custom made were leaving the beds either too low or too high. For aesthetics, we chose to go with the higher look. The pastries come from a bakery every morning, so I'm not really sure how the pastries were stale. Anyway, thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last year. It is completely updated so it is a wonderful place to stay in PB. The location is perfect. You're very close to the beach and all the bars and restaurants in PB. The service isn't that wonderful. The guy at the front desk couldn't find our reservation and acted like it was our problem. He made me call expedia instead of trying to accommodate us and then tried to charge us more than the rate we paid for. When we asked for a hair dryer he made us come down to the lobby and get it. Unbelievably lazy. However, if you need a clean place to stay in a nice location (with free parking!) and won't be spending a ton of time in the hotel, this is great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacKennaMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for you comments, and this will be used as one of my training props for the month. From the two things you mentioned, we could have performed so much better. We will do better the next time you decide to stay with us. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Motel was a block from the beach and in a great, safe area. Room was on the smaller side but perfect for two people. Room was very modern, had a comfortable bed and a hot shower. We were also allowed to check in at noon the day we arrived which was great and the staff was very friendly. Only drawback was parking- there were plenty of spots available during the day and around dinner time but when we got back to the motel at 10:30PM all the spots were full so we had to park on the street on the next block over. It wasn't a huge problem but worth noting. We would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlm7198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Yes, the parking is limited, but we do have our sister property located just one block away. I realize it's not at the property you are staying, but it is about a 30 second walk away. Generally, there are enough spaces there to prevent you from parking ion the street. I hope you will stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This property offers a good bargain for the money. It is comparable to the larger chain hotels in cleanliness and provisions but for considerably less, and within easy walking distance of the beach and good dining. Parking is free but space is limited requiring a hike of a few blocks to their sister property. Our only complaint was that we were given what was probably the worst room (106) in the place for our first night; it was so small we could scarcely walk around the bed and there was no room for any other furniture. There was no counter space in the bathroom, and you could bump your head on the shower door sitting on the toilet. In addition, it is located by the parking lot and subject to loud noise from late night drunken partiers. We inquired about other rooms the next morning and spent the remaining three nights of our stay in room 126 facing the back wall of the property. No view at all, but lots of sunlight, very quiet, and twice as large as the previous room with a desk and extra counter space. The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating. Just be sure to check the room out first.

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the back (beach) side as these are quieter and in our experience much larger.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWNativegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

We are very happy that we were able to accommodate you more to your liking after the first night. Sometimes, depending on availability, our options can be very limited. Even though the rooms types are the same, there are obvious differences in the rooms. We do hope you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#205 of 278 in San Diego
455 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#220 of 278 in San Diego
177 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#135 of 278 in San Diego
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#101 of 278 in San Diego
688 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#31 of 278 in San Diego
1,050 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#9 of 278 in San Diego
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PB Surf Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PB Surf Beachside Inn

Address: 4760 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $100 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — PB Surf Beachside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring surfer style and modern amenities in the perfect beachfront location, our friendly hotel offers an appealing blend of style, setting and service. The beach is steps away, inviting you to stroll along the soft sands and soak in the salty sea breeze. You'll be dazzled by the choice of local restaurants within walking distance. Relax in our heated pool or on the rooftop patio. From BBQ grills to free continental breakfast, our hotel in San Diego is a comfortable setting for your beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your PB Surf Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacoast Palms Hotel San Diego
Seacoast Palms Inn
Seacoast Palms San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing