We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to spend Christmas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of PB Surf Beachside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PB Surf Beachside Inn
Ranked #147 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
“Great place to spend Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

I enjoyed my stay very much. It was my first visit and I could not have been happier. The staff members were all exceptional and they were there to help me and answer my questions. The breakfast was delicious and the room clean. I loved that it was so close to the beach and the value can't be beat. Lots of stores and restaurants within walking distance. I look forward to returning in the spring. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kord B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Ok, we'll see you again this spring! Please let us know your preferences when you reserve with us directly. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    112
    33
    14
    19
See reviews for
67
121
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

One block away from beautiful beach, fantastic price. Updated/renovated interiors, but the construction is not great quality and it's fairly obvious. Walls are thin, and the hotel is on a very busy street, so make sure you get a room that faces away from the street. Otherwise you will be up all night. We moved after the first night and were very happy after we moved.

After the noise issue got resolved, we were super happy with the hotel, especially at $40/night! AMAZING price! GREAT location! Fairly comfortable and fairly updated interior, VERY clean!

Parking is a bit of an issue, but it is pretty much everywhere in San Diego. It's very tight. If they get full there is a sister hotel with tons of parking less than a block away you can park at.

Overall very satisfied.

Room Tip: Get one facing away from the street!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Well, that was a great rate! There are times that we do run a very nice special for the down times. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of that. I hope that you noticed that we do not care about the rate when it comes to giving you a nice room. In fact, I'm certain, after the first night, we did everything we could to satisfy you as our guest! Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

It is located steps away from the beach, shops and restaurants nearby. Great value for our week stay. The room is a nice size with microwave and a mini fridge which come handy with leftovers.

Overall it's a great space and we will return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you very much for your very nice comments about the refrigerator and microwave. Every room has these and a coffee maker as well. And, yes, only a half of a block away from the beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Good location, clean but simple rooms. The rooms are smaller than average so I would suggest upgrading to a suite. Continental breakfast was just Danish's, muffins and scones. Safe location and reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
That is a perfect suggestion for a larger room! Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed in Room 122 which is a room with two beds that opens into the courtyard. The room was immaculate! It included a coffee maker, mini fridge, and microwave. No hair dryer but luckily I had brought mine with me. Staff in the office were very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent. I was shocked to see how close to the beach the inn is located since the price was so reasonable. The location is so great and is so close to everything just about every demographic will enjoy. There are plenty of clubs and hot spots in the surrounding area for those looking to party. For someone like me who was traveling with a teenage son, there were plenty of places for families close by as well. Never had a problem with parking the four nights I stayed here. I think anyone that books the PB Surf will be pleasantly surprised. I know I plan to stay here every time I travel to the San Diego area. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for staying with us, and for your nice comments. Normally, we do have a blow dryer in the room, but there are a couple that the lighted mirror took up too much space to install. For these, we have extras at the front desk, but are happy you were prepared anyway. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

While I can't say that I received the great customer service some of the other reviewers received, I will say that the place was way better than I anticipated. Maybe I read some really old reviews and the place has since had a lot of updates.

Our room was spacious, had lots of storage space (dresser, 2 side tables, a desk and a reasonably big closet). There was a refrigerator, mircowave and coffee pot. (For you semi serious coffee drinkers, there is a Starbucks about 6 or 8 blocks down the street.) It was super clean. They bed was great. We had a king size, super comfy bed. (Also, I'm a single woman traveling with kids, safety was not a concern. I felt safe at the hotel and in the area.)

EXCELLENT BEACH LOCATION. I wish I could type that in bigger letters.

Down sides for me were few. I was given a handicap room, which would be an excellent room for a handicap person, but for me, it meant less surface space in the bathroom and a wet bathroom floor because of the roll in shower. I was really quite unhappy about that part (considering I was assigned this room because I extended my stay).

They were always short on towels (I started with exactly two in my room, but luckily I was located close to the laundry room so I was able to get clean ones every day (since I had to soak up the water from the roll in shower).

The WiFi is not free and was irregular. This one really caught me off guard because recenlty all of the places I have visited have free wifi.

There wasn't an onsite laundry room, but there was a great laundromat two blocks away (with free WiFi.) Actually, there are laundromats everywhere in the area (just like bars and tatoo parlors).

Parking is limited, so some nights you will be searching for a spot on the street.

If you are on the fence about choosing this affordable, near the beach location, no need to be. It is a great spot for the money.

Room Tip: if you don't need it, but happen to get a handicap room, you would be much happier if you ask to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCMOMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Sorry about the handicapped room. We are required to have a few of them for obvious reasons, and they are rarely utilized by someone who needs or requires one. However, the only real difference is the shower. The shower is much larger and is made for wheel chair access, where the others have a step over type of entry surrounded by glass rather than a curtain. If you request to not have one of those rooms, we would be more than happy to accommodate you. And, I can understand the water situation as well. I'm still not convinced the angle of the floor is sufficient to keep the water in the shower. As for the Internet, I am seriously working on making this complimentary. Thank you very much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at the begining of November. Despite the long the flight from Toronto its was great staying here in a place where its very clean and modern. From the moment we checked in the staff was amazing, as they were very kind and made the check in process a breeze. The staff were very attentive to our needs and we defientely will come here again the next time we visit San Diego.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
I'm glad we were able to make your experience with us a very nice one! Especially the part about travelling and being able to get checked into your room promptly! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#123 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#230 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#226 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#102 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific View Inn
Pacific View Inn
#176 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PB Surf Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PB Surf Beachside Inn

Property: PB Surf Beachside Inn
Address: 4760 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — PB Surf Beachside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring surfer style and modern amenities in the perfect beachfront location, our friendly hotel offers an appealing blend of style, setting and service. The beach is steps away, inviting you to stroll along the soft sands and soak in the salty sea breeze. You'll be dazzled by the choice of local restaurants within walking distance. Relax in our heated pool or on the rooftop patio. From BBQ grills to free continental breakfast, our hotel in San Diego is a comfortable setting for your beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your PB Surf Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacoast Palms Hotel San Diego
Seacoast Palms Inn
Seacoast Palms San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing