We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
PB Surf Beachside Inn
Ranked #167 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very cheap extremely nice area right next to the beach and close to all the night life and the bars around here! The service was awesome the front desk guy oscar was very helpful with everything giving us directions, suggestions and a warm welcome when we arrived at 2am!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eddiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Some people believe the "night person" is usually pretty dull without too much personality. We have always tried to employ nice energetic and knowledgeable people to work every shift at the properties. I am very happy that you had a good experience with one of my night auditors, and I also hope you will come back and stay with us again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 344 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

A basic hotel within great walking distance of the beach/promenade. Very clean, basic service but u get what u ask for. You will definitely need a car to enjoy any other activities within local areas. No complaints great place for a beach only holiday, very relaxing. Grade A for cleanliness, recently refurbished with great up keep!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tara582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you. Yes, if you are planning on making a beach vacation full of relaxation, this is a nice clean, new place to stay. There are quite a few activities that can be enjoyed within walking distance, but having a car available will certainly improve your options if you are planning on seeing places like the zoo, and Sea World for example. We do hope you will comwe back and stay with us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Love this place. clean rooms, 1 blk from the beach, close to bars and belmont fun zone( we took our bicycles), the sister hotel 1blk down has a pool and bbq very nice. Alpha was our office contact, she helped with a bottom floor room so we could bring our bikes in at nite. that made a huge difference in the quality of our stay. room was clean, very comfortable. will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pj f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

I'm truly glad you decided to stay with us while visiting the beach and San Diego. I will let Alpha, one of my guest service agents know about the compliments and your review. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The moment we checked in to the day we left, I can't say how great of an experience we had! This hotel is absolutely great if you want to be close to the beach and hangout at the PB bars! The hotel has been renovated and it feels very clean and modern! The mini fridge and microwave was perfect for the 4 nights. There was a small eating area with a sink and it was so useful! The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and big. I can honestly say, do not be fooled by how cheaply the rooms are priced because it is not a cheap motel. You will be happy with the location!

Room Tip: Grab a 2nd floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

And really pleased that you mentioned how nice the hotel is compared to the pricing of the rooms. We are new, and the best way for us to get the word out that we are nice, modern, and new is to lower the rate and pretty much surprise the guests as they stay with us. Yes, the distance to Garnet Street is only four blocks where everything is located in PB, so there is no need to drive. Thank you again for your comments. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

was very pleased with my stay. on my last night here, I was locked out of my room at 3 in the morning, and Oscar from the front desk was very courteous, prompt, and helpful in getting me back into my room at such a late hour. His friendliness, and helpfulness alone will merit many a return trip here in the future. Thanks again Oscar, you're the best!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kingofde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

I'm always really happy to hear about really good customer service. And, I'm glad to know that you will be returning to stay with us again in the future. We are very sorry for the key situation though and hope that this did not create too much of an inconvenience. Thank you your comments, and I will inform Oscar of your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have such a nice relaxing time at this hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were so nice and spacious. The location is good and close to the beach. We are definitely staying here again when we visit San Diego.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

I don't know what else to say after you titled your review as "awesome." We are very happy that you liked the ambiance as well as the staff, and mostly that you will stay with us again upon your next visit to San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Room was very nice and contemporary. Arrived close to 1 in the morning and Oscar was in the front cheery and
wide eyed!. Please if you are mgmt, give him a raise, this guy is top notch..At least give him a few dollars to upgrade his skateboard!

Amenites were all Bath and Bodyworks, My hair smells like Rainwater Leaves now. Beds were thick, covers were nice.
My only complaint is the bed is a bit high, so if you have an infant, prepare to make a pillow castle.

Highly recommended and of course will stay again!.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brokeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you, and yes, Oscar is a very valuable member of our team. We are really glad you enjoyed the upgrades and the staff. We hope that you will come back and see us again really soon!

I'll have to remember the comment about the pillow castle!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#177 of 286 in San Diego
495 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#211 of 286 in San Diego
182 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#98 of 286 in San Diego
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#139 of 286 in San Diego
224 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#150 of 286 in San Diego
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PB Surf Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PB Surf Beachside Inn

Address: 4760 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $99 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — PB Surf Beachside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring surfer style and modern amenities in the perfect beachfront location, our friendly hotel offers an appealing blend of style, setting and service. The beach is steps away, inviting you to stroll along the soft sands and soak in the salty sea breeze. You'll be dazzled by the choice of local restaurants within walking distance. Relax in our heated pool or on the rooftop patio. From BBQ grills to free continental breakfast, our hotel in San Diego is a comfortable setting for your beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your PB Surf Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacoast Palms Hotel San Diego
Seacoast Palms Inn
Seacoast Palms San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing