We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
San Diego
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,997)
Filter reviews
1,997 results
Traveler rating
757
676
300
158
106
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
757
676
300
158
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location maritime museum pacific highway trolley stop cruise terminal light rail airport shuttle seaport village within walking distance free breakfast convention center two blocks little italy uss midway shuttle service the breakfast area front desk staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,997 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived Early in San Diego and thought maybe we can stow our bags so we can go to the zoo. They Had our 2 rooms ready for us to go to with baby crib. and check in was very quick. very professional. our rooms were spacious Modern and clean.Staff very helpful. and Breakfast top notch. and of course Ideal location to everything San Diego. Wi Fi great and ATM in Foyer which is a big plus. we are planning on coming back to San Diego maybe next year 2021 and will definitely stay here

Room tip: Try to get a room with a view of the harbour
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSANDT, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Fred Breshears

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

We stayed Tuesday, January 14-January 17, 2020, for a pre-cruise stay.
We were able to call from the airport for a shuttle pickup which was easy and less than a 10 minute wait from call time and walking over to area to wait. No issue with shuttle to cruise terminal.
It was nice that our room was ready when we arrived a little after 1PM. We received a friendly welcome. All staff we encountered were positive and respectful.
The facility is well maintained and comfortable.
Cookies and popcorn are available around 6PM in lobby. Water always available in lobby.
Location is within walking distance to Little Italy and waterfront.
We did not have a problem with street noise even though our room faced the street on the 4th floor.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Jpamr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSANDT, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Thank you for the great comments about the team!

Sincerely,

Fred Breshears

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020

Excellent location, walkable to many things. Easy access to cruise terminal and airport. If you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs. The walls are thin, otherwise wonderful. Would stay here again. Pool is not heated.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Carmensc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awashington77, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2020

Thank you for rating our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you during your next trip to San Diego. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown. All the Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

Can walk along the water and catch some good restaurants in walking distance not to mention also gaslamp district and mall is not far away. Shuttle service is available and close to dinner cruise area as well.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank chrisfuentes79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awashington77, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2020

Thank you for rating our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you during your next trip to San Diego. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown. All the Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night with family. Location is good as it’s walkable to Little Italy.
They were doing some renovation so the breakfast area was temporary setup, food was just okay. Scrambled eggs was kind of dry.
There was no coffee in the lobby due to renovation.
Parking was very expensive $30/night, hotel staff said parking is expensive outside. But we are hotel guest they should have discount for their guests. There are several other hotels nearby, next time I would rather go another hotel.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Famvacation1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasondraK1531, Guest Service Supervisor at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2020

Hello,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown.

All the Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews