We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in San Diego” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown
Ranked #82 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice stay in San Diego”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for a recent wedding at the Maritime Museum and it was ideally located. I was concerned about the train noises but they were not really an issue for us. We just kept the windows closed. They do have earplugs on the table just in case. Little Italy is a few blocks away and super easy to walk to for food and livelihood. Green Line train is behind the hotel and will take you just about anywhere you need to go. Children's park is across the street and the waterfront just beyond it. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel is suppose to be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear "JL" I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and the park across the street. This has been a great addition to our area and hope that our guests will continue to enjoy it for years to come. Thanks for your review and your business. Hopefully we will see you again soon at the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    432
    196
    106
    60
See reviews for
298
278
93
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two consecutive weeks while in town for work. The hotel is nice. It's very clean as most hampton inns usually are. The thing that is great about this hotel is it's location. It's right in little Italy so it's walking distance to a bunch of restaurants/bars and a trolley stop is less than a block away. The trolley will take you basically anywhere you want to go in the city. It will even take you out to mission valley or to Qualcomm stadium. I'll definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Huckleberryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear "Tommylgreene", thanks for staying at the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown. Please give us your future consideration for your accommodation needs.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MURRIETA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Everything was very nice except the train running behind the hotel. Pretty loud! The room was great and the staff was very friendly. I would stay here again but as I said, if you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear "488garyg", in the interest of full disclosure, I am glad that you posted this review with this heading. Yes our hotel does have quieness issues related to the train and it is important that prospective guests know this in advance. Thanks for your review and for your business, hopefully you will decide to give it to us once again.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Overall a good place to stay in San Diego for the price. I especially like being right next to a trolley stop for quick travel down to the Convention Center (or 20-minute walk). Just be aware that Amtrak uses an adjacent set of rails and it can be noisy if your room is near the tracks and you're a light sleeper.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear "Robert H", thank you for your review which includes information other travelers might find useful in terms of our immediate area and proximity to the convention center. I hope that the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown has earned your future consideration whether on business or leisure travel.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel may not be right next to the Gaslamp quarter but you can certainly walk to that area in barely 20-25 minutes and, along the way if you take the Harbor Drive path, see a lot of interesting places. I did for all the 5 days of my last week's stay in this hotel when I walked to/from the SD Convention Center. And there is one even an advantage of this hotel's location: It is right next to the SD Little Italy region which has a lot of restaurants/bars which are much more affordable than the Gaslamp quarter's.

Still speaking of location: The Santa Fe train station is barely 0.3 miles from the hotel. So you can take the Coaster train ($12 for all day) or Amtrak to places.

Inside the hotel: Everything clean. Staff very friendly. Good WiFi signal in the room (mine was on 3rd floor). Reasonably priced items in vending machines. Elevators were quick to arrive. Pool was clean and they even provided towels on the pool chairs. Though I didn't need a car the parking garage on the lower level had adequate empty places.

Breakfast was included and was adequate with fresh made omelets, small yoplait yogert, milk, fresh cut up fruit, wonderful coffee with options for great tasty creamers.

Concerned about noise? Yes, the trains ran from early morning till late at night and they were noisy. The hotel provided earplugs! But I never used them because after a day I got used to the train sounds or was so tired from all the walking that simply fell sound asleep--every night!

Finally, about the location again: The location of this hotel is also great for the USS Midway tour, Harbor tours, and to take the kids to a park right across from the hotel where lots of kids were enjoying the water fountains in a supervised area. Oh, if you want cheaper foods, then there is a Jack in the Box a short walk.

Airport drop off/pickup: Both were fast and courteous. Please do tip the drivers.

I give this hotel 5 Stars and would love to go back and stay there again. Kudos to the staff for the great job they do every day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meengla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear "Meengla", thank you for your business and for your review of the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown. We were glad to serve you during your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed the many aspects of our hotel and I hope that we have earned your return business. Thank you also for reporting to this great public your experience with the quietness factor of our hotel. Looking forward to seeing you again!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucaon, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Looking for a bargain I expected a clean modest property. That is exactly what I got. What I also got was some of the best service I have ever received from each and every employee. I have stayed in a number of 4 and 5 star resorts and this service was as good. Great value. Complaints about train noise very exaggerated. Parking is tight especially if you have a big "mini" van.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear "Bob L", thank you for providing a balance to some of the reviews on this great site about the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown. I understand that each person's experience will be different and I appreciate that there is a balance and this site is here to provide both the good and the bad from different perspectives. Thank you kindly for providing the reinforcement that what the staff is doing here is appreciated, the service aspect. I hope to have earned your future consideration,

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My son and I stayed here after his surf camp earlier in the week. The hotel is clean and accommodating. The room was a good size and the price was fair. However, it was VERY crowded over the holiday and the morning of the 4th the breakfast area was PACKED... Standing room only. My son and I actually ate at the computer area as there were no other available seats.
I guess this is too be expected on a holiday but it was a bit overwhelming. I thought the underground parking was nice but feel the $12/day parking fee was a bit much. The hotel is in a GREAT location. Within walking distance of several restaurants, San Diego Bay, Little Italy SD. Lots of activities right there outside the hotel and surrounding areas no driving necessary. Overall our stay was very nice.
The beds were very comfortable. Staff was very informative and knowledgeable about the area. They gave great directions and recommendations. When we had an issue with the AC a maintenance person was there within 30 minutes to fix it.

I would definitely return to this hotel. I was a bit disappointed that I was unable to use my AAA discount while we were there due to the holiday. I was not informed of that when I booked and asked about AAA discount. The prices are fair considering the location.

Room Tip: I continue to have problems with the hotel rating. When I select the category it automatically regi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear "Katrina" thank you for your review about the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown when we are to capacity on a major holiday event. It helps our future visitors decide whether we are a good fit for them. It appears that for the most part you enjoyed our hotel and our services so I would like to invite you to keep us in mind for perhaps a different time period as San Diego is a great town to visit. Thank you again for everything!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#122 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,793 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#173 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown
Address: 1531 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of the Embarcadero San Diego downtown, the award-winning Hampton Inn San Diego-Downtown hotel represents the best in California hospitality. We're a 177 guest room hotel dedicated to providing the finest level of hotel comfort. Experience fun and adventure as you sail around the cruise terminal. Savor delicious Italian food in Little Italy and the Gaslamp District. Get close to wildlife at SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo. Catch a big league game at nearby Petco Park and Qualcomm Stadium. The possibilities are endless when you visit our friendly hotel in downtown San Diego, CA. We're conveniently located just off of I-5 - only a mile from San Diego Airport and the San Diego Convention Center. Two blocks from the beauty of the San Diego Bay, we're less than half a mile from the cruise terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing