We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & good value$”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown
Ranked #66 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
San Jose, California
1 review
“Great location & good value$”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I have been to this location 3 times for Rock r' Roll Marathon, and this is right in Little Italy that only 3 stops from Convention Center via the MTS. And every night I can just walk to different restaurants, bars, and not worry about drinking & driving. Room is clean, staffs are friendly, and you also get free wifi & free shuttle to the airport. Before I checked into Hampton, I was staying at Hyatt for 2 nights where parking cost $ 28 per night and wifi $ 10 per day. Also free breakfast starts at 6:00a, waffle, scramble eggs, and great coffee!! The only downside is it's near the railroad track so light sleeper may have an issue with that. Hotel did provide ear plugs, but I didn't need it since I was dead tired from the marathons. LOL..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear "Michele S', I hope that your sleep did not get disrupted sufficiently to detract from your performance at the Rock 'N' Roll Marathon. I hope you accomplished your goal. I am glad that the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown gave you a good value, it is one of our goals to strike a good balance. I hope we can serve you again the in next RNR marathon you participate.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    497
    229
    118
    69
See reviews for
382
346
104
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Great customer service and convenient location to Little Italy and the SD Trolley, plus nice rooms made this a great stay. The only thing that was a little lacking was that breakfast at other locations were much better.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear "Todd P', thank you very much for the great score despite the comments about the breakfast, I am not sure if you are willing to share specifics by contacting me at the property. Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown and I hope we can serve you again!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Hampton Inn is a wonderful place to stay for family and business. The location in in the heart for the city with easy access to I-5. The parking is right there and easy to use. The facilities all are very nice and of high quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear "Frank G", all I can say is see you again next time! In all seriousness, please accept my appreciation for staying at the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown, and for your review here.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel staff was very accommodating, friendly, and helpful. Breakfast was the best complementary hotel breakfast I've ever had. I was really overly impressed with how nice and friendly the staff from front desk, breakfast, cleaning etc. The hotel is a great downtown location to get around on the trolley, bus, bike, walking etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Latamera W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear "Latamera W', your review here for potential guests is sincerely appreciated. Thanks for noting the plethora of positives of staying at the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown such as the location, staff, and breakfast.. I hope that we have done enough to earn your future business.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I traveled to San Diego to run a Rock 'n' Roll half marathon on June 1, 2014. This hotel location was absolutely perfect for all the stuff I wanted to do. First of all, the hotel provided free shuttle service between the airport and the hotel. Big plus for me as I did not want to rent a car. Secondly, the hotel provided a free shuttle to the start of the race which was another plus. Thirdly, (an unexpected bonus) a free hot breakfast was included. Fourthly, the trolley that runs to all sorts of fun sites had an access station right behind the hotel. Perfect for my getting around to see all sorts of great sites, including Old Town and Seaport Village. The hotel was also only one block from the ocean front with access to the beach walk area. It was also within easy walking distance to the Convention Center where the Expo was going on for the race. The staff was very friendly and accommodating in explaining how to get around and gave me several maps to help with my excursions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear "Terry0106", thank you for your business and for your review of the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown. I can see that there were several aspect of our hotel that you enjoyed and I hope that this will encourage you to stay with us the next time you run the Rock 'N" Roll Half Marathon. Thanks again!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Very accommodating and knowledgeable staff and very friendly. I feel we got a great room for a good price. Nothing too fancy but clean and beds were comfy. An occasional train was heard going by but really not a big deal. Walking distance to restaurants in Little Italy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Norma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear "Norma F", I am glad that you stayed with us during your participation in the Rock 'n' Roll Half Marathon! I hope you had a great time in the event and that you met your time expectations. I want to thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown and your business. This event is a yearly event and I would appreciate your future consideration. Thank you again!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartago, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I am glad to choose your option for booking among several alternatives I did consider this time. It was a clean, safe, friendly place to spend a long weekend in San Diego, California. I love the kindless of the service people who always did what they could to meet my requirements.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Marco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear "Marco A", I hope you made it back safely to Costa Rica. Thank you for visiting America's Finest City! I am so happy to read you found our staff friendly and accomodating. This is what we strive to accomplish. I am glad that Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown was able to meet your expectations, perhaps we will exceed them the next time should you give us the pleasure of your return business.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#119 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown
Address: 1531 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92101-2413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of the Embarcadero San Diego downtown, the award-winning Hampton Inn San Diego-Downtown hotel represents the best in California hospitality. We're a 177 guest room hotel dedicated to providing the finest level of hotel comfort. Experience fun and adventure as you sail around the cruise terminal. Savor delicious Italian food in Little Italy and the Gaslamp District. Get close to wildlife at SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo. Catch a big league game at nearby Petco Park and Qualcomm Stadium. The possibilities are endless when you visit our friendly hotel in downtown San Diego, CA. We're conveniently located just off of I-5 - only a mile from San Diego Airport and the San Diego Convention Center. Two blocks from the beauty of the San Diego Bay, we're less than half a mile from the cruise terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing