We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel California”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown
Ranked #70 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2013

First of all,I would like to commend G.M.,Miguel Rojas and his excellent staff,Dan,Blanca,Mariela,Penny,Laurie,Carmen,Maria,Chuck and Maritza,when she comes in as a back up.They are all super.The service is outstanding.I love the rooms,and the location is great,being close to Little Italy,The Gaslamp,The USS Midway,The 3 masted ship,Star of India,and also the Airport is right there.Yes,there are the Trolleys,put some ear plugs in and go to sleep.It is a great bargain for the location.I've stayed here a lot,and will continue to do so. Jack Sullivan,Hilton Honors Diamond

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear "Jack S", thank you for your kind words and especially for remembering specific individuals who have enhanced your stay. I hope that we can continue to be your lodging choice while in San Diego, and thank you for being a Diamond Member!

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,561)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,130 - 1,136 of 1,561 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel itself is average for a Hampton Inn. Staff is polite and friendly. Parking is free for Diamond members. It is very close to the San Diego airport.

The hotel is unfortunately situated right next to a commuter rail crossing which has a train go through it every five minutes. The Bells are loud enough to hear in Tijuana. Until the city puts some quieter bells on that crossing I recommend staying elsewhere. The hotel was kind enough to put ear plugs on the bed stand but I'm not sure that's gonna cut it. Also the King Bed room I reserved was not available when I checked in at 6:00pm. Guess the concept of a "reservation" doesn't apply.

The hotel room is full of harsh CFL lightbulbs with a greenish / blue hue which is unpleasant. I would recommend that the hotel look into some of the newer warm yellow LED bulbs. I stayed at 'The Heathman' hotel in Seattle last week which used these bulbs. I thought the were incandescent until I checked them and was pleasantly surprised. Lighting is very important and I would like to see hotels pay more attention to it.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Client_No9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear "Jason J" I echo your sentiments about the city putting in quieter bells at the intersections. It is our understanding that the city is studying the noise levels to see about applying for some changes to be done to the appropriate federal authorities. Unfortunately at this time I do not have a timeline and if the implementation of the "queit zone" is any indication, it may be years from now.

In regards to the lights, I will see if there is another light bulb we can transition in as we continue to replace burned out ones.

Thank you for your review and your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

No street parking available. You have to pay an extra fee (11.00) per day/night to park your car in their private garage. The bells and noise from the trolley keeps you up all night, and the construction going on next door goes from 8am till dark, It's a lovely property, and very well maintained, but I was very angry that we were not made aware that there would be an extra charge to park the car because, as the front desk staff explained "we are a downtown property" Well, so what??? Let paying guests park their cars for free - I would think that would be a no brainer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAEViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear "SAEViolet" than you for the opportunity to serve you while you were in the area. In reading your review I can see that most areas that are impacted by the hotel staff service were rated great and I thank you for than. I am sorry that you were not aware of the parking fees associated with your stay and I would appreciate an opportunity to hear how you booked the stay, etc,,, to see if I can rectify it for you and any future guests.

Thank you,

Miguel Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I was concerned by other reviews comments about train noise, but I did not find that the noise from the nearby train tracks was excessive at all - noticeable, but not that bad.
If you have stayed in a Hampton Inn before, you will not be surprised by this one. Hampton Inns focus on clean, consistent lodging, not luxury or amenities. and this one meets that goal.
Pluses: great location near MTS (trolley) stop, just like most other Hamptons.
Minuses: None really, its a Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear "Brian D" thank you for your review, I am glad to hear that you were not bothered but the train noises that ate still affecting our location despite the "quiet zone". Thank you for your business and I hope that we can serve you again!

Respectfully,

Miguel Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice enough Hampton in a good location, however there is no escaping the endless train noise from freightliners running all night long. It was so bad we had to check out a day early and for this reason we cannot recommend this property whatsoever.

If you are a heavy sleeper and/or can live with the noise, it's an otherwise decent Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the_savman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear "the_savman", I am really sorry that despite the implementation of the 24 hour "quiet zone" in our area the noise from the train line being so close to the hotel was too much for you. I can appreciate your decision not to stay with us again for this reason, but if you ever change your opinion I would be happy to help you with reservations.

Respectfully,

Miguel Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lovely hotel right next to a train crossing on every side!! The crossing bell rings every 10 mins. like the train on My Cousin Vinny. It is extremely loud! Im here on a business trip and am frankly too lazy to move hotels for my 3 night stay but if you are looking for a vacation hotel, beware of the train lines. Hotel windows seem to face windows on all side so dont expect a view. Too bad because it is a clean and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crystal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear "Crystal T" I am really sorry to hear about your experience at the hotel. As you probably saw when you reviewed the hotel train noise has been our top complaint over quite some time. I appreciate your business and your review.

If I can ever be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at 619-233-8408 x 4905.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel staff, the hotel, breakfast, etc., were all fine and well up to Hampton Inn standards. Clean, convenient to the airport and cruise terminal, with free shuttles to both.
However - we will never stay there again. We hardly got any sleep. The noise from the commuter train crossing bells and construction next door was horrible. Before dinner, we heard the noise but thought it would be okay. I should have realized that the ear plugs left on the night stand were a bad sign! Once we were in bed, oh my. I hardly slept at all. If we hadn't realized so late in the evening that it was going to be a problem, we would have asked to change rooms. As it was, we didn't complain - so I can't say whether they would have been accommodating and helpful or not.
Can't fault them for that which is why I'm still giving them three stars.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask about the noise in the rooms and the RR Crossing.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear "kristd" I am really sorry that even after the quiet zone ordinance has taken effect we still have guests not be able to enjoy our property as much due to the noise from the crossing guards, At least we know the construction will cease at some point but the crossing guards will probably still affect us for yeas to come.

I know that you indicate here that you would not stay here again, but should you ever reconsider and have a lodging need in the area, I would appreciate a chance to serve you again, perhaps in a room away from the back.

Respectfully,
Miguel Rojas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#68 of 278 in San Diego
658 reviews
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#173 of 278 in San Diego
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown

Address: 1531 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92101-2413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $148 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of the Embarcadero San Diego downtown, the award-winning Hampton Inn San Diego-Downtown hotel represents the best in California hospitality. We're a 177 guest room hotel dedicated to providing the finest level of hotel comfort. Experience fun and adventure as you sail around the cruise terminal. Savor delicious Italian food in Little Italy and the Gaslamp District. Get close to wildlife at SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo. Catch a big league game at nearby Petco Park and Qualcomm Stadium. The possibilities are endless when you visit our friendly hotel in downtown San Diego, CA. We're conveniently located just off of I-5 - only a mile from San Diego Airport and the San Diego Convention Center. Two blocks from the beauty of the San Diego Bay, we're less than half a mile from the cruise terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing