We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown
Ranked #67 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, friendly staff”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights recently. Hotel is approx 20-30 mins walk to Gaslamp Quarter but overlooking the bay opposite the maritime museum (a lovely sail boat). Rooms are clean and well maintained with coffee making facilities and daily maid service. Continental breakfast was included as was a shuttle service to the airport. Staff extremely friendly and willing to help out. Nice pool and mini gym. Would definitely recommend to others. Would be even better if it had a bar!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvilHomerBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    505
    235
    118
    70
See reviews for
389
352
108
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I didnt like the bathroom i had it was just a shower with no tub and the water went everywhere making it very dangerous to walk around in there after my shower. It also had a smell of ammonia, very strong. staff was nice but the noise from train was just to much.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Overall, a great experience. There is a free breakfast daily and a free airport shuttle. The rooms (beds, bathrooms) are spotless. The bed is comfy. I have no complaints. Plenty of towels and pillows. Friendly staff. The USS Midway is practically across the street.
Yes, the trolley runs behind the hotel... But, hello!!! You are traveling to downtown San Diego. This is part of the experience. I slept like a baby. If you are traveling to a city, you are gonna here noise. I think the people who are complaining about the trolley should vacation in a cornfield next time.
I used the fitness center and the pool daily and I was happy with both.
The hotel is in the middle of Little Italy. Awesome food! We used the trolley to go everywhere and loved it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheresaFreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Yes we are so close to the ocean, but didn't get at least a decent view. We got the dumpster view with pooping pigeons to go with it. Haha. Anyways, it doesn't matter because most of the time are spent outside. Located near Little Italy, next to the train which is super convenient, walking distance to the beach, but a bit of the walking to the Gaslamp District if you're willing to walk a lot to explore.

The train isn't that noisy for us, comfortable beds, and pretty good, free breakfast (the one where you wait to make your waffles).

Room Tip: Location. If you are going to spend a lot/most of your time in the Gaslamp district (i.e. eating, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLSoCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Arrived just in time for the biggest power outage they have ever had in SD, the staff were great, very helpful. They made sure we were safe and looked after, took us to our rooms using flashlights as there was absolutely no power. The location is good, opposite the Maritime museum with the tall ships, but it is very close to the Amtrack tracks. If possible get a room at the front (over looking the Pacific Coast Highway) and all will be well. Breakfast was hearty, hot and tasty, well worth the visit. Can't praise the staff enough for their organisation during the blackout, Well Done!

Room Tip: Front of the hotel is far and away the better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Hampton Inn has the ideal location right next to the harbor and easy access to San Diego's historic museums, shopping centers, and only a few blocks from Little Italy! The staff is incredibly friendsly and the beds were sent from heaven.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boyerja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The Hampton Inn - Downtown in San Diego is an excellent value. The hotel is conveniently located close to the waterfront (great view of the sunset), and only a few blocks from the Little Italy restaurants. The rooms are spacious, clean and well cared for. All staff are friendly and helpful, but Jennifer and her male colleague on the front desk treated us like we were special guests. They took care of our special room request and gave us advice about sightseeing and dining. Breakfast is included with the price, and the selections were varied each day. A free shuttle was available to take us to Balboa Park, the Sand Diego Zoo and to shopping in the Gaslamp area. Yes, the commuter train track is right behind the hotel, but we always travel with a "white noise" machine, and slept without any problem. The hotel is located on the Pacific Highway - a major thoroughfare, so there is some traffic noise and sirens at times. All hotels in the area would have the same situation (train noise and sirens). A great place to stay, with superb service!

Room Tip: If available, ask for an oceanview room - great view and minimal noise from the train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Semi-retiredOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown
Address: 1531 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92101-2413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of the Embarcadero San Diego downtown, the award-winning Hampton Inn San Diego-Downtown hotel represents the best in California hospitality. We're a 177 guest room hotel dedicated to providing the finest level of hotel comfort. Experience fun and adventure as you sail around the cruise terminal. Savor delicious Italian food in Little Italy and the Gaslamp District. Get close to wildlife at SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo. Catch a big league game at nearby Petco Park and Qualcomm Stadium. The possibilities are endless when you visit our friendly hotel in downtown San Diego, CA. We're conveniently located just off of I-5 - only a mile from San Diego Airport and the San Diego Convention Center. Two blocks from the beauty of the San Diego Bay, we're less than half a mile from the cruise terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing