We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff/Good on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle
Ranked #238 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I came on Labor Day Weekend. All of the rooms were booked, so it was a little bit noisy, but nothing too bad. The staff was great. The room was fine in my opinion, nothing outstanding. Everything was clean and tidy. I thought the pillows had a funny smell, but it could've just been in my head. My only complaint was the "breakfast". It was more like little snacks to get you through the morning until you can go get breakfast. However, it was free, so what do I expect? It was also a nice distance away from the beach and downtown. Overall, I think it was a nice stay for the price.I would definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20BridgetP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Hi there,

Thank you for posting such a great review! We are pleased we were able to provide you with a tidy and comfortable room during your stay here in San Diego. It would be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 218 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

We came out in a large group to celebrate Vanessa's bachelorette weekend it was perfect for us super roomy and very clean rooms. Staff was excellent in helping us get checked in and very helpful on were to go around the hotel as well as taxi services out in that area. Every time we came down to the lobby they asked how everything was and if we needed anything which you don't get now a days.

Jesse, Quincy and Chane you guys are the best Thanks for all your help!!

Will definitely be back and will recommend anyone who goes to the san Diego Area to go to the EXTENDED STAY!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lashawn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Leshawn - Thank you so much for your positive feedback of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your time here while visiting San Diego. It's always a pleasure to hear about our team ensuring a great stay for our guests.

The staff and I truly enjoyed having you stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The staff was nice some more than others. The bed had visible stains on it. The comforter on bed was filthy as if they just reused the same comforter for the next person and never changed and washed them.
Some of the towels were still dirty with human hairs still on them and stains! Very nasty

Room Tip: Make sure it's non smoking and on top floor or you will hear people above you make every step
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel was a good fit for us since we were able to save a lot of money in our four days by using the kitchen instead of needing to eat out every night. The hotel staff was also really helpful and friendly. While the hotel was a great fit for us, it is not a traditional hotel in some regards because it does not offer full service.

PROS
Room was very clean
Helpful Staff
Breakfast super convenient for snacks and coffee
Spacious/Comfy
Excellent location
Reasonable price for location
Easy to obtain fresh toiletries and towels at front desk

CONS
No maid service for shorter stays (we didn't need, but others may miss this)
Grab-and-go breakfast is not very filling and limited choices (fruit, mini-muffin, granola bar, coffee, tea, oatmeal) We mixed the fruit in the oatmeal and took the granola bars on trips
Room was fine, but elevator smelled a little like smoke on first night

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmiSpade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Ami - Thank you for posting such an awesome review. The staff and I are happy to know that our hotel was a good fit for you during your stay in San Diego! We are so glad that you found all of the amenities we had to offer to be enjoyable, and will keep your feedback in mind as we continue to make improvements to our offerings in the future.

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

First the positives, the hotel front desk and staff were excellent. The coffee kiosk was great to have in the morning as the coffee maker in the room was broken. We checked in for a five night stay as we were moving our daughter from San Diego to San Luis Obispo. After getting in late we were given a wheel chair assessable room. There was no counter space in the bathroom to put anything on. Ended up turning a travel crate upside down so I had a counter for toiliteries. Bed was very uncomfortable the queen was more like a double. Sheets were worn and old.. The hotel has no outdoor space to enjoy. Many people sat in front of the hotel to smoke and hang out. They do not provide anything additional in the room other than soap. Kitchen had two spoons, two knifes and was ill equiped for a five night stay. One morning there was no hot water and did not have any until the next day. When hotel staff was contacted for towels and for the missing iron from our room, they were very responsive. Perhaps other rooms in the hotel were a bit better. Ours was not.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nutgka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My family and I planned a trip to San Diego about a month in advance. At that point there were few hotels with availability in our price range (was looking to spend about $175 a night for 3 nights). Based on availability and reviews we chose this hotel. It was an average experience. The hotel looked nice, rooms were what I expected, but the problem was the room smelled horrible (smoke & vomit combo?). I didn't bother complaining since I knew they and all other nearby hotels were booked to capacity and we were going to spend all of our days out at local amusement parks (seaworld, zoo, legoland). I opened the windows, sprayed perfume and kept fan & vent running continously, but the smell lingered. However our friends had a room down the hall that did not smell, but it may have been that she sprayed the room with Lysol to disinfect and air fresher, lol. I will be sure to pack those next time I visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Hi there,

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations of the property. I met with the staff, and we will cover room standards to ensure that the experience with smells in your room is not repeated. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. I hope that you will contact me directly, at shc@extendedstay.com, should you wish to discuss this further. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Room was clean and we were on the 3rd floor, so it was quiet. Staff was friendly. Glad I brought my own shampoo since it wasn't provided. We thought we would be using the kitchen, but ended up never using it, not even the coffee maker. Breakfast was grab & go - fruits and individually wrapped muffins and breakfast bars. We had dinner at the near-by Gorden Biersh brewery, which I highly recommend. Location was very convenient, easy access to the freeway and 10 minutes away from downtown. Would have liked thicker towels for the bathroom and had to remember there was no daily maid service. Other than that, we were very pleased with the hotel and the price. Definitely would stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarciaMarciaMarcia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Marcia - Thank you for posting such a glowing review. I truly appreciate your comments regarding the enjoyable stay you had with us. As well, I am so glad that the staff was friendly to you during your visit and that you enjoyed our grab-and-go breakfast.

Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Fashion Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#177 of 278 in San Diego
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#162 of 278 in San Diego
191 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#143 of 278 in San Diego
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle

Address: 2087 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $98 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking Fees: 1-6 nights: $15/day 7 + nights: $5/day Electric Car Charging Station Available Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America San Diego
San Diego Extended Stay
Extended Stay San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing