We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Central
Ranked #11 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This will be fast and simple. The check-in was cold and uninviting. I was not acknowledge as being a Marriott Member. WiFi was terrible. $15 for breakfast. Understaffed, dinner service was very slow. Noisy, I was on the north side of the property. As a back-up, I asked for a 5:00 am wake up call and I never received it. The pool was nice. I will look at other Hotels in the area when I return in a few weeks.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TYOTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your observations. I apologize that we let you down across the board. It is very disappointing that we did not come thru for you.

Please let me know if I can be of any personal assistance now or in the future.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    171
    38
    11
    17
See reviews for
132
68
21
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I enjoy staying here as the staff are very friendly and the accommodations are great. Always will to help you with whatever you need. Hats off to Don the bartender!! Front desk staff knows me by name.

Room Tip: Good value for the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
It is great to have you as part of our extended family. Glad that our team makes you feel welcome; especially Don of course, he is such a great ambassador for our hotel.

Thank you for your patronage and for reviewing our hotel.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Your typical Courtyard, this hotel has a nice pool, a small Starbucks at the bar in the lobby, and a pretty decent breakfast. When traveling on business, it is a perfectly lovely choice - and much, much newer than most of the other hotel choices in the Kearny Mesa area.

Room Tip: West side (front of hotel) is closest to the 163 highway, so stay on the East side if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prkittysd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We like to see ourselves as the "top dog" in the area. One thing that is not typical for a Courtyard hotels is that we serve lunch in our restaurant Monday-Friday. Most Courtyard hotels only serve breakfast and dinner.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel by itself is wonderful...good rooms and a great outdoor seating area with a fireplace....the guy at the bar was great as well, made the evening nice....

Only complaint I would have is the front desk staff, who was stiff and curt. It took him a lot of time to check me in....and after waiting for sometime till he was done...all that I got from him was "sorry" that too a cold one...gave me a feeling he was doing me a favour by letting me stay at the hotel...the room airconditivwas not working...his response was that he will send an engineer and he couldn't do anything as there were no more rooms left...altogether a nasty feeling with the front desk..,,,

Otherwise the hotel is great to stay....

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gopalvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad that you got to witness many great features and service attributes. I am very sorry that the situation at the front desk tainted an otherwise pleasant stay. We will definitely follow-up with our team as this is not the way we want to communicate with our guests.

Please contact me if I can be of any assistance now or in the future.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was an amazing experience! The room felt so new, up to date and clean (happy for no flower print). The staff was fast, caring, and friendly. Pool area was spectacular. Will definitely be staying with Marriott again in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellehardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the look of the hotel and the nice pool area. To top it off, I am proud that our team made a great impression on you as well.

I am very happy that we gained a new fan and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed at the Courtyard Marriott for a short business trip and was pleased with the accommodations. The room was spacious and nice, as was the gym and pool. They have a nice little bar downstairs by the lobby with Stone IPA on tap. The service and food at their restaurant were also commendable. My only complaint would be the dirty elevtator - there was debris on the floor the entire time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Stone Breweries has become one of the most popular breweries in the San Diego. They just opened a 2nd location and we are very fortunate to carry some of their product. Glad you enjoyed our hospitality. Thank you also for pointing out some improvement opportunities in the elevator. This is definitely something we must do better.

Hope to welcome you back whenever your travels take you to San Diego.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Ask my family, friends and colleagues -- I'm an extremely difficult chap to please. But I must admit -- my recent experience at the Marriott Courtyard San Diego Central was truly excellent. From my initial contact with the GM (Mr. Oswald) to staff at the front desk -- I received terrific customer service throughout my stay (which hasn't always been the case with the hotel industry). The accommodations were safe, clean and comfortable. And the location was absolutely perfect. I would stay there without hesitation -- the property and staff were that good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. It is very gratifying that we met your high expectations. We like to live up the challenges thrown our way.

Can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
9.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
8.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
8.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch
7.9 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
7.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Central

Property: Courtyard San Diego Central
Address: 8651 Spectrum Center Blvd, San Diego, CA 92123-1489
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#37 Family Hotel in San Diego
#42 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Central 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Diego Central Hotel San Diego
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing