We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard San Diego Central

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Courtyard San Diego Central
Ranked #17 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Yuma, AZ
Level Contributor
103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The front desk was friendly. The room was clean. The bed was comfortable. The A/C fan stayed on continuously so I slept well. Even though there was a soccer team staying at the hotel it wasn't noisy. It was quiet. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant and it was good. My husband had the buffet. It was $14.50 and had toast, waffles, omelet station, fried potatoes, eggs, bacon, sausage, juice, fruit. I had the American breakfast for $10.50. It had eggs, bacon or sausage, toast, fried potatoes, fruit, juice or coffee. In the room I was surprised there were several small stains on the carpet and there was white stuff flaking off the bathtub floor. Overall we were pleased with our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Treeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for pointing out the many good things you experienced about our hotel and I appreciate your recommendation. I also want to thank you for some improvement opportunities that we will certainly follow-up on.

Based on your many reviews for San Diego, looks like you are visiting quite frequently. Certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    168
    38
    11
    17
See reviews for
131
65
20
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I recently had a corporate event at this facility and the entire experience was wonderful. We had some unique requests and Nicole made sure everything was taken care of prior to the event occuring. On the day of the event, we were assisted by Pablo and Cesar from the Banquet team and they were equally fantastic and attentive. The reason I am writing this review is for the simple fact that I received a level of service that I don't normally get when working with some of the larger "resort-style" competitors. Great job!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 126Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for recognizing our strong catering and banquets team. They work well together and try their best to service any event with excellence. We like our chances against our larger competitors as we truly have the ability to focus on the needs of each individual customer without the risk of getting lost in the shuffle.

We are always up for those unique requests. Certainly keeps it interesting.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

very nice property; great modern rooms, lots of convenient electrical outlets, strong wifi signal. Very good hot breakfast. convenient to highway but not affected by traffic noise. night deskman a little overworked checking people in and answering the phones. good parking. Lobby bar looks nice but haven't had a chance to sample the food/drinks (yet). I chose to stay at this property (versus downtown) as it is close to my visit location and am not disappointed by the selection.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregcaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for pointing out the many things that made a positive difference during your stay. Hope you will be able to check out our bar soon as we will not disappoint. Nice setting with personalized service.

Hope you had a successful visit and please see us again.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullowhee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our stay at the hotel was very good. Dining room staff was pleasant, very helpful and they worked together. All employees were friendly and spoke as they passed in the hallways. Great place to stay and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NAD891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Teamwork in our dining room is exemplary. No wonder they receive the best service scores out of all departments. I am very proud that the rest of the team impressed you as well.

Can't wait to welcome you back.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We hosted a conference at the Courtyard San Diego Central and the experience was AWESOME!! Nicole, the Catering Manager was phenomenal. She answered all my questions and guided me through the entire process. We are a very demanding group - Nicole never batted an eye at our requests. She just made it happen. NICOLE is a jewel!!!

The food was delicious! Pablo and the wait staff took excellent care of my guest. They pampered the woman at the conference and every request was met with a "I can do that" attitude. The hotel rooms are beautiful and spacious. Emery was at the front desk. He made the registration process a joy. I cannot wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind compliments. We are very proud to have each and every associate you mentioned on our team. They are experts in their fields and will be very humbled by your recognition.

We can't wait to welcome you back as well.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga
Level Contributor
158 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We were booked for a king corner suite. When we got to the hotel our room was unavailable. The staff was very apologetic and the manager made it up to us by comping one night.
The hotel was beautiful. The rooms were kept very clean. The pool and fitness center were really nice. The buffet breakfast was great. The have a waffle and omelet bar. The location was great. It only took us 10 minutes to get to sea world and 30 to the wild animal park.
This is a wonderful hotel and we will definitely stay there again even after our little issue.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hulagirl926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
My apologies about a rocky start, but I am very pleased that it improved from then on. I am happy to hear that our team took the right steps and stood up to our promise of taking care of our guests, especially when we make mistakes.

Your promise of staying with us again means a lot. Thank you for your generosity and understanding.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampden, Maine, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Had an amazing stay at the Courtyard in April 2013. The staff was especially impressive being both accommodating and friendly. The recent renovation really sets the hotel apart and the outside fireplace is an awesome touch. Overall the property was clean and well maintained and the breakfast buffet was very nice. Highly recommended property!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMahrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
That fireplace is great, isn't it? It also helps that the bar is just steps away. Many thanks for the many compliments and I am very happy that we made such a great impression on you.

Hope to see you again whenever your travels take you to San Diego.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#16 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Central

Property: Courtyard San Diego Central
Address: 8651 Spectrum Center Blvd, San Diego, CA 92123-1489
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#37 Family Hotel in San Diego
#42 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Central 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Diego Central Hotel San Diego
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing