We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Central
Ranked #17 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Recently we were guest at the Merriott Courtyard San Diego Central. While there, we celebrated our anniversary. When we returned to our room, Desiree and her staff had a beautiful cheese & fruit try with a bottle of wine waiting for us. Such a thoughtful thing to do. We have always been faithful Marriott guest and you can see why. Love all of their hotels and especially Courtyard San Diego Central. Can't wait to come back and visit. Thanks for everything. The Zeckers'

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Happy belated Anniversary and thank you for spending this special occasion with us. I am very proud that Desiree took the initiative to pleasantly surprise you.

Many thanks for your loyalty to Marriott and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard San Diego Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 657 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our first impression of the hotel was that it was located in a business park. There was also very little parking near the hotel entry. Our room was clean and had comfortable beds, however the sink counter was very small and it was difficult to place our toiletries on the counter. There was a fan in the bathroom that ran al night so we closed the door and tried not to hear it. The was very little noise from any adjoining room and we were located on the 4th floor so we didn't have anyone above us. We came back to the hotel one evening and had to park in the back of the hotel. We entered the hotel with our hotel key but we could only enter into a hallway and not the main lobby. We were going to take the elevators, but our earlier experience was that they were very slow. The individual at the front desk could have been more helpful as we wanted to go downtown for dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerLaMirada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for your feed-back. I just wanted to add some more information to clarify your comments:

- The hotel is surrounded by parking and all 4 sides of the hotel have at least one entrance (a total of 6 entrances to be exact)
- You are correct that the non-main entrances lead into a hallway, but all hallways lead directly into the lobby

We will certainly work on the controllable suggestions you pointed out. I am just as disappointed as you that our front desk team did not live up to our expectations. My apologies about this shortcoming.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place is great. Don seems to do it all and doesn't miss a beat. Not only does he mix a great drink but he also provides great entertaining conversation. The service is terrific and Don and Roza took great care of us. We will be back for a visit very soon !!! Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dk124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you very much for commending two of our great associates. Very happy to hear that they took great care of your needs. It does not get any better than this.

Thank you for staying with us and looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Everyone I encountered, from the front desk to housekeeping to the shuttle drivers went out of their way to accomodate my needs and make me feel at home (away from home). I have not seen such positive attitudes and desire to make people (their guests) happy in a long time. They ran their shuttle after hours for me. I had a very old Marriott gift card with a less than $2 on it. When I found out it couldn't be read in their system, I said to just forget it, no big deal. They gave me the bag of microwave popcorn I was trying to purchase for free!

I would stay here on a vacation trip, not just business!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

What a great story that illustrates the genuine kindness our associates are able to display. Many thanks for sharing and I am very proud that our team made such a great impression on you.

Please see us again soon.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for the past 7 years for a volleyball tournament we come to every year! They have continually become better and better at providing for our needs. They have become family and we have continually become closer to the amazing staff! We recommend this hotel to all the other teams that we see from this tournament and will continue to stay here for our annual trip!

Room Tip: If you are going for business then try the room that has a tv and large conference table, or if you...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Many thanks for your longstanding loyalty. We are very proud to have hosted your team. It is only with your help that we have been able to fine-tune our service to your needs.

Your compliments are very kind and we can't wait to welcome you back next year.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Our team stayed here for a football passing league at SDSU. The hotel staff worked with us to accommodate our early departure and fed everyone breakfast before the dining room opened. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. Everything was perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CA_carolj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

I am very pleased that our team worked with your special needs. Thank you for the kind feed-back and I hope that the event was a great success and fun.

Please see us again, especially considering that you are not too far away.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed at the Courtyard while on a business trip in the San Diego area and it was an excellent stay. From check-in to check-out the staff was exceptional. I stay at a lot of Marriott properties while on business and wish the other Marriott hotels could take a lessen from the staff here. The hotel was nice and the bed was very comfortable. The food at breakfast and dinner was great, but there is a fee unless you book the room at a rate which has breakfast included. I highly recommend anybody looking for a great hotel in the San Diego central area stay at this Courtyard.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GermanyTwinsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your generous recommendation. This means a lot from somebody that travels as much and has reviewed quite a number of hotels. I am very proud that our team sets us apart and that you also enjoyed the physical attributes of our hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Central

Address: 8651 Spectrum Center Blvd, San Diego, CA 92123-1489
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in San Diego
#42 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $150 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Central 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Diego Central Hotel San Diego
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing