We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Central
Ranked #21 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Staff!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I travel often for work and the staff at the Courtyard San Diego Central is the best I've ever seen. From the front desk to your morning Barista to room service attendant the staff at this hotel are truly kind, friendly and happy people. You can really tell they enjoy what they do and they make being away from home so much easier on the business traveler.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdaffner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
I am very happy that so many of our associates made a positive difference during your stay. Being on the road a lot is not as much fun as it sounds and having an inviting base station can make all the difference.

Thank you for staying with us and we will continue to take good care of your needs.

Juergen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    175
    39
    11
    18
See reviews for
146
70
21
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was greeted at the front desk and they had me set with my room within a few minutes-nice! In the morning I stopped by the coffee bar to grab some juice to go, I didn't see the what I wanted so Laura asked me if she could help. She ran to the back and produced a case of what I was looking for-awesome! The next morning she was again very helpful in getting me what I needed to get out the door.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeyLikesIt_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for recognizing our efforts to take great care of our guests. I am pleased that our team was eager to make you feel welcome and important. It is very kind that you singled out Laura; she can definitely make even the dreariest days better.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Juergen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Standard Courtyard. But somehow just did not feel good staying here.
When driving up there are signs everywhere about NO HOTEL PARKING. Just puts you off when arriving in the dark and on the wrong side for parking - appeared all parking was NO HOTEL at first.Check-in was fast (a little rushed) but I like not standing around.
Went and worked out in the Gym. Small with a few pieces of equipment. Had to use the bathroom and walk all the way around to the front (Gym is in the very back). Not well designed. Pool was open, but hot tub was taped off.
In the morning, tried to get breakfast. No one was there to help. Helped myself to the buffet (not). A long line to get any hot food cooked to order by the chefs. After 5 minutes without anyone helping, I walked out. Subway is up the street and no waiting, at a much better price.
The hotel is okay, I just didn't feel welcome or valued. This was a convenient location, but I will stay elsewhere next visit. Definately no love lost here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bstrvl55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
It is a shame that we did not come thru for you. I am very sorry that your expectations of a welcoming environment were not met.

It does not help that you took the entrance to the neighboring business when you first arrived - hence the No Hotel Parking signs. I am a little puzzled about the gym experience. It is located adjacent to the lobby in the center of the hotel and the bathrooms are actually right next to it.

It is disappointing that you arrived during a busy breakfast time and were not properly seated with the introduction to our buffet or the various items on our a la carte menu.

You are absolutely correct that we have a convenient location and I really would like to make it up to you. Please reach out to me the next time you are in the area and we will make it extra special for you.

Thank you for sharing.

Juergen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have been treated very well here on our 33rd aniversary today Valentines Day . Desiree and Larry hosted us and really went over the top with their service and making us feel special. We would stay here again. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Congratulations on your milestone anniversary on this very special day and thank you for spending it with us. I am very proud that Desiree and Larry went out of their way to make it super memorable.

We would be very honored to have you return at least annually.

Juergen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our soccer team planned to stay at this hotel, but our tournament was postponed due to rain. We were notified of the postponement late Friday afternoon, past the normal point where we could cancel our reservations. Ty Smith went out of his way to ensure our team was not charged for Friday night. A great customer service experience like this will motivate us to continue staying at Marriott hotels.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 65BetsyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Even though you were not able to enjoy our hotel this time around, I am glad that you could still experience our hospitality even though it was not under the best of circumstances.

I am pleased that Ty was a great ambassador and thank you for considering our hotels for all of your travel needs and especially ours whenever you come to San Diego.

Juergen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I began staying at the hotel on business in Dec, and this location has since been my home away from home. LaToya, Emory and the rest of the front desk staff ensures that I have everything I need. From the same room week to week, to Larry and the other members of the kitchen staff, who greets me with 2 cups in the morning for my orange juice. Overall the hotel is aesthetically pleasing from the dining room, to the common lounging area to the fire pit outside by the pool. Everyone at this hotel are always so accommodating, even when we drive them a little crazy from partying too hard :-) I will most likely always stay here at this location, even if I'm NOT here on business.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sareena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Welcome to our family of regulars! Your review is a perfect example of why we have so many returning guests. Besides the great set-up, it's our people that make it extra special.

Thank you for making us your home base and it's our pleasure taking good care of you week after week.

Juergen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I'm the manager of a youth soccer team and was looking for a hotel that could be relaxing for our team and their families in the evening. The Courtyard was perfect. The pool was warm and large enough for the kids to play football in. And the pool patio was large enough for the parents to gather around, eat, and play cards.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoccerCentralCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
You are certainly describing a perfect stay. Thank you for painting such a good picture. We are very proud to have hosted your team and I hope you had a successful tournament. We enjoy having athletes from youth to college representing a myriad of sports.

We just hosted a hockey team this past weekend and organized a fun pizza party on our patio. I am glad that you also were able to take it all in.

Looking forward to being of service again in the near future.

Juergen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#30 of 278 in San Diego
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Central

Property: Courtyard San Diego Central
Address: 8651 Spectrum Center Blvd, San Diego, CA 92123-1489
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#37 Family Hotel in San Diego
#42 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Central 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Diego Central Hotel San Diego
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing