We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Central
Ranked #23 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
“nice stay”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have been treated very well here on our 33rd aniversary today Valentines Day . Desiree and Larry hosted us and really went over the top with their service and making us feel special. We would stay here again. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Congratulations on your milestone anniversary on this very special day and thank you for spending it with us. I am very proud that Desiree and Larry went out of their way to make it super memorable.

We would be very honored to have you return at least annually.

Juergen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    175
    39
    11
    18
See reviews for
146
70
21
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our soccer team planned to stay at this hotel, but our tournament was postponed due to rain. We were notified of the postponement late Friday afternoon, past the normal point where we could cancel our reservations. Ty Smith went out of his way to ensure our team was not charged for Friday night. A great customer service experience like this will motivate us to continue staying at Marriott hotels.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 65BetsyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Even though you were not able to enjoy our hotel this time around, I am glad that you could still experience our hospitality even though it was not under the best of circumstances.

I am pleased that Ty was a great ambassador and thank you for considering our hotels for all of your travel needs and especially ours whenever you come to San Diego.

Juergen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I began staying at the hotel on business in Dec, and this location has since been my home away from home. LaToya, Emory and the rest of the front desk staff ensures that I have everything I need. From the same room week to week, to Larry and the other members of the kitchen staff, who greets me with 2 cups in the morning for my orange juice. Overall the hotel is aesthetically pleasing from the dining room, to the common lounging area to the fire pit outside by the pool. Everyone at this hotel are always so accommodating, even when we drive them a little crazy from partying too hard :-) I will most likely always stay here at this location, even if I'm NOT here on business.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sareena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Welcome to our family of regulars! Your review is a perfect example of why we have so many returning guests. Besides the great set-up, it's our people that make it extra special.

Thank you for making us your home base and it's our pleasure taking good care of you week after week.

Juergen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I'm the manager of a youth soccer team and was looking for a hotel that could be relaxing for our team and their families in the evening. The Courtyard was perfect. The pool was warm and large enough for the kids to play football in. And the pool patio was large enough for the parents to gather around, eat, and play cards.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoccerCentralCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
You are certainly describing a perfect stay. Thank you for painting such a good picture. We are very proud to have hosted your team and I hope you had a successful tournament. We enjoy having athletes from youth to college representing a myriad of sports.

We just hosted a hockey team this past weekend and organized a fun pizza party on our patio. I am glad that you also were able to take it all in.

Looking forward to being of service again in the near future.

Juergen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I have good things, and not so good things to say about my stay this time.
Lets start with the good.
Racheal(sp) f.d. Efficient and was able to accomodate all my requests and needs
Emory always a pleasure
Joe thank you for helping me get those faxes in and out

Don keep pouring those drinks just right.... Some like it light, some like it heavy)
Meagan thank you for being wonderful both as a waitress and a cover at the bar
Patti keep your smile
I see the effect it has on clients/patrons...

However tell management to get a black book for the bar... Seems when the main bartender goes on break... thats when people want the complex drinks



My main issues were with other guests and the other is with how the staff handled it.

I was kept up most of the night by a drunk, rude, beligerant noisy neighbor.
I called at 1030, 1115 and 12 mid.... Imho it shouldnt have taken 3 calls to rectify this...
Well it didnt..... It took 5!!!!!

They finally shut up at 130 am!!!!

Then theres the noise from the patio speakers... Quiet hour starts at ten... Speakers were not turned off til 11
Next issue was with maintenance....

They need to treat the drains more often...
The glasses stunk, my shower stunk, my sink stunk...
However DO NOT USE CHEMICALS IN CLIENTELE PRESENCE
FLUSH\TREAT when people are not around and when glasses/plates are in splash zone!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineSCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for talking to Max and I this past Monday the 11th after you published your review. I appreciate you sharing the many good things and the areas we have to work on. We will put a standard in place to turn off the exterior music by 10pm until 9am. We will also train our bar team to ensure continuous smooth service during shift changes or while covering for breaks. Lastly, we will definitely work with our maintenance team to have a proper process in place when having to handle not so pleasant projects.

I appreciate your patronage all of these years and look forward to continuously serve as your favorite San Diego hotel.

Juergen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our softball team was just in town, staying at this hotel. Great hotel to stay at! Due to rain, the tournament had to be cancelled. Employees Ty Smith and Janel Shigenaka went out of their way to ensure our team was not charged early cancellation fees. I can't tell you what a joy it was working with these two. 5 star customer service above and beyond anything we could have asked for. We will definitely be staying at this hotel again! It's people like this that motivate us to keep staying at Marriott hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLudl0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Rain in San Diego, what's up with that? I should not be joking as you were certainly looking forward to the tournament. I am glad that our team took these special circumstances into consideration and did the right thing.

Thank you for recognizing their effort and we can't wait until the next tournament.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel every day, as food was very good and service excellent. After touring San Diego all day, we were happy to be able to have a drink and casual dinner in their bar/lounge at night. Kim, Pattie and Don were always available to make us feel comfortable over our drink and dinner. Ramone was our breakfast waiter and most accommodating. Pam, head of food service, was also there with helpful information. The front desk staff were most helpful in providing information on sites we wanted to visit and roads we had to use. We will definitely stay in this Courtyard if we visit San Diego again.

Room Tip: we liked being on the first floor for convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenOswald_11, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Central, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you very much for keeping us busy in our restaurant and bar. I am very proud that you enjoyed the quality of our food and beverages in addition to the excellent service we strive to provide.

I am glad that you enjoyed your vacation in our city and can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Jürgen Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#31 of 278 in San Diego
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Central

Property: Courtyard San Diego Central
Address: 8651 Spectrum Center Blvd, San Diego, CA 92123-1489
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#37 Family Hotel in San Diego
#42 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Central 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Diego Central Hotel San Diego
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing