We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Central
Ranked #18 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed here on the Saturday night before the AFC half marathon in August 2011.

Great service from the staff, everyone was so friendly and helpful. Room was clean and modern as was the hotel itself. Actually really liked the bath products they provided. Room had a nice couch and working area, flat screen TV, and fairly comfy bed. Note to ladies: the hair dryer is in the closet. Took me a minute to find it.

Bar and lounge area was nice -- our group hung out for a bit and had drinks and watched baseball on the TVs in the lounge at night. We spent the afternoon at the pool resting up for the race. Pool was a decent size and there was a huge fireplace and outdoor seating if you want to have drinks out there at night. The bar had fruit infused water (cucumber and orange) in large pitchers which was refreshing while we were at the pool. They also have free coffee at the bar 24/7.

They provided a free shuttle to the race and a to-go breakfast for the runners. They also had a pasta dinner the night before for $10 which was decent and convenient. Would most definitely stay here again next year. Location is great, with easy access to multiple freeways. Parking was plentiful even though they were at capacity because of the race and some other event that was happening. And we got a really great price being part of the race as well. Glad we chose this spot!

Foodie note: there's a really yummy Mexican food spot called Gallegos #2 in a little plaza about a mile down the street. Amazing breakfast burritos and tacos!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AGinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 601 of 677 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2011

I would have ranked this hotel higher than 3 overall normally. Positives: location is great, facility is dated but clean, and staff seemed-responsive overall. Negatives: dated, any kind of food is over priced, and they don't have a 24 HR front desk. I walked out to my car without my room key and walked around the building to the front desk around 2 am. No front desk, rang the buzzer multiple times, then used my cell to call my wife and she came down and let me in. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sbain76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

This is a great property! Beautiful and comfortable rooms, free parking and ample space, on site dining, workout and pool facilities, etc. My only complaint is that I wasn't impressed with dining options near the hotel. Be prepared to drive to any attractions, shopping, or dining. I did find the onsite dining to be good and priced reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srjuris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

If you blink flying by Hwy 163 you would miss this place, as it is hidden amongst office buildings, but it is worth checking it out. The prices are good for the area, and you are right in the middle of inexpensive shopping and dining, and not too far from Downtown San Diego itself (about 10 miles-7 to Old Town) The inside is very business like but also pleasant, the rooms are good sized and only a few face the freeway. The staff was friendly but I felt the food prices were kind of high. I will back to this location again.

Room Tip: Ask for an inter courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heumanntouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel 21 nights in 7 different rooms in the last year. We've been working with a company in the area. Somehow I've never found the time to write a review but we reached several milestones and our frequent stays are coming to an end.

Of about six hotels we've stayed at during the last year, this is probably my favorite hotel in the area. The highlights are:

- Beds: As in all Courtyards I find myself getting great sleep (after the first night where I never seem to sleep well away from home).
- Pool: An Olympic outdoor pool. It's heated (I hope they use waste heat from some other hotel mechanicals because it probably would cost a fortune with electricity or gas), It's clean, It's almost always empty. Next to it is a spa which I've always been happy with. he spa has the usual chlorine levels but a quick swim after loosening up the muscles fixes that.
- Workout room: clean, large in size and well equipped (never have had to wait for equipment during my 6:00 workouts)
- Lobby: comfortable places to sit and meet up with your colleagues, clean restrooms, easy access to lounge, dining, and conference areas. Complementary coffee in the morning is pretty good.
- Managers Special: (drum roll) Wednesday at 5:00 PM there is a managers special. They bring out a dozen or so bottles of wine and three or so cases of beer. Also they bring out appetizers (this last week it was BBQ meatballs and a great vegetable tray and then calamari when the meatballs ran out). Max the GM wanders about chatting with the clientele. Nice guy who has helped us get a room when rates are above per diam.

There are some things I think need to be worked on:

- Elevator floors: I use the elevators exactly twice, once on arrival and once on leaving, because I use the stairs as much as possible. But my co-travelers comment repeatedly on the elevators and especially the dirty floors.
- Drink prices: Marriotts have never been a place to drink. Don the bar tender is great but I can't charge alcohol against travel so I have to pick up the charge. I had one drink each of three nights and bought two for my fellow traveler and it cost me just about $35. Given it is a pleasant place to have a cocktail and you don't have to drive but I think they might be pushing people to drink in their room that they might be missing out on sales of those delicious bar snacks (try the cross-cut fries with bleu cheese). Of course Marriotts no doubt runs this all through computer models and has optimized the profit which I embrace but maybe I'm not normal.
- Some rooms are noisy: I don't typically have this problem because I'll ask to be away from elevators and ice machines. The only reason to stay near noise is to avoid the dreaded handicapped rooms (I don't need enough room to dance in the bathroom and rails to get off the toilet are totally unnecessary thank you).

Other things:

- In room: Tea and Coffee provided but if you are a tea fan you want to run several clean pots through the coffee maker or the flavor will suffer. Love the towels. Shampoo, conditioner, soap, and lotion are of good quality. There always seem to be some trivial stuff that is wrong (I got broken soap this trip, one shower curtain hoop was not connected). The 35 or so channels of LCD TV is excellent except they need to program the channel banners because a ESPN banners are on not only their channels but on others (room 188 had this problem on this trip but I've seen it on others). Grout is free of creepy stuff and foot fungus. The couch in this room had an obvious droop but I slipped a couple of inches over and TV viewing was comfortable. Carpet was clean. Drapes allowed you to sleep into the daylight without light bleeding into your room. Biggest complaint was that my mini-refrigerator froze everything and I could not find an adjustment to fix the problem.
- Parking: Some of the places directly in front of the hotel are tight. But parking is free and there are probably about two acres. I don't like the fact that they have planters with bushes that don't allow you to walk to the building without dragging your bags over those obsticles
- Breakfast: Great but I just have problems with $12 for a breakfast buffet. I'd always eat there if they had a nice bowl of fruit or yogurt over cereal for about half that price. I like to walk in the mornings so I usually walk to the north (to the left if you go out the front door). There is a Subway Sandwich shop 1/3 mile away that has good coffee and with a sandwich will cost $3.

What is but can't be changed:

Location: What can you say... I wouldn't stay there for personal travel. It's five or six miles to the stuff I do when not on business travel.

Room Tip: Once and only once I stayed facing the freeway. If there is no choice go down every morning and try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FromVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

When my bf booked this hotel for our stay in San Diego, I was a little hesitant. I lived in SD when I was going to college and never really a remembered a hotel in this area. Once we drove up to the location, I was in for a nice surprise.

The hotel is centrally located (hence the name) in SD in an area known as Kearny Mesa. It's minutes from good food and about 15 minutes from Downtown. It's a great place to stay if you're looking for something reasonably priced and great amenities. My bf loves that they offer cucumber and orange water in the lobby. The room had a king sized bed, sofa with pull-out bed, a fridge, and swiveling flat panel tv. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Even at 12am when I needed a razor, they had one quickly sent up. We booked this room through priceline and for $80 butcks, it's a really affordable place to stay in SD. Free wi-fi and no cost parking on top of everything will guarantee us coming back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank poohchk25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

The staff is helpful and friendly. The hotel is located in a business district. We stayed here to attend a wedding in Old Town San Diego, which is only a few miles away.

Pros: Clean, good customer service, laundry services, nice pool, free parking and free wifi
Cons: Just can't walk out of your hotel and explore the city- if you want to do that, stay in Gaslamp district. No microwave.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank grndzlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,318 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Central

Address: 8651 Spectrum Center Blvd, San Diego, CA 92123-1489
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in San Diego
#42 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $119 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Central 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Diego Central Hotel San Diego
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing