We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a quick getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Ranked #85 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Good for a quick getaway”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed the restaraunt. Breakfast was great! Room was comfy and internet was a useful amenity. Good little gym and pool. Service was great. The lobby and restaurant furniture was modern and attractive. Wanted some for my home

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grapape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    199
    63
    20
    16
See reviews for
118
108
27
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great location near the beach. Nice hotel with a great patio/bar/pool area. They are doing some upgrades as some areas are a little tired looking but overall it is a great hotel in a great location. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gallaghertrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The rooms were very nice and large. The exercise room had a lot of weight and aerobic machines. It was so nice and clean with cold water provided. Even the service worker at the exercise room passed out bottled water. It had free weights there also. The grounds are beautifully maintained and secluded from the rest of San Diego. The planes from the naval base can be loud when lounging outside. Shops are located on the premises. Beautiful pool areas with comfortable chairs. There is a nice outdoor bar. The food in the restaurant is just ok, expensive for what you get. It is close to the nice areas in town, walking distance. There is an excellent restaurant next door. We will stay here again and any time we come to San Diego.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the water and the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2014

My thanks to Jenessa and the event team at the Del Mar Marriott. Our company hosts two events a year and we have been hosting for 7 years. The team does an amazing job! Food, service, delivery and overall hospitality is second to none. We host senior executives from our customer companies at these events so it is very important for things to run smoothly so we can focus on our customers. Jenessa and her team have never let us down. They are just great to work with and make my life so easy with all the planning! We will always host our events with them! Great job guys!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed here for three days. I had a nice room on the 8th floor in the corner. I also had access to the concierge. That was the best experience of all! Rose was amazing! I requested special food and she had it ready for me every morning for breakfast. She was professional and friendly. I really enjoyed my breakfast and evening dinner.

The rest of the hotel staff were friendly and professional.

Nice place to stay! Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Chose a room not facing Interstate 5 as it can get noisy starting at 5am in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freeheal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I have been staying at the Residence Inn across the street for business meetings. I love going to eat at the restaurant, Arterra at the Del Mar Marriott. The have a fabulous sushi chef, great happy hour and comfortable surroundings that make my time away from home more enjoyable!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasenberg2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
336 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is located in an office park area right off the highway so it does not offer the "Del Mar" vibe. However, if you leave the hotel and turn left in about a mile there is a wonderful shopping area with Starbucks, bakery, greek resturant, searsuckers, and many other resturants, bars and stores. You are also only a short ride to Del Mar downtown/beach and even a shorter ride to Torrey Pines. The hotel itself is very nice typical Marriott with a great pool and outdoor bar area.
Drink and food prices, especially drinks are on the high side and service is ok. Bottom line is the hotel appears to focus on business people during the week and wedding/family functions on the weekends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
3.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#70 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
1.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Property: San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Address: 11966 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2592
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#96 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego Marriott Del Mar is an ideal choice for a hotel in Northern San Diego, California whether you're traveling for business, pleasure, or planning a meeting. Our location in Del Mar is a seaside hideaway 20 minutes north of downtown San Diego and just south of Solana Beach. Along with our versatile meeting and banquet space, fine catering and luxury amenities we are an outstanding San Diego hotel choice for travelers simply looking for relaxing Southern California accommodations near the ocean. Our Del Mar, California hotel is convenient to beaches for surfing or sunbathing and also close to shopping at the Del Mar Downtown Historic Village. Events at the Del Mar Fairgrounds and golf at Torrey Pines also excite our guests. San Diego Marriott Del Mar provides an array of diverse and exciting entertainment! Our unique on-site restaurant, Arterra, offers a trendy dining destination with award-winning cuisine and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Take an evening to unwind with some cocktails from our full bar or outdoor lounge and enjoy some of your favorites at our fresh sushi bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your San Diego Marriott Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing