We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great adventure, worth every minute!!!”

Pacific Nature Tours
Ranked #114 of 274 Outdoor Activities in San Diego
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: From late December through mid-April, about 26,000 gray whales make the journey from the cold and volatile waters of the Arctic Sea to Baja California. From June until November, the mighty blue whales make their way into their feeding grounds, off the coast of southern California. Take a boat out of Mission bay to the Coronado Islands just across the Mexican border and enjoy your cruise viewing whales, dolphins, elephant seals and more. The tour boat serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks. It can get very cold on the water, so bring a jacket.
cday1
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great adventure, worth every minute!!!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We went on the 8 hour whale watching adventure and had a wonderful time. We so several gray whales, a couple fin whales, and the dolphins swimming with the boat were amazing! The Company was great. They gave us a free voucher to come back next time, because Mexico had just passed a law that said we needed special permits to go into their waters around the Coronado Islands. Regardless of whether we went in their waters or not, we saw a ton of marine animals and it was a very memorable trip! I highly recommend it!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank cday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley AZ
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice trip well done”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My wife and I went on March 3,2012 Nice boat , nice indoor or out door seating , good food and snacks for all day tour . Well explained sightings. Good parking --on time scheduling as to departure and returning.. Pleanty of sightings and again a pleasnt cruise. However bring layer clothing like they suggest as it was cold due to wind on the water. Also a video camera and binoculars if you have .

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“8 hours was too long!”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We were really excited to go to the Coronado Islands for a whale watching adventure. We went on a three hour trip a few months ago and had a great experience seeing lots of wildlife and enjoying the outdoors. Admittedly, the weather on the day of the eight hour trip was chilly and windy.. We kept thinking they might reschedule, but they didn't, so we went with it. We saw very little in the way of whales or dolphins (not PNT's fault, obviously). Many on the boat were sick and miserable (again, not PNT's fault). The staff was very nice, helpful and friendly, but overall, the eight hour trip was just too long.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank darlene08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great trip to the Coronados Islands”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Once in a life time trip for a San Diegian. Not only saw the islands up close, but lots of whales, dolphins (4 kinds) and birds. Wonderful crew, good breakfast and lunch.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Benthien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great whale and dolphin watching!”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Loved the naturalist's comments and learned a lot. Food was really good too, and plenty of it. The crew worked hard to get us near to whales and we saw lots of grays and fin whales.....and the dolphins were a blast! We will definitely be doing this again.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank DabneyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Nature Tours also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Nature Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing