We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Ranked #90 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2009

My company's headquarters are on Sorrento Valley road. I have stayed at several of the local Hotels. This Holiday Inn is by far the best compared against the Hyatt in La Jolla, Woodfin and the Marriott Court Yard.

I always arrive in the evenings on Sunday. The front desk person Jeff is always a pleasure to talk to. He always can quickly address any questions I may have and gets me a room key quickly. The rooms here are clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the morning is also yummy. The hostess makes special effort to say hello to everyone there.

As I continue to travel to San Diego Sorrento Valley for business I will continue to stay at this Holiday Inn. Other Holiday Inns should use this one as the example of excellence.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank alexisnaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 232 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2008

I have had a wonderful experience with all of the Holiday Inns (Express included) in San Diego, and there is not much else I can really add besides how clean it is, how great the little extras are (the shampoo, conditioner, lotion... how cute are they?!), and how nicely presented the rooms are. Also, nothing is more awesome than free wifi in your room! SWEET! I look forward to staying in many more!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank secretagentangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIESV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2008

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review for our property. We appreciate your comments and are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to serving your lodging needs in the future. Please visit our website for up to date information and pictures regarding our renovation coming soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

This hotel was perfect for our family of 4. The pull-out sofa was just right for our 2 daughters who are 4 and 8 and the king bed was heavenly. A pillow-top mattress with a collection of soft and firm pillows from which to choose and a fluffy duvet-my husband and I couldn't wait to get in that bed every night.
The housekeeper did a nice job of cleaning and providing enough towels every day.
We spent a lot of time in the heated pool. It could use a little repainting along the edges but otherwise again, it was just perfect for a family. I love spas but this one was kept pretty hot so I could only sit on the steps for a few minutes before I had to get back out.
The breakfast is good. There are hot foods and cold and of course the HIE cinnamon rolls. Our children loved picking out what they wanted to eat.
Every afternoon at the desk the staff provided hot freshly baked cranberry and white chocolate chunk cookies. That was a nice treat!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TheMajorsWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIESV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2008

Thank you for your comments regarding our housekeeping staff, they have the toughest job in our business and I do feel we have the best in the business at our hotel. They work very hard to please our guests and it is with great pride that I thank you on their behalf. To address your concerns, we have repainted the surfaces at the pool and adjusted the spa temperature to 103 degrees. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review for our property. We appreciate your comments and are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit our website for up to date information and pictures regarding our renovation coming soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2008

The HIE in Sorrento Valley has one of the best staffs I have ever dealt with. Always pleasant and willing to help. Property is clean and in good condition; well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jcobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIESV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2008

Thank you, we appreciate your comments and are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff is very proud of the "hospitality" that we provide to guests at their "home away from home", we strive to make your stay the most comfortable it can be. Please visit our website for up to date information and pictures regarding our renovation coming soon. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review for our property. We look forward to serving your lodging needs in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

I got a really great deal for $56/night for 2 queen beds from the San Diego Chamber of Commerce.

If you have a car, this is a really great place to stay. It's not too far away from downtown (around 15-20 minutes away from everything).

This is a great place to stay, especially if you are on a budget. It's in a very nice business/residential area.

The decor is simple but modern. The comforters are very soft & white.

The staff is very friendly.

This is a new, small, simple nice hotel so don't expect lots of amenities like a big large pool etc. There is a small pool though.

Considering that I'm from So-Cal and used to live in SD, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Travel-Fanatic714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIESV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2008

"In the middle of all that San Diego offers" is how we like to refer to the Sorrento Valley in San Diego. You can definitely be anywhere in San Diego within 20 minutes whether its downtown, the Zoo, SeaWorld or the Wild Animal Park. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review for our property. We appreciate your comments and are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to serving your lodging needs in the future. Please visit our website for more information on local attractions and hotel amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2007

Checking in was pleasant, and our room looked very nice. We did not use the pull-out sofa, as there were only two of us. However, we were on the first floor at the end of the hall, and the staff seemed to like leaving the emergency side door open, so we had 8-legged bug problems for the 3 days we were there.

The continental breakfast was poor, but you get what you pay for. The second day, as we left the cleaning crew came and forgot to leave us ANY towels. When, at 10pm we got back to the room and realized this, no one would answer the front desk, so I had to re-dress the kids and walk up there. I was disappointed to find the employee not at all surprised of what had happened.

I was more disappointed upon check out to not have been asked how my stay was, because I would liked to have addressed the bugs, the towels, and the condition of the continental breakfast on day 2. There were also no comment cards on the counter anywhere. However, we did get quite a deal - $55 per night, so really, what can I expect to get for that?

The parking lot is shared with a Chili's restaurant. Because we were gone all day, coming back each night we did not have trouble finding a parking spot, and walked over to Chili's for dinner one night. 15 minutes east down Mira Mesa Blvd is the 15 freeway, with tons of shopping and restaurants. It was a 20 minute drive for me to SeaWorld, and about 15 minutes to La Jolla Beach. A very convenient location, if you don't need great service.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank supeemommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIESV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2008

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review for our property. We appreciate your comments and look forward to impressing you with our changes in customer service. Our staff is very proud of the "hospitality" that we provide to guests at their "home away from home". You should also experience our new Express Start continental breakfast which provides something for everyone, including hot egg and meat items. I personally invite you to return and experience the service and amenities we lacked during your last visit. Please visit our website for up to date information on area attractions and hotel amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2007

This was an excellent hotel. Our family of 5 (3 teenage daughters) fit in the 2Q room with the sleeper sofa with room to spare. Very large rooms. Very clean. Friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast very good. Hotel was in a nice location and a very short ride to Sea World. Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tsmb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIESV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2008

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review for our property. We appreciate your comments and are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our business continues to grow because of recommendations from our loyal guests; we appreciate your referrals and look forward to serving your lodging needs in the future. Please visit our website for up to date information on hotel amenities and area attractions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
0.2 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
1.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley

Address: 5925 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $127 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. Located in the heart of Sorrento Valley, a high-tech community of the U.S. with companies such as Qualcomm, Motorola, Sony Online Entertainment, and Texas Instruments. This San Diego hotel is ideal for the business travel visiting this dynamic area and is looking for first class accommodations that are centrally located to all that San Diego has to offer.If you are coming to San Diego for pleasure the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley is ideal for couples and families that want be near all the San Diego attractions, beaches and night life. Be sure to visit one of our treasured attractions such as the world famous San Diego Zoo Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld San Diego California, LEGOLAND California or soak in the sun at one of our prestige beaches like La Jolla Shores or Pacific Beach. If you re into the night life be sure to wine and dine your self in the Gaslamp Quarter in beautiful downtown San Diego. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley we like to make sure our guest receive excellent customer service. We provide a FREE Express Start Breakfast Bar, FREE high speed wireless Internet, FREE Parking, FREE Shuttle Service (within a 5 mile radius) and FREE local calls.Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing