We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My First-Hand Holiday Inn Experience.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Ranked #83 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Flint, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My First-Hand Holiday Inn Experience.....”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Service was great...... The front desk agent, Ester was absolutely wonderful........ The freshly baked complimentary chocolate chip and oatmeal cookies were delicious...... The breakfast was also pretty tasty. My only suggestion would be that the hotel provide larger pool side towels to fit the length of the lounge chairs..... I will highly recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaToya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear LaToya B,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We are delighted to hear the “service was great”. We strive in providing outstanding quality service and are touched that you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast to our guests and are so glad you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We appreciate you recommending our hotel and hope to see you, again, the next time you are in San Diego. Once more, thank you for providing feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    67
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
64
36
11
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This property is beautiful! The rooms are clean and modern.. the hotel staff is exceptionally friendly and hospitable!! They offered fresh baked oatmeal raisin and chocolate chip cookies everyday at 3 pm, they were delicious!!! I will stay here every time I am in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Leslie H,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We are delighted to hear that you “enjoyed” your stay and that our “property is beautiful”. We work hard in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. We are also pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our cookies. We look forward to your next stay with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed here for two weeks recently and the hotel was one of the cleanest I've been to. Staff was fantastic especially CeCe. Laundry area was very clean and even though I didn't use the pool it looked very clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Maggie N,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We are delighted to hear you had a “great experience” at our hotel. We strive in providing a well-maintained property, as well as excellent quality service and are thrilled to have accomplished said tasks. As you mentioned, we have on-site laundry facilities and are pleased to hear they were beneficial to you during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed here this past weekend and all I have to say is IMPRESSIVE. The hotel was clean, the staff provided good service, the rooms were clean and spacious, and the breakfast buffet was very good with many options to chose from. We didn't use the pool due to rain, but the mini gym was usable, although tiny. Wifi is free here, but we had a hard time connecting to it from the 4th floor. Also the parking was free. Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Nikkie C,

Thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We are thrilled to hear you had an “impressive” stay at our hotel. We strive in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are delighted to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are so glad you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We anticipate your next visit with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Excellent stay especially on customer service by Marian Foster. She made my stay so easy, effortless, comfortable, and unforgettable experience. I highly recommend this hotel and looking forward for another stay in this same location.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyMack1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear JohnnyMack1221,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We are delighted to hear you had an “excellent experience” at our hotel. We work hard in providing our guests with a memorable stay and are thrilled to have accomplished said task. We anticipate your next stay with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed here on business trips often (2013 and 2014). The staff are very hospitable and accommodating. I have no complaints with the rooms I stayed in. Ester and Veronica Antonio had been very helpful especially contacting our office and managing administrative related items so I don't have to worry about those things during my stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We are delighted to hear you received “great service” while at our hotel. We strive in providing outstanding quality service and are touched you took notice. We appreciate your kind comments and agree that Ester and Veronica are vital to our team. We hope to see you again, during your next stay in San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The hotel is immaculate. The breakfast buffet is good. The pool is clean. Now that we have the basics out of the way, let's discuss the AMAZING SERVICE that we received. We are traveling cross country on a family vacation. We had reservations and stopped at a gas station about 3 miles away as we were almost out of gas. We filled up and our car battery died right there. We got a ride to the hotel from a great guy who works at the transportation team for Qualcomm. It was about 9pm when we finally got to the hotel. The next morning I tried several mobile mechanics and even the local Honda Dealer. No one could or would help us. I went to the front desk and was greeted with a very cheerful voice by CiCi. CiCi asked how she could help me. I told her I had a problem and she replied that "she solves problems for customers." I smiled and said, let's find out. I explained that our car was 3 miles away. I needed a way to get to an auto parts store, buy a battery, and then get back to our car to install it. She enlisted the help of Jorge, another employee at the hotel. She even offered to let us use her car if we needed to. Jorge took me to a parts store. I bought the battery. He took me to the gas station and helped me install the battery and made sure everything was fine before he headed back to the hotel. Simply put, CiCi and Jorge saved us a lot of money and a half a day's vacation by going above and beyond their duties. We are extremely grateful. Best Regards, Bill and Family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfamily7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We are delighted to hear our customer service is “far above and beyond”. We appreciate your compliments to CiCi. She really is a gem at the front desk and we are so glad you were happy with her service. We also appreciate your compliments to Jorge. We strive to deliver outstanding quality service and are touched you took notice. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego and sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
0.2 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley
1.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Address: 5925 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. Located in the heart of Sorrento Valley, a high-tech community of the U.S. with companies such as Qualcomm, Motorola, Sony Online Entertainment, and Texas Instruments. This San Diego hotel is ideal for the business travel visiting this dynamic area and is looking for first class accommodations that are centrally located to all that San Diego has to offer.If you are coming to San Diego for pleasure the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley is ideal for couples and families that want be near all the San Diego attractions, beaches and night life. Be sure to visit one of our treasured attractions such as the world famous San Diego Zoo Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld San Diego California, LEGOLAND California or soak in the sun at one of our prestige beaches like La Jolla Shores or Pacific Beach. If you re into the night life be sure to wine and dine your self in the Gaslamp Quarter in beautiful downtown San Diego. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley we like to make sure our guest receive excellent customer service. We provide a FREE Express Start Breakfast Bar, FREE high speed wireless Internet, FREE Parking, FREE Shuttle Service (within a 5 mile radius) and FREE local calls.Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing