We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soccer tournam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Ranked #85 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a soccer tournament and was more than pleased with the whole hotel but more than the hotel itself I was more than impressed by their staff especially Cece at the front desk she really came through for us when the third party we booked through dropped the ball we would stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessemmtes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We are thrilled to hear you were “more than pleased with the whole hotel”. We work hard in providing outstanding quality service and are touched you took notice. We look forward to your next stay with us and appreciate you feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 245 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

excellent service by Esther from the front desk and very helpfull, the facility is very clean...all the staff were very polite and helpfull in giving directions to a close restaurant and stores that are close by...

Room Tip: highly reccommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We are thrilled to hear you received “excellent service” from our staff members. We strive in providing outstanding quality service and are thrilled we have accomplished such task. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a clean, well maintained hotel in a business corridor. Dining options include a Chili's restaurant just a few steps across the parking lot and other better options within a mile or so. Do not waste your time at the breakfast buffet, which is included in the price of your room. The first morning we were there, the dining room was open but the heated food was not available at the advertised time, and when I came back later the food I had waited for was not worth the wait. On future mornings we opted for breakfast burritos at a nearby taco shop.

The lobby is small and uninviting. The 360 degree photo on the hotel website is more inviting than the lobby itself. The bedroom suite is all in one room, with a miniscule three foot divider that does nothing at all to diminish noise or provide privacy between the beds and the living area. The room is crowded with furnishings and with two people and our luggage in there, we felt cramped. Not nearly worth the $179 + tax that we paid.

Front desk staff greets each person as they enter. However only one gentleman staffer, Eli, showed us any further courtesy.

On the positive side, the beds were extremely comfortable and our room - even though it was right next to the elevator - was very quiet.

BOTTOM LINE:
My loyalty to the IHG hotel group disappointed me at this location. I have stayed at other hotels in the area that are more comfortable and less expensive, and if you need to stay in this area I recommend you do the same.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StCharlesLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear StCharlesLA,

Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. Your feedback is invaluable to us, as it allows us to continue to improve. Please know your concerns are being addressed with our staff so that future travelers will not have a similar experience. We hope you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us in the future. Again, thank you for reviewing our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stay at IHG properties all the time and this one is above average. The staff is very polite, room was clean, decor/furniture is above average and contemporary, huge TV, awesome Internet access and if you like Chili's it's on the same property.

The fridge wasn't cold enough (for me), the AC unit is a bit old (but it definitely works), sharing the parking lot with Chili's can be trying, and there are no stores close by.

Overall an above average property that is highly recommended if you are visiting La Jolla/Sorrento Valley or immediate surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel94531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Travel94531,

Thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are delighted to hear we are a “great property” and that the “staff is very polite, room was clean, décor/furniture is above average and contemporary, huge TV, awesome Internet access”. We strive in providing a well-maintained property and are delighted you took notice. We look forward to seeing you and future travelers alike during your next trip to San Diego. Again, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Holiday Inn Express in Sorrento Valley went beyond my expectations. i was having a meeting there, my dvd didnt connect properly. Elisa Santos, Manager, came on Sunday to bring HER OWN DVD, have it connected properly so that my meeting went smoothly.
The hotel is immaculate, the staff is so friendly and helpful.
I feel taken care of the minute I arrive there.
Front desk, housekeeping, additional staff catered to all my needs even those I hadn't verbalized yet. Great place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SHERRY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear SHERRY R,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are delighted to hear you received “outstanding service” at our hotel so much so that we “went beyond” your “expectations”. We work hard in providing extraordinary quality service and are touched you took notice. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Located out side sandiago about fifteen kilometer from down twon sandiago .such aquit area and you got there chilli resturant .they got breakfast buffet not bad anyway we enjouyed there staff are great .

Room Tip: Upper room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magicman2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. As you mentioned we do offer a complimentary deluxe breakfast and are happy you took advantage of that. We are also delighted to hear that our staff was great. We strive to work hard in providing exceptional quality service and are glad that you took notice. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Marian and Cece took great care of us. Arrived early on the day and was able to get a room and enjoy breakfast. About a 5 minute drive to local shops including chick fil a, jollibee, and robertos. Nice location off the freeway. Only complaint is, you have to drive down the whole block to make a Right turn at the stoplight and go into the Hotel entrance instead of having a drive way on the Right side to enter. This is when you're coming down the opposite way. Not a biggie but you'll see what I mean when you get there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We are happy to hear that we are a “friendly and clean” hotel. We work hard in providing a well-maintained property and are glad that you took notice. We are also happy that you took advantage of our complimentary deluxe breakfast. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, San Diego North, CA
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#71 of 286 in San Diego
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley

Address: 5925 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $125 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. Located in the heart of Sorrento Valley, a high-tech community of the U.S. with companies such as Qualcomm, Motorola, Sony Online Entertainment, and Texas Instruments. This San Diego hotel is ideal for the business travel visiting this dynamic area and is looking for first class accommodations that are centrally located to all that San Diego has to offer.If you are coming to San Diego for pleasure the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley is ideal for couples and families that want be near all the San Diego attractions, beaches and night life. Be sure to visit one of our treasured attractions such as the world famous San Diego Zoo Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld San Diego California, LEGOLAND California or soak in the sun at one of our prestige beaches like La Jolla Shores or Pacific Beach. If you re into the night life be sure to wine and dine your self in the Gaslamp Quarter in beautiful downtown San Diego. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley we like to make sure our guest receive excellent customer service. We provide a FREE Express Start Breakfast Bar, FREE high speed wireless Internet, FREE Parking, FREE Shuttle Service (within a 5 mile radius) and FREE local calls.Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing