We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Ranked #82 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

As always this hotel is consistent. Consistently friendly, clean and ready. My frequent business in the area lands me here quite often. Not a five star hotel, but a great place to spend the week. You are always met a smiling hello coming and going. Breakfast is always ready in the morning. Cookie or popcorn after a day of meetings always makes me smile..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Branbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Loyal guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your continued visit to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoy staying with us and that we have been "consistent" to your needs and accommodations. We hope to continue making you smile! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley, we will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    67
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
65
36
11
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We used this hotel on a tour of California, from the UK. It was excellent, and close enough to the attractions of San Diego. You do need a car though! Staff were very friendly and welcoming - good breakfast and nice little pool and gym.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. We hope that your visit to San Diego was as "excellent" as your stay with us! Thank you for staying and we hope to have you stay with us again if you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We drove around for hours looking for a place to sleep after Courtyard Marriott oversold our hotel. The Guest Services Assistant, was able to offer the last room available and delivered a rollaway bed before we were able to get our suitcases out of the truck. We woke up around 6 am and breakfast was amazing. There was an abundance of options to choose from. We enjoyed it. We were only there for nine hours and we would stay again.

My only recommendation would be to improve the mattress and pillow quality. The staff that we encountered was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. Even though you happen to stay with us by accident we are very glad you did. We do our best to accommodate every guest as much as we can and I am pleased that you were able to stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe hot breakfast buffet and that you enjoyed your stay with us so much you would stay with us again. Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I haven't even stayed at the Holiday Inn San Diego -Sorrento Valley yet and I am already impressed with the employees working there. I needed to make changes in my reservation due to illness and Hotels .com wouldn't help. I first spoke to Eli at the Holiday Inn who explained the situation to me and gave me the managers name and time she would be in. The next day I spoke with the general manager ,Alicia Santos ,who went above and beyond to accommodate my needs. With employees like this who care about their customers is why I choose Holiday Inn Expresses for my travel needs

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Mary,
I am so pleased to hear that the staff at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley have been able to "already impress", you. At our hotel, we understand that you are our guest and that is it our job to make you feel like one, even when you have yet to stay. We also understand that circumstances change and we do our absolute best to accommodate our guest. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your experience, I do hope that you get well soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

HIE is very clean, fairly nice pool, and a Chili's right outside the front door. Staff is very courteous, wifi isn't too bad. Located only 25 minutes from the airport which makes it an easy place to get to after a long flight.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realrexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley and for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We know that traveling on business can be exhausting, and I am pleased that your stay with us was and take advantage of our amenities we offer. We hope to have you stay with us again when you are in San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I brought two kids and grandma along to have fun while I attended a training all day during the week. Very pleasant management, front office staff, and driver. Breakfast each morning saved on costs. A shuttle took me to the training daily. Washing machine and dryer on the floor was a plus. Hotel couldn't have been more clean. Felt like we were staying in a brand new hotel. Free wi-fi too. Can't say enough positive comments about this hotel and its staff. One of the most pleasant hotel stays I've had in a long while.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoadultsandtwokids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Valued guest,
Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. I am so pleased that you and your family had such an "excellent week-long stay". Here at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley, we strive to give the best service to all of our guests in everything that we can. I am thrilled as well that we were able to accommodate you with our hotel Shuttle. We would love to have you and your family be our guests again when you are in San Diego and thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights for business. The staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating. That was the most notable thing about the trip.

The room was clean with a comfortable bed, although the pillows were a little lumpy...it was also quiet. There's a small pool out back. There was no safe in the room, but there was a fridge.

In terms of location, there are minimal places within walking distance to eat. The hotel shares a parking lot with a Chili's (mexican chain restaurant). There is pretty much nowhere that will deliver to the hotel, with the exception of pizza (unless you meet a ridiculous delivery minimum or pay a crazy delivery charge). You'd have to drive anywhere else to eat. There's a Karl Strauss Brewery nearby which is quite hidden but a nice ambiance and good!

I wouldn't mind staying here again, although I'd try to find something at a bit of a more convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I am so pleased to hear that your experience with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley was "incredibly friendly and accommodating". We strive to give the best experience to all of our guests and I am so happy you were no exception. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and we hope to have you return and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
0.2 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
1.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Address: 5925 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. Located in the heart of Sorrento Valley, a high-tech community of the U.S. with companies such as Qualcomm, Motorola, Sony Online Entertainment, and Texas Instruments. This San Diego hotel is ideal for the business travel visiting this dynamic area and is looking for first class accommodations that are centrally located to all that San Diego has to offer.If you are coming to San Diego for pleasure the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley is ideal for couples and families that want be near all the San Diego attractions, beaches and night life. Be sure to visit one of our treasured attractions such as the world famous San Diego Zoo Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld San Diego California, LEGOLAND California or soak in the sun at one of our prestige beaches like La Jolla Shores or Pacific Beach. If you re into the night life be sure to wine and dine your self in the Gaslamp Quarter in beautiful downtown San Diego. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley we like to make sure our guest receive excellent customer service. We provide a FREE Express Start Breakfast Bar, FREE high speed wireless Internet, FREE Parking, FREE Shuttle Service (within a 5 mile radius) and FREE local calls.Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing