We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms - Nice Sizes, Quiet, Clean... Just a tiny bit of wear”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Ranked #83 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Lyons, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Rooms - Nice Sizes, Quiet, Clean... Just a tiny bit of wear”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express from Feb 3rd-5th. The staff was friendly and very willing to help with pretty much anything I needed. The rooms were kept very clean, although showing just a little bit of age (chair in room showing wear, bath tub spigot a little bent to the left). Despite a busier road outside in the morning, I was able to work with my laptop by an open window for most of the morning with no noise issues. The breakfast was well-stocked although I would have appreciated more fruit. That being said, there was a nice bowl of apples in the lobby.

I did not take advantage of the the fitness center or pool due to a head cold, but I would definitely return on my next business trip and I can check it then.

Room Tip: Rooms in the lower digits are closer to Lusk Blvd (e.g. 101-104, 201-204, etc.). Higher digits will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beartrax79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    67
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
64
36
11
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The first time I arrived I was greeted with friendly staff and were very attentive to my requests - in person and over the phone. The room was moderately sized, well kept with ref, microwave, coffeemaker enough for my short stay. A training room was provided that was clean and quiet. Though, the location is a bit tricky to find as there are a couple of the same hotel nearby. Nearest train is COASTER-Sorrento Valley 7~12mins away depending on traffic. Thank you Holiday Inn Express, it was a pleasure staying there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlvinCeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a training session. Staff was very helpful and friendly. I was always greeted anytime I passed by the front desk. The hotel room was really nice & very clean. My only complaint is the water pressure in the shower. Later in the week a pipe did break in the hotel and I'm wondering if that was the reason for the bad pressure - not sure but it did make washing my hair a challenge. If i turn the shower head to spay it wasn't bad but I needed the stream to wash my hair (see photo). Also I did do a couple jogs around the neighbor area - very nice and no concerns about jogging in the area. King Bed was very comfortable - room was quiet I never heard the outside noise. Also nice that Chilli's Restaurant is in the same parking lot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley and telling other travelers about your stay. We are elated to hear that you found our front desk staff to be “helpful and friendly”. We take pride in striving to provide guests with more than exceptional guest experiences and are glad you took notice. We pleased to hear that our location was "a great neighboorhood area" which allowed you to go jogging. Your input is very important and we can asure you that we have addressed the water pressure issue. Your input allows us to make our property a functioning one and it is guest like you that help us make that happen. We hope to see you on your nest stay in San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are large and there is a Mexicain type restaurant across the parking lot.
Pretty rare for an HIE is the outdoor spa.

Room are, flat screen TV.

Good place for business trip, close to the Qualcomm campus. Traffic is pretty hard at rush hours to join the highway 5 or 805.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Philippe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

At this point I have stayed at several HIEs in a variety of locations. This place was average overall, but relative to other stays, at other locations this place was only so so.

Service could be better, hit or miss. Some people were great, others couldn't care less about making you feel welcome.

Definitely overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Had to be at a work meeting early in the morning. This is a great location if you are in the Sorrento Valley/Mira Mesa area. Clean, efficient and courteous service. There are also plenty of dining options nearby - even if it feels a bit like an office park part of town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBOskiBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My personal experience, good hotel, convenient for me as I was working in the area for a few days, you probably wouldn't choose to stay here other wise, it's a $50 cab ride from the airport. Nothing wrong with the hotel, staff excellent, rooms very good, plenty to eat around the hotel, breakfast limited, and one day it made me sick, could only have been that, as it was all I had eaten that day.

Room Tip: Try and avoid rooms over looking Mira Messa Blvd
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We appreciate such kind words and for staying with us. We do apologize for any inconenvience that may have been caused. Guests like you only make our job easier to address the items and fix them immediately. We hope to see you during your next stay in San Diego. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
0.2 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Address: 5925 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. Located in the heart of Sorrento Valley, a high-tech community of the U.S. with companies such as Qualcomm, Motorola, Sony Online Entertainment, and Texas Instruments. This San Diego hotel is ideal for the business travel visiting this dynamic area and is looking for first class accommodations that are centrally located to all that San Diego has to offer.If you are coming to San Diego for pleasure the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley is ideal for couples and families that want be near all the San Diego attractions, beaches and night life. Be sure to visit one of our treasured attractions such as the world famous San Diego Zoo Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld San Diego California, LEGOLAND California or soak in the sun at one of our prestige beaches like La Jolla Shores or Pacific Beach. If you re into the night life be sure to wine and dine your self in the Gaslamp Quarter in beautiful downtown San Diego. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley we like to make sure our guest receive excellent customer service. We provide a FREE Express Start Breakfast Bar, FREE high speed wireless Internet, FREE Parking, FREE Shuttle Service (within a 5 mile radius) and FREE local calls.Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing