We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Ranked #83 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Sweetwater, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place we stayed”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This place was clean, appealling to the eye and the employees were friendly and very helpful. I will definitely stay there again. It was the best placed we have ever stayed in. The only complaint we have is that the ice machine was only on the first and third floors. It would be nice if vending was available on all floors.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are so happy to hear that we are the “best place” you have stayed at. We are delighted to hear that you noticed the cleanliness of the hotel as well. We strive to work hard in providing exceptional quality service and are glad to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    67
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
64
36
11
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This review is important to me because I do not reserve a Hotel room until I read the reviews. This trip was a vacation with my wife, daughter, son-in-law and grandson. The hotel was quiet, clean, very comfortable beds and the rooms were large. Checking in and out was easy. Also we loved the fact that there was a Chili's near the front parking lot. We were so tired one night after visiting the San Diego Zoo that we didn't want to go out for dinner. My wife and daughter called in our order to Chili's, then walked over to pick it up. We had a delightful meal in our room. Parking was not bad as some reviews. We had no trouble at all. Our grandson is a picky eater( 4 years old) however he loved the breakfast every morning. He ate better than at home. He loved the egg and cheese omelette the cereal, juice, pancakes and bananas. The staff was kind to us and were always smiling. I enjoyed the computer and the USA newspaper every morning. We always had a cart to take our luggage to and from our room. The Manager was very nice to us. Our grandson loved the pool. The reviewers who said there was no internet are wrong. I logged onto the internet every morning. Those who say the parking is bad. They are wrong. We had no problem. Those who say the manager was rude. You get what you sow. She was great to us. Some people need to try a little kindness. We enjoyed our stay and I would recommend this Hotel if you are going to Sea World, San Diego Zoo etc. as we did. You can find a Hotel closer, but maybe not as Quiet and Safe. If you go here, I hope you enjoy you stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dwhite610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We've been on a road trip for the last two weeks, and of all the hotels we stayed in, this one has been by far one of the nicest. The staff has been friendly and helpful, and the room is actually nicer than the one we had at the Hyatt in Anaheim. The breakfast was also quite good, much better than most hotel food. I would happily stay here again next time I am in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJ3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We’d like to take this time to express our gratitude in your taking the time to review your stay during the summer. We enjoyed housing your team’s rooms and we are elated to hear that you found us to be an “Excellent hotel with five star employees.” We pride ourselves in providing quality rooms and guest services above brand standards and are glad you were able to take notice. We are fortunate to be in a central location and are happy that you were able to take advantage of that. Again, we loved hosting your team just as much as your group enjoyed their stay and thank you for your wonderful review. We hope to see you again in the near future. Mahalo .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2012

It is so hard to keep my family happy when it comes to traveling. But this hotel has been so persistent! From the early check in, keeping up with refilling breakfast, happy workers who greet us every morning, to checking out. I've heard they are particularly a business hotel... they really did accommodate for my family's stay. Happy 4th of July to US!! thank you holiday inn express sorrento valley!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento! We are so delighted to hear that we are a “Great hotel!” We are also happy to hear that we have been so persistent in keeping your family happy as well. We strive to work hard in providing well maintained rooms and exceptional quality and are so glad you had the full experience of just that. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento. We look forward to seeing you during your next stay in San Diego. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel itself is fairly nice, but the parking lot is small and shared with a restaurant so finding a parking spot after travelling all day was ridiculous. Check in was VERY slow and then they only had one cart for everyone to use to take luggage to their room which was in use.

There was absolutely no internet service in the room. When we went downstairs to use the computer in the business center, there was no computer. If you don't care about parking or internet then this hotel might be an ok stay. We did not use the pool as we did not have time but it is a small pool right along the road. Breakfast was the typical Holiday Inn Express fare and there was an adequate amount of seating.

We only stayed one night and checked out early. Our dog sitter then called to say that the hotel had called to say we left luggage in our room. However, when we called them to find out what we left they could not tell us and said that they had not called us. It was a total fiasco.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dragon28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Dragon28,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I deeply apologize for the inconvenience you had with the parking as well as the internet connection and the service that you received during your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Elsie. The manager here needs to go to hospitality school she was so worried about the bottom line she forgot that customers are the bottom line. Breakfast if there is any out after 845 was the same thing for three days the milk was always warm and if there was any yogurt. There wrere only a few.the pool was filthy they said they cleaned it everyday I watched till the pool opened Friday no one.Saturday. no one.Monday no one.the staff here tries to help bit they are affraid to.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank usdantravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear usdantravler,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Center, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This hotel is great and is conveniently located next to I-5, I-805, and about 10 minutes from I-15.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We are so delighted to hear that you thought our hotel was “great!” We strive to work hard in providing well maintatined rooms as well as exceptional quality service so we are glad that you took notice, As you mentioned, we are located just minutes away from our major freeways, making it very convenient for our guests to get to San Diego’s famous attractions. Thank you again for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Sorrento Valley. We hope to see you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
0.2 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley
1.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Address: 5925 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley. Located in the heart of Sorrento Valley, a high-tech community of the U.S. with companies such as Qualcomm, Motorola, Sony Online Entertainment, and Texas Instruments. This San Diego hotel is ideal for the business travel visiting this dynamic area and is looking for first class accommodations that are centrally located to all that San Diego has to offer.If you are coming to San Diego for pleasure the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley is ideal for couples and families that want be near all the San Diego attractions, beaches and night life. Be sure to visit one of our treasured attractions such as the world famous San Diego Zoo Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld San Diego California, LEGOLAND California or soak in the sun at one of our prestige beaches like La Jolla Shores or Pacific Beach. If you re into the night life be sure to wine and dine your self in the Gaslamp Quarter in beautiful downtown San Diego. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley we like to make sure our guest receive excellent customer service. We provide a FREE Express Start Breakfast Bar, FREE high speed wireless Internet, FREE Parking, FREE Shuttle Service (within a 5 mile radius) and FREE local calls.Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Sorrento Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing